
NOV/NOF CERT (REV 11/2015)    

 

 
BOROUGH_______________ HOUSE NO.____________  STREET NAME_______________________________  
 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTION OF VIOLATION(S)/HOUSING QUALITY STANDARDS FAILURE(S) 
Complete entire form and sign below. 

 
State of New York 
    )SS: 
County of ______________  
 
I, ______________________________ (PRINT NAME), swear or affirm under penalty of perjury as follows: 
 
1. That I am the registered: (check applicable box)   

 The Owner of the property  
 An Officer of the Corporation that owns the property 
 The Managing Agent of the property  
 Otherwise registered as responsible for the property     

 
2. If the building is a multiple dwelling, or I am the owner of a one- or two-family house and neither I nor any family 
member occupies the dwelling, that I am currently registered with the Division of Code Enforcement for the subject 
property. 
 
3. That I have examined the area(s) containing the violation(s)/failure(s) on the reverse side of this form and, to my 
knowledge such violation(s)/failure(s) whose number(s) I have listed below was (were) corrected on the date(s) I 
have indicated.  
 
4. That, if any of the violations require that bed bugs be remediated, I have complied with the Department of Health 
and Mental Hygiene Commissioner’s Order, by inspecting  the apartment(s) cited by the Order for bed bugs; that if 
there is a bed bug infestation in the apartment(s) cited, I have inspected all units adjacent to, above and below the 
infested units, and all common areas; that I have retained the services of a pest management professional certified 
and registered by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation as necessary to remove bed bug 
infestations; and that I have kept records of all actions taken to comply with the Order and the violation(s). 
 
5. That the following are the names and addresses of my agents /employees, including certified pest management 
professional(s) who performed the work to correct the violation(s)/failure(s) that I have certified as corrected 
(additional sheets may be attached if more space is needed): 
 

NOV/NOF 
Number 

Violation/Failure 
Number 

Date 
Corrected 

Name of Agent or Employee 
who Performed the Work 

Address of Agent or Employee 
who Performed the Work 

     

     

     

     

     

 
6. My signature below indicates that I am submitting a separate and distinct certification for each violation/failure 
listed above by Violation/Failure Number and I am aware that I am subject to penalties for false certification for 
each violation/failure certified on this form.  
 
Sworn to me this 
___________ day of _____________   ________________________________ 
         Signature 
________________________________   ________________________________ 
 Notary Public                 Phone Number  
 

THE MAKING OF A FALSE CERTIFICATION IS A CRIME 
PUNISHABLE BY A FINE AND/OR IMPRISONMENT 



NOV/NOF INSTRUCTIONS (REV 10/2015)         OWNER COPY  

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
I. HOUSING MAINTENANCE CODE (HMC) AND MULTIPLE DWEL LING LAW (MDL) PENALTIES     
You will be subject to the penalties described below unless you correct and certify the correction of violations by the dates 
indicated on the front of this Notice of Violation(s).   
CLASS A violations (non-hazardous)      $10-$50 each   
CLASS B violations (hazardous)     $25-$100 each, plus $10 per violation per day  
CLASS C violations (immediately hazardous) not related to heat, hot water or illegal devices 

• Buildings with 5 or fewer units: $50 per violation per day  
• Buildings with more than 5 units: $50-150 per violation plus $125 per violation per day 

II. FEDERAL HOUSING QUALITY STANDARDS (HQS) 
OWNER/AGENT NON-COMPLIANCE 
Owners of units already receiving an HPD subsidy will have Housing Assistance Payments (HAP) suspended (abated) unless 
the HQS failure(s) marked “OWNER” are corrected and certified by the dates indicated on the front side of this notice. During the 
abatement period, you will not be able to collect HAP from HPD or the tenant. The tenant will only be responsible for his or her 
portion of the rent. It is a violation of federal regulations to sue tenants for non-payment of HPD’s share of rent. Per Federal 
regulations, HPD must terminate the HAP contract for any unit in abatement for 180 days.  
TENANT NON-COMPLIANCE 
A tenant’s rental assistance payment may be terminated if he/she does not correct HQS failures marked “TENANT” on the front 
of this Notice of Housing Quality Standards (HQS) Failure. Tenants will receive notice of these conditions and applicable 
correction dates. HPD will attempt to reinspect all failures marked “TENANT.”  
III. HOW TO CORRECT If you request, the Department will confer with you concerning the nature and extent of the work 

required for compliance with the law and methods of financing the required work.  Contact information for HPD can be 
obtained at nyc.gov/hpd or through 311. 

IV. HOW TO CERTIFY Only an Owner, Managing Agent, Officer of the corporation that owns the property or party 
otherwise responsible for the property listed on a valid Property Registration filed with the Department may certify the 
correction of a violation. 
a. Electronic Submission (Non-Lead Violations/Failures only): Login to nyc.gov/hpd and click on the eCertification link. 

You will be required to enroll once for each building for which you wish to use electronic certification.  After your 
valid enrollment is received you will be able to immediately begin certifying violations/failures electronically. 

b. Manual/Mail Submission: The AGENCY copy must be hand delivered or postmarked on or before the earliest 
Certification Date provided on the Notice of Violation/ Notice of Housing Quality Standards (HQS) Failure and be 
properly completed in order for your certification to be valid for both.  You can obtain additional copies of the 
CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTION OF VIOLATION(S)/HOUSING QUALITY STANDARDS FAILURE(S) on 
HPD’s website nyc.gov/hpd if you wish to only certify some of the violations /failures at this time and certify the 
remainder at a later date. 
1. Complete and sign the Certification of Correction form on the back of the AGENCY copy and have your 

signature notarized. 
2. Return the AGENCY copy to the office of the Division of Code Enforcement in the borough in which the building 

is located by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, or in person.   

FALSE CERTIFICATION IS A CRIME!  THE HOUSING MAINTENANCE CODE PROVIDES FOR A FINE OF UP TO $1000, 
IMPRISONMENT FOR UP TO A YEAR, OR BOTH, FOR WILLFULLY SUBMITTING A FALSE STATEMENT. 
YOUR HAP PAYMENT WLL BE SUSPENDED IMMEDIATELY.  
V. HOW TO REQUEST A POSTPONEMENT You may request that the Department extend the date to correct 

violations/failures if there are valid reasons why you cannot complete the work within the time frame.  These requests 
may be sent to the Postponement Unit, Division of Code Enforcement, 100 Gold Street, 5th floor, New York, NY 10038.  
Such requests must be received before the required correction dates and include: the building address, a copy of the 
Notice of Violation)/ Housing Quality Standards (HQS) Failure, the reason for making the request for a postponement, 
and documentation supporting your claim that you have taken all necessary steps to complete the work on time.  You 
will be advised in writing regarding the approval or denial of your postponement request. 

VI. IF A VIOLATION/FAILURE IS MARKED “ Surface May Contain Lead-Based Paint" the area affected by a non-lead 
violation includes a painted surface.  Unless XRF testing establishes that the paint on that surface does not contain 
lead, the law presumes that the paint is lead-based paint.  HPD may issue a separate violation for a lead-based paint 
hazard.  You should read HPD's "Guide to Local Law 1 of 2004 Work Practices," which describes the work practices 
and worker training required to make repairs safely, before correcting the non-lead violation.  If you do not use 
mandated work practices, the law may prevent you from certifying correction of the lead-based paint hazard violation.  If 
the non-lead violation is a class "C" violation, you must use mandated work practices to the extent practicable to 
address any immediate danger. Call 311 or go to HPD's website, nyc.gov/hpd,for additional information about lead-
based paint hazards. 

VII. VIOLATION SUBJECT TO AN INSPECTION FEE  Local Law 65 of 2014 added section 27-2115(f)(8) to the NYC 
Housing Maintenance Code to authorize HPD to impose a fee for the third and each subsequent complaint-based 
housing inspection it performs in a particular dwelling unit where HPD has already inspected the unit twice in the same 
12-month period, has issued hazardous (class B) or immediately hazardous (class C) violations, and the owner has 
failed to repair and timely certify that those violations have been corrected.  The fee, if not paid, becomes a tax lien 
against the property.   
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