
To keep buildings safe, owners of 
properties higher than six stories must 
have exterior walls and appurtenances, 
such as balconies, inspected every five 
years — and they must file a technical 
façade report with the Department. See 
NYC Construction Codes §28-302.1 and 
RCNY §103-04.

Inspection + Report Deadlines
Façade report and maintenance/repair deadlines are 
divided into cycles. Cycle 7 began February 21, 2010 
and runs through February 20, 2015. The Department 
has added sub-cycles to make it easier for owners to 
hire qualified professionals and contractors. The last 
digit of a building’s block number determines if the 
property falls into sub-cycle A, B or C.  
 

Sub- 
Cycle

Block Number’s 
Last Digit

Filing Period / 
Deadline

A 4, 5, 6, 9 2 / 21 / 2010 – 2 / 21 / 2012

B 0, 7, 8 2 / 21 / 2011 – 8 / 21 / 2012

C 1, 2, 3 2 / 21 / 2012 – 2 / 21 / 2013

Façade Classifications 
The required façade inspections are called critical 
examinations and may only be performed by a Quali-
fied Exterior Wall Inspector. QEWIs are New York State 
licensed professional engineers or New York State 
registered architects. After performing an inspection, 
the QEWI must file a technical report on the façade’s 
condition, classifying the building one of three ways: 

•	 �Safe: No problems and in good condition;

•	 �Safe With a Repair and Maintenance Program 
(SWARMP): Safe, but requires repair/maintenance; or 

•	 �Unsafe: Problems/defects threaten public safety.

With an Unsafe classification, the owner must imme-
diately install protection, such as a sidewalk shed, 
construction fence, etc.�
�

General Information 
•	 �The technical report must be submitted with a TR6 

form; both must be filed with the Department’s 
Local Law Enforcement Unit.

•	 �Owners are subject to Environmental Control Board 
violations and penalties if they don’t meet the 
deadline or fail to make timely repairs. 

•	 �Property owners with a building filed as Unsafe 
may request an extension if the repairs cannot be 
completed and an amended report cannot be filed 
within 44 days from the original filing date. 

SWARMP Filings 
•	 �The condition of window air conditioner units may 

not be classified as SWARMP.
•	 �SWARMP filings must include a statement that 

“There are no unsafe conditions.”
•	 �If the QEWI believes the condition will deteriorate 

and become hazardous in less than 12 months, 
then the façade report must be filed as Unsafe.

•	 �If all necessary repairs aren’t completed before the 
next cycle, file the next report as Unsafe. 

General Façade Report Reminders
•	 �Buildings with ongoing construction may not be 

designated as Safe.
•	 �Provide color photos and a location diagram.
•	 �Include a statement on water-tightness.
•	 �Submit a certification that repairs identified in the 

prior cycle have been finished. 
•	Cite the cause and description of the deterioration.
•	 �Include the QEWI’s projection of the month and 

year when the defects will become hazardous and 
cause the façade to be classified as Unsafe. 

•	 �Cite which repairs will need a Department work permit.
•	 �Provide details about appurtenances. 
•	 �Include a copy of the Notice of Rejection when 

resubmitting.

Property owners must repair dangerous conditions 
within 30 days of filing a technical report. Once the 
work is finished, owners must file an amended report 
within 14 days. 
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