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What is the new law regarding cigar packaging
and pricing? Masters

CORONA DE LUXE

A cigar sold for $3 or less must be sold in a package of at
least four cigars. (An individual cigar sold for more than

$3is not covered by this law.) m
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Can I sell a package of two or three cigars? lllegal to sell individually
wrapped cigars for less

Yes, but only if each cigar within the pack is sold for more
than $3.

Can | sell products for the manufacturer’s suggested
retail price if that price does not comply with the law’s
requirements?

No. A retailer cannot sell cigars that do not comply with
this law, regardless of what the package says.

LITTLE CIGARS Legallo sel
in packs of 20 little cigars
What is the new law regarding little cigars?
Little cigars must be sold in packs of at least 20 for at least $10.50

per pack. M@

What are little cigars?

Little cigars are cigars that weigh less than 4 Ibs per 1,000 MENTHOL
cigars, or cigars that have an integrated filter (regardless of 00%

weight). Little cigars look like cigarettes, but the wrapper is et
typically brown and contains tobacco. They may be labeled
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lllegal to sell little cigars
as “little cigars,”“cigars” or “large cigars.” in packs of less than 20

How can I tell if a product s a little cigar?

All cigar products that have an integrated filter are little cigars.
Little cigars that are unfiltered have the same New York State excise
tax as cigarettes. If you are unsure, ask your wholesale supplier.

What is the penalty for a violation of the law governing cigar and little

cigar packaging?

Any person found to be in violation is liable for a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for their first
violation, and $2,000 for a second violation within three years. Additional fines may apply for
second or subsequent violations, depending on the circumstances. Multiple violations may
result in the suspension or revocation of the cigarette retail dealer license or other penalties.

What is the penalty for a violation of the law governing little cigar pricing?

Any person found to be in violation is liable for a civil penalty of $1,000 for their first
violation, and $2,000 for a second violation, within five years. A violation of this law
also serves as a basis for suspension or revocation of the cigarette retail dealer license.

Does this law apply to retail tobacco stores?
Yes. This law applies to all stores in New York City that sell tobacco products.

When does this law go into effect?
This law took effect on March 19, 2014.

How will this law be enforced?
It will be enforced by the New York City Department of Consumer Affairs.

How can | read this fact sheet in other languages or see the actual law?
Visit nyc.gov and search “tobacco laws,” or call 311 and ask for information about cigar sales.

What if | have questions or need more information?
Call 311 and ask for information about cigar sales.
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http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/environmental/smoke-law.shtml

