
Before selling tobacco products or electronic cigarettes to a customer,  
always ask for a valid picture ID from anyone who looks under 30 years old.

There are only three acceptable forms of ID:

• �A valid driver’s license or other photo ID issued  
by a state or by the U.S. or Canadian government

• �A valid passport from any country, but foreign IDs  
are not acceptable

• A photo ID issued by the U.S. Armed Forces

ID cards issued by colleges without a date of birth are not acceptable.

a. �Check the picture first.  
See that it matches the  
person making the purchase.

b. �Check the date of birth (DOB). 
Make sure the customer is  
at least 21 years old.

c. �Check the expiration date. 
Make sure the ID has not expired.

Ask for ID

Refuse the Sale if Necessary
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If the customer cannot produce an ID, or the ID is invalid, refuse the sale.

Here are some tips for avoiding conflict with customers:

• �Be polite and stay calm. You can say, “If I sell to you, I may have to pay a fine or 
lose my lottery license.”

• �Show the customer your required sign that says you cannot sell tobacco or electronic 
cigarettes to anyone under 21 years old.

• �If the customer takes the product, leaves the money and runs away, do not ring  
up the sale. Treat it as a theft and report the incident to the police.

21 or Older Under 21

Is Your Customer Old Enough to Buy  
Tobacco Products or Electronic Cigarettes?

If you have any questions about the New York City or  
New York State tobacco laws, please call 311.
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