## Your Rights When a Case is Indicated Against You

A report made to the New York Statewide Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) has been **indicated** following an investigation by the NYC Administration for Children's Services (ACS). This means that ACS has determined by a fair preponderance of the evidence that you maltreated and/or abused a child or children.

You have the right to appeal this decision and request an administrative hearing (also known as a fair hearing) pursuant to Social Service Law §422 to request that the indicated finding be amended to unfounded and sealed.

If you would like to appeal, you must take the following steps within 90 days of the date on the Notice of Indication (NOI) (which is another form you will receive from ACS). The legal timeframe for you to appeal is 90-days from the date on the Notice of Indication, not this information sheet.

To appeal, you will need to:

- Write a letter to the New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) asking that your report be reviewed.
- Include a copy of the Notice of Indication (this is a separate letter provided by an ACS Child Protective Specialist) or the Case ID and Intake Stage ID numbers at the top righthand corner of the NOI. (INCLUDING THIS INFORMATION SHEET WILL NOT BE SUFFICIENT.)
- Include any additional information you think is important for your appeal.
- You can also request a copy of your SCR records in the same letter.
- Mail your written request to:

New York State Office of Children and Family Services Statewide Central Register P.O. Box 4480 Albany, NY 12204

For more information about the appeal process, how an indicated report may affect employment, please review the OCFS website at <u>ocfs.ny.gov</u> or call 518-474-1567.