

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND WORKER PROTECTION (DCWP) LICENSING CENTER 42 Broadway, Lobby New York, NY 10004

By Appointment Only Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. Last appointment: 3:30 p.m. NYC SMALL BUSINESS SUPPORT CENTER 90-27 Sutphin Blvd, 4th Floor Jamaica, NY 11435

#### By Appointment Only Hours:

Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. Last appointment: 3:30 p.m.

#### **IN-PERSON SERVICE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY**

You must schedule an appointment to submit your license application in person at the DCWP Licensing Center and NYC Small Business Support Center. See **Application Filing Process** section.

*Note*: As in-person service is limited, we encourage you to use our online service which is available 24/7 at **nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox**.

# Home Improvement Contractor License Application Checklist

#### Who Must Have a Home Improvement Contractor License?

A person or business must have a Home Improvement Contractor license to do construction, repair, remodeling, or other home improvement work to any residential land or building in New York City. Other home improvement work includes, but is not limited to, the construction, replacement, or improvement of basements, driveways, fences, garages, landscaping, patios, porches, sidewalks, swimming pools, terraces, and other improvements to structures or upon land that is next to a home or apartment building.

This description is only a general explanation of who must have a Home Improvement Contractor license.

**Quick List of Requirements to Apply for a Home Improvement Contractor License** See Requirements section for detailed descriptions. Make sure you provide all requirements; otherwise, your application is incomplete. DCWP can only consider complete applications for license issuance.

- □ Basic License Application
- □ Sales Tax Identification Number OR Application Confirmation Number
- Proof of Business Address
- □ Proof of Home Address
- □ Workers' Compensation Insurance Information
- Proof of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) certification relating to safe lead practices AND/OR Signed Affirmation

Continued >

- DCWP Trust Fund Enrollment (\$200 fee) OR Copy of \$20,000 Surety Bond (or Third Party Bond), properly signed
- □ Contractual Compliance Agreement
- □ Home Improvement Exam and \$50 Exam Fee
- □ Fingerprints and Processing Fee
- Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (*if applicable*)
- □ License Fee

Submitting your application does not mean your license is automatically approved.

#### Additional City or State Permits/Licenses/Clearances You May Need

Sidewalk work requires a permit from the New York City Department of Transportation (DOT). Contact 311 or visit <u>www.nyc.gov/dot.</u>

Many home improvements require a permit from the New York City Department of Buildings (DOB). Work to raise, lift, elevate, or move a house or building requires a special inspection by DOB. Contact 311 or visit <u>www.nyc.gov/buildings</u>.

If you plan to haul or transport waste resulting from your business operations, you must obtain a Class One Self Hauler Registration from the New York City Business Integrity Commission. For an application and more information, contact 311 or visit <u>www.nyc.gov/bic.</u>

This is not meant to be a complete list. See Additional Resources section.

#### **Application Filing Process**



Go to <u>www.nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox</u> to submit your application online.

OR



Schedule an appointment to file in person at the DCWP Licensing Center or NYC Small Business Support Center (addresses on page 1).

By Email: <u>LicensingAppointments@dcwp.nyc.gov</u> By Phone\*: Call (212) 436-0441. (Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.)

\*This number is to schedule an appointment for in-person service only. For general questions, email <u>onlineappsdocs@dcwp.nyc.gov</u>.

*Free Interpretation Services* are available on-site. To request a disability-related accommodation, please email DCWP's Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator at <u>DCWPADACoordinator@dcwp.nyc.gov</u> or visit <u>nyc.gov/dcwp</u> and search "accommodations."

#### Important Message about Business Certificate

You must have the applicable Business Certificate based on your business's legal structure. Although DCWP does not require submission of your Business Certificate in order to process your application, DCWP may request this document under section 20-104 of the New York City Administrative Code.

Sole proprietors operating under a name other than your own must have a Business/Assumed Name Certificate.

Partnerships must have a Partnership Certificate and, if applicable, an Assumed Name Certificate for your business.

Corporations, Limited Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies, or Limited Liability Partnerships must register and remain active with the New York State Division of Corporations. You can check your status at <u>www.dos.ny.gov/corps</u>.

#### Requirements

DCWP will deny your application if you do not submit these required documents and information:

- Basic License Application (attached).
- Sales Tax Identification Number OR Application Confirmation Number. To apply for a Certificate of Authority in order to collect sales tax, visit <u>www.businessexpress.ny.gov</u>.
- Proof of Business Address.

Submit a copy of ONE of the following documents in the name of either the business or an individual listed on the license application:

- Utility bill, dated within the last 90 days (e.g., telephone, gas, electric, cable, or water) OR
- Current lease or deed OR
- o Current rent or mortgage bill OR
- Insurance document or insurance bill that shows your business address OR
- Correspondence from any government agency that shows your business address OR
- Current (active) license or permit or certificate issued by a City/State/Federal government agency that shows your business address

## • Proof of Home Address.

Each individual listed on the license application must provide a copy of ONE of the following documents in the individual's name:

- Utility bill, dated within the last 90 days (e.g., telephone, gas, electric, cable, or water) OR
- o Correspondence from any government agency that shows home address OR
- Current lease or deed OR
- o Insurance document or insurance bill that shows home address OR
- Current (active) license or permit or certificate issued by a City/State/Federal government agency that shows home address OR
- College or school correspondence that shows home address OR
- Current rent or mortgage bill OR
- Driver's license OR
- Municipal ID card

For an individual who lives at another person's address, provide:

- ONE Proof of Home Address (see above) with the leaseholder's or homeowner's name AND
- A letter signed by the homeowner or leaseholder stating that the individual lives at the address

#### • Workers' Compensation Insurance Information.

Provide a copy of ONE of the following documents as proof of workers' compensation insurance information:

- An Insurance Certificate for workers' compensation insurance from a private insurance carrier or the New York State Insurance Fund Office. The Insurance Certificate must name the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection as the certificate holder and include the Department's address: 42 Broadway, New York, NY 10004. OR
- A Certificate of Attestation of Exemption from the New York State Workers' Compensation Board (if you claimed exemption from the requirement to hold workers' compensation insurance). For more information, visit New York State Workers' Compensation Board at <u>www.wcb.ny.gov.</u>

#### Important:

- You must provide DCWP with proof of Workers' Compensation Insurance if your business no longer qualifies for Workers' Compensation Exemption.
- ACORD Forms are not acceptable proof of New York State workers' compensation coverage.

# • Proof of EPA Certification AND/OR Signed Affirmation.

You must submit the requirements in 1 OR 2 OR 3 depending on the type of work your business performs:

 Copies of EPA Renovation, Repair, and Painting (RRP) certification <u>AND</u> EPA Lead-Based Paint Activities certification (also known as Lead Abatement certification). Certifications must include name, EPA certificate number, and EPA certificate expiration date.

OR

 Copy of either EPA RRP certification or EPA Lead Abatement certification <u>AND</u> signed Home Improvement Contractor Affirmation (attached) indicating that the other EPA certification is not required for any home improvement work performed by the applicant.

OR

3. Signed Home Improvement Contractor Affirmation (attached) indicating that both EPA certifications (RRP; Lead Abatement) are not required for any home improvement work performed by the applicant.

For more information about the EPA certificates, visit epa.gov/lead.

# • DCWP Trust Fund Enrollment OR Copy of \$20,000 Surety Bond (or Third Party Bond), properly signed.

• *If you want to enroll your business in the Trust Fund*, complete the Trust Fund Enrollment Form (attached). The fee for joining the Trust Fund is \$200.

OR

If you do not enroll your business in the Trust Fund, you must submit a copy of a \$20,000 Surety Bond (or Third Party Bond), properly signed. The copy of the bond must name the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection as the Certificate Holder. Your corporate name, Doing-Business-As (DBA) name (if any), and premises address must be exactly the same on all documents. You must also submit a copy of the bond receipt showing that the bond has been paid in full and does not expire before the end of the licensing period.

A list of bonding companies is available at **nyc.gov/dcwp**. Search "bonding companies." The list on the DCWP website is not exhaustive, and DCWP does not endorse or recommend any particular bonding company.

# • Contractual Compliance Agreement (attached).

Review the Contractual Compliance Checklist and model "Home Improvement Estimate and Final Contract" available at **nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox** to make sure your contracts meet the legal requirements.

### • Home Improvement Exam and \$50 Exam Fee.

A sole proprietor, general partner, corporate officer, principal, director, member, or shareholder owning 10% or more of company stock must schedule an appointment with ExamBuilder to take the Home Improvement Exam.

# **IMPORTANT:**

- Only ONE of the following persons needs to pass the Home Improvement Exam: sole proprietor, general partner, corporate officer, principal, director, member, or shareholder owning 10% or more of company stock. You must confirm with DCWP who will take the exam.
- You can schedule the exam 24 hours after DCWP has processed your completed license application, which includes required documents and fees. You cannot schedule the exam until DCWP has received and processed required documents and payments. Once DCWP has processed your application, it takes 24 hours for your information to appear in ExamBuilder's system.
- You have 60 days to take and pass the exam from the time your information appears in ExamBuilder's system.
- Test Centers are open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. seven days a week in multiple locations citywide. ExamBuilder can confirm available locations when you schedule your exam.
- You can schedule the exam in ONE of two ways:
  - 1. Online at <u>dcaschedule.exambuilder.com</u>. Enter your Application Number, then click Continue.
    - You can find Application Number on your License Application Confirmation Page or payment receipt.
  - 2. By phone: (646) 974-8244
    - Customer service is available from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. seven days a week.

The exam consists of 30 questions. You must answer a minimum of 21 questions correctly to pass. The fee is \$50. The exam fee is separate from the license fee and is nonrefundable. If you fail the exam twice, you must pay the exam fee again in order to retake the exam.

Visit **nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox** for *FAQs: Exams* and a *Home Improvement Examination Guide* to help you prepare for the exam.

# • Fingerprints and Processing Fee.

All sole proprietors, general partners, corporate officers, principals, directors, members, and all shareholders owning more than 10% of company stock must schedule an appointment with IdentoGO to be fingerprinted:

- Visit <u>https://uenroll.identogo.com</u>
- Enter:
  - 1. Service Code. Enter 1585BH
  - 2. **Agency ID**. Enter numbers only from Application Number. Application Number is on your receipt or confirmation letter when you apply online. *Example: For Application Number 1234567-2023-AHIC, enter only 12345672023 as Agency ID.*
- Follow the instructions and pay the required fee(s).

#### **IMPORTANT:**

- Anyone required to be fingerprinted should schedule an appointment as soon as possible to complete this requirement.
- Granting Authority to Act Affirmation, if applicable (attached). Required if someone other than the license applicant will prepare and submit this application.

Note: The applicant must sign the license application and all related forms.

• License Fee. See next page.

License Period: 2 years	Expiration Date: February 28	License Fee:	
	Odd Years		
If You File Your Application Between These Dates:		Option 1	Option 2
From March 1 in an odd year to August 31 in an odd year		Pay <b>\$100</b> for a license expiring February 28 of the next odd year. (Valid for at most 24 months.)	
From September 1 in an odd year to February 28 or 29 in an even year		Pay <b>\$75</b> for a license expiring February 28 of the soonest odd year. (Valid for at most 18 months.)	
From March 1 in an even year to August 31 in an even year		Pay <b>\$50</b> for a license expiring February 28 of the soonest odd year. (Valid for at most 12 months.)	
From September 1 in an even year to February 28 in an odd year		Pay <b>\$25</b> for a license expiring February 28 of the soonest odd year. (Valid for at most 6 months.)	Pay <b>\$125</b> for a license expiring February 28 of the next odd year. (Valid for at most 30 months.)

# Pay by:

- Check or money order payable to DCWP. (In person)
- Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card only).
  You will be charged a nonrefundable Convenience Fee. (In person or Online)

#### Additional Resources for Home Improvement Contractors

- For the Home Improvement Examination Guide, visit nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox.
- For the laws and rules that may affect your business, visit **nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox**.
- For Inspection Checklist: Home Improvement Contractors, visit nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox.
- For DCWP's Home Improvement Estimate and Final Contract, visit nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox.
- For resources to help your business open, operate, and grow, visit **nyc.gov/business**.

# • Learn Ways to Make Seniors' Homes "Age-Friendly"

Created by DCWP and the Department for the Aging, this flyer offers contractors tips on working with seniors, making homes senior-friendly, and helping seniors go "green." Visit **nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox**.