MINUTES OF COMMUNITY BOARD 11 GENERAL BOARD MEETING

June 5, 2023 Paul DiBenedetto – Chair

PRESENT AT MEETING

CB 11 Staff:

Joseph Marziliano – District Manager Christina Coutinho – Community Associate

Elected Officials and/or Representatives Present

Maria Di Leone Representing Congress Member Meng

Jon Gallo Representing State Senator Liu Lois Marbach Representing Council Member Lee Nicole Kiprilov Representing Council Member Paladino Representing Assembly Member Braunstein Jess Mueller

Kate Boehme Representing Queens DA Katz

City Agencies

Scott Solomon - Department of City Planning

111th Precinct

P.O. Desena

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 PM by Chair, Paul DiBenedetto.

Mr. DiBenedetto led the audience in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Lois Marbach, representing Council Member Lee, announced upcoming events sponsored by the Council Member.

Jon Gallo, representing State Senator Liu, announced upcoming events sponsored by the State Senator.

P.O. Desema spoke regarding current crimes patterns taking place within the 111th Precinct. A question and answer period followed.

Michelle Stanecky, a resident of Little Neck, spoke regarding a problematic flooding condition in front of her house. She was asking for support in installing a catch basin to help with the flooding.

Andrea Linsalata spoke regarding safety issues in her neighborhood. She asked for support regarding additional police and public safety.

ROLL CALL

Members Present

Dawn Anatra, Adriana Aviles, Lana Bind, Michael Budabin, Susan Cerezo, Carmen Collado, Victor Dadras, Lourdes December, Paul DiBenedetto, Henry Euler, C. Omarr Evans, Mario Ferazzoli, Michelle Fields, Elias Fillas, Jack Fried, Albert Galatan, Joan Garippa, Laura James, Mohan Jethwani, Travis Kessel, Jena Lanzetta, Robert Liatto, Matthew Mamak, George Mihaltses, Eileen Miller, Douglas Montgomery, Wendy Pelle-Beer, Stephen Pivawer, Ann Puckett, Gunjan Rastogi, Megan Rha, Ralph Ruiz, Seihee Ryu, Christina Scherer, Benjamin Turner, Sam Wong

Members Absent

Jessica Burke, Sharon Chin, Christopher Fuentes-Padilla, Roy Giusetti, Michael Golia, Rosemarie Guidice, George Hadjiconstantinou, Tim Hao, Fleur Martino, Karen Mazza, Akshar Patel, Jyothi Sriram, David White, Fern Zimbalist

ACCEPTANCE OF MINUTES

A motion was made to accept the minutes of the May 2023 meeting by Mr. Montgomery. The motion was seconded by Ms. Fields. There were no corrections or additions to the minutes. A roll call vote was taken resulting in 26 in favor and 9 abstentions. The minutes were approved as written.

(In-Favor - Dawn Anatra, Adriana Aviles, Lana Bind, Michael Budabin, Victor Dadras, Lourdes December, Paul DiBenedetto, Henry Euler, C. Omarr Evans, Michelle Fields, Jack Fried, Albert Galatan, Joan Garippa, Laura James, Mohan Jethwani, Jena Lanzetta, Matthew Mamak, Eileen Miller, Douglas Montgomery, Wendy Pelle-Beer, Ann Puckett, Megan Rha, Ralph Ruiz, Seihee Ryu, Christina Scherer, Benjamin Turner, Sam Wong – Abstained - Susan Cerezo, Carmen Collado, Mario Ferazzoli, Elias Fillas, Travis Kessel, Robert Liatto, George Mihaltses, Stephen Pivawer, Gunjan Rastogi)

CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT

Mr. DiBenedetto stated that the NYC Health Department will be spraying for mosquitos. There will be a street co-naming for Rev. Dr. Samuel B. Joubert Sr. Way. Committee Assignments will be reviewed over the summer.

BOARD MEMBER NEW BUSINESS

Ms. Collado stated that she has asked for support several times from the Board regarding the issues that the Port Washington LIRR line is having.

Mr. Montgomery stated that there will be zoning issues brought before the Board and he asked for anyone with zoning experience to please call his office.

Mr. Liatto spoke regarding traffic that is being detoured through residential streets.

Mr. Euler spoke regarding the status of applications with the Department of City Planning. He also spoke about Mary Donahue not being reappointed as a Board Member.

Mr. Mihaltses spoke regarding City Planning's application for the demapping of 43rd Avenue.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Ad-Hoc Zoning Committee - Carbon Neutrality Zoning Text - Paul DiBenedetto, Committee Chair introduced Scott Solomon, representing the Department of City Planning. Mr. Solomon summarized, with a presentation, the key components of the proposed plan, transportation, energy, waste, and buildings. Information on this topic can be obtained on the Department City Planning's website. A question and answer period followed regarding solar energy, the cost and the maximum solar energy panels for the sq. ft. of a home.

Douglaston Zoning Committee - 242-22 61st Avenue - An application to the Department of City Planning for a proposed height authorization (approx. 300 ft above the allowed height). The applicant's representative, Eric Palatnik, gave a presentation on the proposed design of the There will be two buildings; the first will be medical offices with 126 residential units (38 affordable housing), the second will be an assisted living facility. The structures will be 8 stories high. There will be an internal street within the development that will feed onto 61st There will be maximum required parking spaces. The property will be landscaped. The FDNY has done their required assessment of the property and the internal road for proper exiting of an emergency vehicle. Douglas Montgomery, Committee Chair, reviewed the Committee Report of January 12, 2023. Mr. Montgomery expressed the Committee's concern with the hill the structures will be developed on. A question and answer period followed. There was discussion on employee parking and local mass transit in the area. This will be a private assisted living program. Discussion ensued regarding the erosion of the hill; there will be pillars built to support the structures. A motion was made to approve this application by Mr. Montgomery. The motion was seconded by Mr. Liatto. A roll call vote was taken resulting in 9 in favor, 25 opposed and one abstention. The motion was denied.

(In-favor - Lana Bind, C. Omarr Evans, Albert Galatan, Matthew Mamak, Douglas Montgomery, Wendy Pelle-Beer, Gunjan Rastogi, Benjamin Turner, Sam Wong – Opposed - Dawn Anatra, Adriana Aviles, Michael Budabin, Susan Cerezo, Carmen Collado, Victor Dadras, Lourdes December, Paul DiBenedetto, Henry Euler, Mario Ferazzoli, Michelle Fields, Elias Fillas, Jack Fried, Joan Garippa, Laura James, Mohan Jethwani, Travis Kessel, Jena Lanzetta, Robert Liatto, George Mihaltses, Eileen Miller, Stephen Pivawer, Ann Puckett, Megan Rha, Ralph Ruiz, Christina Scherer – *Abstained* – Seihee Ryu)

The meeting adjourned at 9:33 PM