
CIV 194 REISSUANCE (REV. 7/2017)  

 

 
BOROUGH_______________ HOUSE NO.____________  STREET NAME_______________________________  
 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTION OF VIOLATION(S) 
Complete entire form and sign below. 

 
State of New York  
    )SS: 
County of ______________  
 
I, ______________________________ (PRINT NAME), swear or affirm under penalty of perjury as follows: 
 
1. That I am the registered: (check applicable box)   

 Owner of the property  
 Officer or Director of the Corporation that owns the property 
 Managing Agent of the property  
 Otherwise registered as responsible for the property     

 
2. If the building is a multiple dwelling, or I am the owner of a one- or two-family house and neither I nor any family 
member occupies the dwelling, that I am currently registered with the Division of Code Enforcement for the subject 
property. 
 
3. That I have examined the area(s) containing the violation(s) on the reverse side of this form and, to my 
knowledge such violation(s) whose number(s) I have listed below was (were) corrected on the date(s) I have 
indicated.  
 
4. That, if any of the violations require that bed bugs be remediated, I have complied with the Department of Health 
and Mental Hygiene Commissioner’s Order by inspecting the apartment(s) cited by the Order for bed bugs; that if 
there is a bed bug infestation in the apartment(s) cited, I have inspected all units adjacent to, above and below the 
infested units, and all common areas; that I have retained the services of a pest management professional certified 
and registered by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation as necessary to remove bed bug 
infestations; and that I have kept records of all actions taken to comply with the Order and the violation(s). 
 
5. That the following are the names and addresses of my agents /employees, including certified pest management 
professional(s) who performed the work to correct the violation(s) that I have certified as corrected (additional 
sheets may be attached if more space is needed): 
 

Violation 
Number 

NOV 
Number 

Date 
Corrected 

Name of Agent or Employee who 
Performed the Work 

Address of Agent or Employee who 
Performed the Work 

     

     

     

     

     

 
6. My signature below indicates that I am submitting a separate and distinct certification for each violation listed 
above by Violation/Item Number and I am aware that I am subject to penalties for false certification for each 
violation certified on this form.  
 
Sworn to me this 
___________ day of _____________   ________________________________ 
         Signature 
________________________________   ________________________________ 
 Notary Public                 Phone Number  
 

THE MAKING OF A FALSE CERTIFICATION IS A CRIME 
PUNISHABLE BY A FINE AND/OR IMPRISONMENT 



CIV 194 REISSUANCE  OWNER COPY 
(REV. 8/2017) 

  
 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
I.  PENALTIES    You will be subject to the penalties described below unless you correct and certify the correction of 
violations by the dates indicated on the front of this Notice of Violation(s).  If the violations are for Heat, Hot Water, or 
Illegal Devices, you will be subject to penalties if you do not correct them by the date indicated on the Notice of 
Violation posted at your building.    

CLASS A violations (non-hazardous)       $10-$50 each 
CLASS B violations (hazardous)       $25-$100 each, plus $10 per violation per day 
CLASS C violations (immediately hazardous) 

• Heat and hot water violations:  
• $250-$500 dollars per day for each violation from and including the date the notice is posted at the 

building until the date the violation is corrected  
• $500-$1000 per day for each subsequent violation at the same building during the same and/or the next 

calendar year from the initial violation or, in the case of HMC § 27-2029(a) (hot water), during the same 
and/or the next period of October first through May thirty-first from the initial violation.  

• Illegal Device on a central heating system: $25 per day (from the date that the violation was posted on 
the building until the illegal device is removed) or $1000, whichever is more; 

• All other class C violations for buildings with 5 or fewer units: $50 per violation per day; 
• All other class C violations for buildings with more than 5 units: $50-150 per violation plus $125 per 

violation per day 
 
II. HOW TO CERTIFY Only an Owner, Managing Agent, Officer or Director of the corporation that owns the property 
or party otherwise responsible for the property listed on a valid Property Registration filed with the Department may certify the 
correction of a violation. 

a. Electronic Submission (Non-Lead Violations only): Login to nyc.gov/hpd and click on the eCertification link. 
You will be required to enroll once for each building for which you wish to use electronic certification.  After 
your valid enrollment is received you will be able to immediately begin certifying violations electronically. 

b. Manual Submission: The AGENCY Copy must be hand delivered or postmarked on or before the Certification 
Date provided on the Notice of Violation(s) and be properly completed in order for your certification to be valid.  
You can obtain additional copies of the CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTION OF VIOLATION(S) on HPD’s 
website nyc.gov/hpd if you wish to only certify some of the violations at this time and certify the remainder at a 
later date. 
1. Complete and sign the Certification of Correction form on the back of the AGENCY Copy and have your 

signature notarized. 
2. Return the AGENCY Copy to the office of the Division of Code Enforcement, 100 Gold Street, Room 5-I4c, 

New York, NY 10038 by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, or in person.   
 
FALSE CERTIFICATION IS A CRIME!  THE HOUSING MAINTENANCE CODE PROVIDES FOR A FINE OF UP TO 
$1000, IMPRISONMENT FOR UP TO A YEAR, OR BOTH, FOR WILLFULLY SUBMITTING A FALSE STATEMENT. 
 
III.  POSTPONEMENTS ARE NOT GRANTED FOR REISSUANCE NOTICES OF VIOLATION 
 
IV. DISMISSAL REQUEST  An owner may also file for a Dismissal Request Inspection in order to remove pending 
HPD violations.  To do so, you may obtain a Dismissal Request application on line at nyc.gov/hpd or at our Borough Offices.  
There is a fee for this inspection. 
 
V. IF A VIOLATION IS MARKED "Surface May Contain Lead-Based Paint" the area affected by a non-lead violation 
includes a painted surface.  Unless XRF testing establishes that the paint on that surface does not contain lead, the law 
presumes that the paint is lead-based paint.  HPD may issue a separate violation for a lead-based paint hazard.  You should read 
HPD's "Guide to Local Law 1 of 2004 Work Practices," which describes the work practices and worker training required to 
make repairs safely, before correcting the non-lead violation.  If you do not use mandated work practices, the law may prevent 
you from certifying correction of the lead-based paint hazard violation.  If the non-lead violation is a Class "C" violation, you 
must use mandated work practices to the extent practicable to address any immediate danger. Call 311 or go to HPD's website, 
nyc.gov/hpd for additional information about lead-based paint hazards. 
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