
  
Checklist for a New Permit Application 

(Not applicable to renewals, food carts, or temporary food service establishments) 
 
Note: Check individual permit guidelines for additional permit-specific required documentation)  
 

Items Needed 
Be sure the applicant’s name is the same on all documents. See “Instructions 

for Completing an Application” for more details. 

Legal Business Structure 
 

Individual 
 

Partnership 

 
Corporation or 

LLC 

Permit Application 
• All applicable sections completed 
• Permit-specific Supplemental Form(s) if applicable 
• Signed by applicant (example: owner, officer, director or shareholder) 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Permit Fee 
• See list of permit fees 
• Credit card, money order or check payable to “DOHMH” 
• Not-for-profits: no fee if proof of status is submitted (see below) 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Proof of Home Address (one of the following) 
• Valid driver’s license or non-driver ID 
• Current lease or mortgage statement 
• Utility bill, bank or credit card statement dated within the last 90 days 
• “Affidavit of Home Address” form, completed by a person living with 

applicant and a recent utility bill or lease in that individual’s name 

 
 
 

 

 (needed for 
partnership of 

individuals only) 

 

Photo Identification 
One government-issued ID with photo, such as: 
• Driver’s license or non-driver ID 
• Alien Registration Card or Naturalization Certificate 
• U.S. or foreign passport 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

Proof of Sales Tax Collecting Authority 
• Valid original NYS Certificate of Sales Tax Authority 
Obtain at  http://www.tax.ny.gov. Complete Form DTF-17 on-line or mail it to 
New York State Tax Department, Sales Tax Registration Unit, W A Harriman 
Campus, Albany, New York 12227. Takes 4-6 weeks. 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

Proof of Incorporation 
• Certificate of Incorporation (stamped to show it was filed with the New York 

State Department of State) or Filing Receipt issued by the NYS Secretary of 
State. 

If located outside of New York State, obtain “Certificate of Good Standing” from 
your Secretary of State and file with application for “Authority to Conduct 
Business in New York State” with NYS Department of State. You must then pre- 
sent this “Authority” issued by the NYS Department of State when you apply for 
this permit. 

  
 
 (needed for 
partnership of 
corporations or 

LLCs only) 

 
 
 
 

 

Workers’ Compensation & Disability Insurance Coverage 
• Submit proof of coverage effective when the establishment begins operation, 

including insurer’s name, policy number, and expiration date. If such coverage 
is NOT required, submit Certificate of Attestation of Exemption (Form CE-200) 
from the NYS Workers’ Compensation Board showing the applicant’s 
Exemption Number and the date issued. See http://www.wcb.ny.gov. 

• List DOHMH as the certificate holder (not the policy holder) 

 
 
 

 

 
 
 

 

 
 
 

 

Payment of Outstanding Fines for DOHMH Violations (if any) 
• Certified check, credit card or money order payable to “OATH Health 

Tribunal” (in person payment) or pay online with credit or debit card 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Proof of Not-for-Profit Status (if applicable)* 
• Letter from the IRS stating not-for-profit status* 

   

Power of Attorney or Authority to Act Affidavit (if applicable) 
• If someone else will turn in the application for you 

   

 

http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/st/how_to_register_for_nys_sales_tax.htm
http://www.wcb.ny.gov/

