Special Inspection FAQ

 

Topics

Compliance

  1. Can a registered Design Professional (PE or RA) perform Special Inspections?
  2. When did Special Inspections replace Controlled Inspections?
  3. Are Progress Inspections the same as Special Inspections?
  4. What is the difference between a Progress Inspections and a Special Inspection?
  5. Can the Design Professional of record perform Special Inspections for a project (s)he designed?
  6. If a design firm performs Special Inspections and registers as a Special Inspection Agency, does it need to form a separate business entity?
  7. Can someone serve as the director for multiple Special Inspection Agencies?
  8. Can someone serve as a director for a Special Inspection Agency and be a Special Inspector for a different agency?
  9. Under Special Inspection rule (1 RCNY §101-06)§(c)(6), what is ‘full-time’ when pertaining to primary and alternate directors?
  10. Can a class 2 or class 3 Special Inspection Agency inspect work in a major building?

[Topics]

Registration

  1. When does registration begin?
  2. When is the registration deadline?
  3. What were the Special Inspection Categories introduced in the 2014 Construction Codes?
  4. Where do I go to register online to become a Special Inspection Agency?
  5. Where can I learn more about how to register to become a Special Inspection Agency?
  6. What kinds of inspections can my agency register for?
  7. Can my agency perform Special Inspections if I am not a New York State-licensed Professional Engineer or Registered Architect?
  8. Can my agency register to be a Class 1 Special Inspection Agency for some inspections and a Class 2 or Class 3 Special Inspection Agency for other inspections on the same registration form?
  9. When uploading my supporting documentation, I am asked for my Temporary Reference number. Where do I find this?
  10. How do I change the number or type of inspections my agency is permitted to perform after it has been approved to be a Special Inspection Agency?
  11. How do I switch my registration to another registration class?
  12. Is there a fee to change the type or number of inspections my agency is registered to perform?
  13. Can I publish my Special Inspection Agency number on promotional materials?
  14. Is there a period where Special Inspections may be performed without a registered Special Inspection Agency?
  15. When am I required to be registered a Special Inspection Agency to perform Special Inspections?
  16. Are Special Inspectors required to register with the Department?
  17. Does the Department maintain a list of registered Special Inspection Agencies?
  18. Can I contact someone for assistance with my registration?

[Back to Top]

NYC Business Address

  1. Must my agency maintain a New York City address to perform Special Inspections?
  2. When registering to become a Special Inspection Agency, I am prompted to upload proof of my agency’s New York City address, but my agency is not located in New York City. What do I do?
  3. I am an out-of-state company conducting business in New York City. How do I satisfy the requirement where I am asked to provide proof of my agency’s New York City address?
  4. What constitutes proof of a NYC business address?

[Back to Top]

Insurance Requirements

  1. I am a Master Plumber. Do I need general liability insurance to perform Special Inspections?
  2. I am a Registered Design Professional. Do I need general liability insurance to perform Special Inspections?
  3. Must I obtain Worker’s Compensation Insurance to perform Special Inspections?
  4. Can my company be exempt or waive Worker’s Compensation Insurance to perform Special Inspections?

[Back toTop]

Accreditation

  1. If I am a Class 2 or 3 Special Inspection Agency am I required to be accredited?
  2. Does my agency need to be accredited for all Special Inspection categories for which my agency is registered?
  3. When is my agency required to be accredited?
  4. Once my agency is accredited, is the Special Inspection Agency number provided by the accrediting body my SIA number?
  5. Are there other acceptable accrediting agencies similar to the International Accreditation Service (IAS)? If so, where can I find a list of them or more info?

[Back to Top]

Statement of Inspection (TR1)

  1. When do I need to include my Special Inspection Agency number on the TR1 Form?
  2. Who signs the TR1 Form?

     

The Special Inspection Rule Amendment (1 RCNY § 101-06)

  1. When did the amendment to the Special Inspection Rule become effective?
  2. Does the amendment state how I am to perform my inspections?

[Back to Top]

Compliance FAQ

1. Can a registered Design Professional (PE or RA) perform Special Inspections?

Yes, however each Special Inspection type has specific qualification requirements. These qualifications are listed in Appendix A of the Special Inspection rule, 1 RCNY 101-06

[Back to Top]

2. When did Special Inspections replace Controlled Inspections?

Special inspections have been mandatory for all construction jobs whose applications were submitted on or after July 1, 2008.

[Back to Top]

3. Are Progress Inspections the same as Special Inspections?

No. Progress inspections are defined in BC 109 and 1 RCNY 101-07 Special inspections are defined in BC 17 and 1 RCNY 101-06 1 RCNY 101-06. When it is specified by the Code, Progress Inspectors are required to verify that Special Inspections were performed and that work has been substantially completed.

[Back to Top]

4. What is the difference between a Progress Inspection and a Special Inspection?

Progress inspections are performed during the progress of work to verify substantial compliance with the Code and with approved construction documents; these are specified throughout the Construction Codes as progress inspections.

By contrast, Special Inspections are inspections of selected materials, equipment, installation, fabrication, erection, or placement of components and connections; these inspections confirm compliance with approved construction documents and referenced standards required by NYC Building Code Chapter 19 (elsewhere in the Building Code or its referenced standards).

[Back to Top]

5. Can the Design Professional of record perform Special Inspections for a project (s)he designed?

Yes, as long as the Design Professional is working for a registered Special Inspection Agency and as long as being the Design Professional of record is not a conflict of interest. The registered Design Professional of record must not engage in any activities that may conflict with his/her objective judgment and integrity.

[Back to Top]

6. If a design firm performs Special Inspections and registers as a Special Inspection Agency, does it need to form a separate business entity?

No, a separate business entity is not required, though it is an option.

[Back to Top]

7. Can someone serve as the director for multiple Special Inspection Agencies?

No, the Special Inspection rule prohibits anyone from serving as a director of more than one agency. Per §(c)(6): “…directors must not be retained by any other agency that provides special inspection or testing services.”

[Back to Top]

8. Can someone serve as a director for a Special Inspection Agency and be a Special Inspector for a different agency?

No, the Special Inspection rule prohibits a director from working at multiple agencies performing special inspections. Per §(c)(6): “…directors must not be retained by any other agency that provides special inspection or testing services.”

[Back to Top]

9. Under Special Inspection rule (1 RCNY §101-06)§(c)(6), what is ‘full-time’ when pertaining to primary and alternate directors?

‘Full-time’ means that the primary and alternate directors must:

  1. Be available to the Department at all times for all inquiries regarding special inspections performed by the Special Inspection Agency
  2. Have no other conflicts that would interfere with meeting and providing adequate and timely responses to the Department
  3. Provide supervision as defined by Section (a) of the Special Inspection rule; and
  4. Have no other conflicts that would interfere with providing such supervision. Part-time primary and alternate directors do not have to satisfy this last requirement.

    Reference: “With respect to a director of a Special Inspection Agency, supervision will mean oversight and responsible control by a registered Design Professional who must ensure that qualified inspectors are dispatched for special inspections, that such special inspectors properly document their activities, and that reports and logs are prepared in accordance with section 28-114.2 of the Administrative Code. Such supervision will include ensuring training and/or education necessary to qualify the Special Inspector for his or her duties, including continued training and education necessary to keep pace with developing technology.”)

[Back to Top]

10. Can a Class 2 or Class 3 Special Inspection Agency inspect work in a major building?

Yes, but a class 2 or class 3 Special Inspection Agency cannot perform inspections for work requiring a class 1 agency. See 1 RCNY 101-06 Section (c)(2)(ii) for types of work which require a class 1 Special Inspection Agency.

Class 3 agencies are limited to (1) inspection involving the construction, demolition, or alteration of a one-, two-, or three-family dwelling or (2) inspections of less than 10,000 square feet of gross floor area in total and may not perform inspections involving underpinning, mechanical means and methods of demolition, or the protection of the sides of excavations greater than 10 feet in depth.

[Back to Top]

Registration FAQ

1. When does registration begin?

Registration to become a Special Inspection Agency began on May 13, 2015.

[Back to Top]

2. When is the registration deadline?

Registration deadline for the 2008 Special Inspection categories is May 13, 2013 (see 1 §RCNY 101-06 (effective May 13, 2012) and Executive Order 4/12. The registration deadline for the Special Inspection categories introduced in the 2014 NYC Construction Codes is October 1, 2014.

[Back to Top]

3. What were the Special Inspection Categories introduced in the 2014 Construction Codes?

See Buildings Bulletin 2014-017. The Special Inspection Categories introduced in the 2014 Construction Codes are as follows:

  • Mastic and Intumescent Fire-resistant Coatings (BC 1704.12)
  • High Temperature Hot Water Piping (Welding) (BC 1704.18)
  • Post-Installed Anchors (BC 1704.32)
  • Raising and Moving of a Building (BC 1704.20.5)

[Back to Top]

4. Where do I go to register online to become a Special Inspection Agency?

Go to the Special Inspection Agency page under the Industry link on the Department’s website. View the Registration Requirements and follow the instructions. Register online.

[Back to Top]

5. Where can I learn more about how to register to become a Special Inspection Agency?

Read the Special Inspection Agency Registration User Guide.

[Back to Top]

6. What kinds of inspections can my agency register for?

Your agency may register for all inspection types your agency is qualified to perform. The types of inspections and their qualifications are listed 1 §RCNY 101-06, Appendix A.

[Back to Top]

7. Can my agency perform Special Inspections if I am not a New York State-licensed Professional Engineer or Registered Architect?

Yes, your agency may register to perform special inspections – as long as the agency employs NYC-licensed trade professional (Class A and Class B Master Fire Suppression Piping Contractor electrician, Class A and Class B Oil Burner Equipment Installer, or Master Plumber) meeting the qualifications per 1 §RCNY 101-06 Appendix A.  Agencies and Inspectors must be in good standing with the Department.

[Back to Top]

8. Can my agency register to be a Class 1 Special Inspection Agency for some inspections and a Class 2 or Class 3 Special Inspection Agency for other inspections on the same registration form?

Yes. However, underpinning, mechanical demolition and excavation special inspections can only be performed by Class 1 or Class 2 Special Inspection Agencies. (Class 1 Special Inspection Agencies must be accredited.)

[Back to Top]

9. When uploading my supporting documentation, I am asked for my Temporary Reference number.  Where do I find this?

Your Temporary Reference Number is on the bottom of the PDF version of your SIA1: Special Inspection Agency Form or in the confirmation email you received after successfully submitting your online form.

Note: This number is not your Special Inspection Agency number and cannot be used as proof that you are registered with the Department as a Special Inspection Agency.

[Back to Top]

10. How do I change the number or type of inspections my agency is permitted to perform after it has been approved to be a Special Inspection Agency?

Once you have submitted your application to the Department, your registration will be processed with the inspections indicated on the submitted form. If you would like to change inspections to your original registration, you must complete a paper SIA1: Special Inspection Agency Form on the licensing forms page of the Department’s website, check the change box, complete all the required fields, and resubmit your application to the Licensing Unit.

[Back to Top]

11. How do I switch my registration to another registration class?

To make changes to your SIA registration, please complete the following:

1.  Complete the SIA1 Form:
a.  Indicate Change in section 1.

b.  Complete section 2 (provide SIA#), 3, 4 and 11 (all registered directors must provide signature and seal).
2.  Complete the SIA1 Registration Cover Sheet:
a.  Complete all sections.

b.  Section 2. If adding new special inspection categories, calculate change fee and make check for the appropriate amount payable to the Department of Buildings. If you are not adding new special inspection categories, indicate No new categories on line (A).
3.  On Company letter head provide an explanation of the registration changes being requested.
4.  Please submit all documents and check (if applicable) to the address listed in Section 4 of the SIA1 Registration Cover Sheet.

[Back to Top]

12. Is there a fee to change the type or number of inspections my agency is registered to perform?

There is no change fee, but there is a $35.00 fee for each inspection added to the original registration.

[Back to Top]

13. Can I publish my Special Inspection Agency number on promotional materials?

Yes. This is encouraged.

[Back to Top]

14. Is there a period where Special Inspections may be performed without a registered Special Inspection Agency?

Special inspections for projects permitted after May 13, 2013 must be performed by a registered Special Inspection Agency. However, Special Inspections for projects permitted before May 13, 2013 do not have to be performed by a registered Special Inspection Agency.

Note: Executive Order 4/12 extended the original registration deadline from November 13, 2012 to May 13, 2013

[Back to Top]

15. When am I required to be registered a Special Inspection Agency to perform Special Inspections?

Agencies wishing to perform special inspections are required to be registered with the Department by May 13, 2013. (Please note: Executive Order 4/12 extended the original registration deadline from November 13, 2012 to May 13, 2013)

[Back to Top]

16. Are Special Inspectors required to register with the Department?

No, only Special Inspection Agencies are required to register with the Department.

[Back to Top]

17. Does the Department maintain a list of registered Special Inspection Agencies?

No. However, one can use the Buildings Information System to search for and verify that a Special Inspection Agency is registered by searching the name and number of the agency or its directors.

[Back to Top]

18. Can I contact someone for assistance with my registration?

Yes, email registration questions to SIAregistration@buildings.nyc.gov. You may also email the Licensing Unit at LicensingDOB@buildings.nyc.gov or visit us the Department’s headquarters at 280 Broadway, 6th Floor, New York, NY 10007.

[Back to Top]

NYC Business Address FAQ

1. Must my agency maintain a New York City address to perform Special Inspections?

An agency must have a New York City address or be registered with the New York State Secretary of State as an agent for domestic or authorized foreign entity. To learn more about registering your agency with the Secretary of State, visit the State’s site.

[Back to Top]

2. When registering to become a Special Inspection Agency, I am prompted to upload proof of my agency’s New York City address, but my agency is not located in New York City. What do I do?

An agency must have a New York City address to become a registered Special Inspection Agency. Your agency can also register with the NYS Secretary of State as an agent for domestic or authorized foreign entity. If your agency is registered with the NYS Secretary of State as an agent for domestic or authorized foreign entity, upload the proof of filing receipt from the NYS Secretary of State.

[Back to Top]

3. I am an out-of-state company conducting business in New York City.  How do I satisfy the requirement where I am asked to provide proof of my agency’s New York City address?

To satisfy this requirement, a foreign business corporation may apply for authority to do business in New York State by filing an Application for Authority pursuant to Section 1304 of the Business Corporation Law with the Secretary of State. Upload your filing receipt from the Department of State into this section.

[Back to Top]

4. What constitutes proof of a NYC business address?

A utility bill (electric, water, gas, etc.), lease, or deed is sufficient proof of your agency’s NYC address.

[Back to Top]

Insurance Requirements FAQ

1. I am a Master Plumber. Do I need general liability insurance to perform Special Inspections?

Yes, but since general liability insurance is required to become a licensed Master Plumber, you have already satisfied this requirement and need not purchase additional general liability insurance.

[Back to Top]

2. I am a Registered Design Professional. Do I need general liability insurance to perform Special Inspections?

No. Registered Design Professionals are required to carry professional liability insurance, which satisfies this requirement.

[Back to Top]

3. Must I obtain Worker’s Compensation Insurance to perform Special Inspections?

All companies operating with and/or employing more than one individual must obtain Worker’s Compensation Insurance in order to perform Special Inspections. This insurance is not required if:

  1. You are an individual or sole proprietor; you have a partner, but no employees; or
  2. Your company has one or two corporate officers with no employees.

[Back to Top]

4. Can my company be exempt or waive Worker’s Compensation Insurance to perform Special Inspections?

A waiver may only be obtained if your company has no employees. This waiver can be obtained through the Worker’s Compensation Board by completing a Request for WC/DB Exemption (Form CE-200) on the Worker Compensation Board’s website at www.wcb.ny.gov.

[Back to Top]

Accreditation FAQ

1. If I am a Class 2 or 3 Special Inspection Agency am I required to be accredited?

No, only Class 1 Special Inspection Agencies are required to be accredited.

[Back to Top]

2. Does my agency need to be accredited for all Special Inspection categories for which my agency is registered?

No. You only need to be accredited for the Special Inspections categories that are registered as a Class 1 Special Inspection Agency.

[Back to Top]

3. When is my agency required to be accredited?

Special Inspection Agencies registered for the special inspection categories introduced in the 2014 NYC Construction Codes and registered as a Class 1 special inspection agency were required to be accredited by October 1, 2015. All other Class 1 Special Inspection Agencies were required to obtain accreditation by May 13, 2013. Projects permitted before this date do not need to be inspected by accredited Class 1 Special Inspection Agencies.

[Back to Top]

4. Once my agency is accredited, is the Special Inspection Agency number provided by the accrediting body my SIA number?

No. The Special Inspection Agency number is the number issued by the Department once the Department has approved your agency’s registration.

[Back to Top]

5. Are there other acceptable accrediting agencies similar to the International Accreditation Service (IAS)? If so, where can I find a list of them or more info?

Please reference the List of Recognized Accredited Bodies.

[Back to Top]

Statement of Inspection (TR1) FAQ

1. When do I need to include my Special Inspection Agency number on the TR1 Form?

Beginning May 13, 2013, include your Special Inspection Agency number on TR1 Forms.

[Back to Top]

2. Who signs the TR1 Form?

The Special Inspection Agency’s primary director or any of its alternate directors who are listed on the valid registration

[Back to Top]

The Special Inspection Rule Amendment (1 RCNY § 101-06) FAQ

1. When did the amendment to the Special Inspection Rule become effective?

The first amendment was published in the City Record on April 13, 2012 and became effective on May 13, 2012. Registration began on May 14, 2012 and is mandatory by May 13, 2013 to perform Special Inspections.

Note: Executive Order 4/12 extended the original registration deadline from November 13, 2012 to May 13, 2013. The second amendment will become effective December 31, 2014

[Back to Top]

2. Does the amendment state how I am to perform my inspections?

No. However, there are some duties and responsibilities for performing Special Inspections referenced in the NYC Construction Codes.

[Back to Top]