Temporary Protective Status (TPS) for Immigrants

Temporary Protected Status (TPS) allows immigrants who are citizens or nationals of designated countries to stay in the United States lawfully if it is unsafe to return to their home country.

You can only apply for TPS if you meet certain eligibility requirements and are a national of a country that has been officially designated for TPS.

These countries are:

  • El Salvador
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Liberia
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Syria