When customers buy new tires, the businesses that sell them are required to take back the old tires for recycling.
What's covered: Any motor vehicle tire when new tire is purchased.
Businesses affected: Any tire service (meaning anyone in New York state that sells or installs new tires on a vehicle); and anyone that sells new motor vehicles. Includes tire shops, auto parts stores, vehicle repair shops, new car dealership, among others.
When customers buy new tires, collect a $2.50 per tire recycling fee and accept their old tires free of charge.
Post a sign, 8.5 by 14 inches or larger, stating the following:
"New York State law requires us to accept and manage waste tires from vehicles in exchange for an equal number of new tires that we sell or install. Tire retailers are required to charge a separate and distinct waste tire management and recycling fee of $2.50 for each new tire sold. The retailers in addition are authorized, at their sole discretion, to pass on waste tire management and recycling costs to tire purchasers. Such costs may be included as part of the advertised price of the new tire, or charged as a separate per-tire charge in an amount not to exceed $2.50 on each new tire sold."
You'll also need to add one of the following two statements to your sign:
"Our waste tire management and recycling costs are included in the advertised price of each new tire."
"We charge a separate per-tire charge of $2.50 on each new tire sold that will be listed on your invoice to cover our waste tire management and recycling costs."
Send $2.25 of each $2.50 fee to the NY State Department of Taxation and Finance along with a Quarterly Report.