Secondhand Dealer General

Note: Some documents on this page are in PDF format, download the free Adobe Reader.

Who Must Have a Secondhand Dealer General License?

A person or business that buys or sells used goods, other than automobiles, in New York City must have a Secondhand Dealer General license.

This description is only a general explanation of who must have a Secondhand Dealer General license. Refer to the Licensing Law/Rules Handout.

Exemptions: Garage sales and not-for-profit organizations are not required to have a Secondhand Dealer General license.

Quick List of Application Requirements

Basic License Application
Sales Tax Identification Number OR Certificate of Authority Application Confirmation Number
Copy of your $1,000 Compliance Bond, properly signed
Fingerprints and $75 Processing Fee per Person (if applicable)
Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (if applicable)
License Fee

Additional City or State Permits/Licenses/Clearances You May Need

  • If you or your business plans to sell audio equipment, video equipment, photographic equipment, computers or computer equipment, or calculators, you must also obtain an Electronics Store license from DCA.
  • If you or your business plans to lend money on deposit or pledge of personal property, you must obtain a Pawnbroker license from DCA.
  • If you or your business plans to buy, sell, or accept trade-ins of secondhand automobiles, you must also obtain a Secondhand Dealer Auto license from DCA.

Application Requirements

Before You File Your DCA License Application:

You must obtain the following required documents before filing your application. Although DCA does not require submission of these documents in order to process your application in person or online, DCA reserves the right to request and examine the documents under section 20.104 of the New York City Administrative Code.
 
  • Applicable Business Certificates based on your Business's Legal Structure 
    • Sole Proprietorships operating under a name other than your own must file a Business/Assumed Name Certificate with the clerk of the county in which your business is conducted.
    • Sole Proprietorships doing business under your own name—and not under a trade or Doing-Business-As (DBA) name—do not need a Business Certificate.
    • General/Business Partnerships must file your Partnership Certificate with the clerk of the county in which your business is conducted.
    • Corporations, Limited Partnerships, Limited Liability Companies, or Limited Liability Partnerships must register and remain active with the New York State Department of State. Active status will be verified by DCA prior to license issuance. You can confirm the status of your business entity at NYS Web site. If applicable, you must also file an Assumed Name Certificate for your business.
    • Businesses incorporated out of state must obtain a Certificate of Doing Business in Good Standing from your home state’s Secretary of State and file this with an application for Authority to Conduct Business in New York with the New York State Secretary of State.

When You File Your DCA License Application:

Below are requirements when filing your license application:
 
  • Basic License Application
    Reminder: If your business legal structure is sole proprietorship or general or limited partnership, you must complete the Child Support Certification section of the application.

    Online submission: After reviewing the application requirements, please click the Apply Online link at the bottom of the page to submit your application.

    In-person submission: Download the Basic License Application Form.
  • Sales Tax Identification Number OR Certificate of Authority Application Confirmation Number
    The Sales Tax Identification Number is the 9, 10, or 11-digit number on your New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Certificate of Authority. You must enter this number on the Basic License Application form. If you have not received your Certificate of Authority, please enter the 6-digit confirmation number you received when you successfully submitted the application for a Certificate of Authority.

    To apply for a Certificate of Authority, visit the NYS License Center. You will need a NY.gov ID to access the application form. To request a paper application, call (518) 485-2889. Allow four to six weeks after applying to the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance to receive your Certificate of Authority.
  • Copy of your $1,000 Compliance Bond, properly signed
    The copy of the bond must name the Department of Consumer Affairs as the Certificate Holder. Your corporate name, Doing-Business-As (DBA) name (if any), and premises address must be exactly the same on all documents. You must also submit a copy of the bond receipt showing that the bond has been paid in full and does not expire before the end of the licensing period. Download a list of bonding companies.
  • Fingerprints and Processing Fee
    All sole proprietors, general partners, directors, corporate officers, and all shareholders owning 10% or more of company stock must be fingerprinted at the DCALicensing Center. EXCEPTIONS
    Any person who was fingerprinted or provided fingerprints for an active DCA license within the last three years does not need to be fingerprinted.

    You must visit the DCA Licensing Center with photo identification (ID) and pay a $75 processing fee. Acceptable forms of ID include:
    • Driver’s license or non-driver’s license identification issued by a State Department of Motor Vehicles
    • License or permit issued by a government agency 
    • Passport 
    • Alien card/green card 
    • City, State, or Federal employee ID card
    • Municipal ID card

  • Your fingerprints will be checked for any criminal record that you may have. Note that a conviction will not necessarily prevent you from being granted a license. However, failure to reveal a conviction can constitute grounds for the denial of your application.
  • Granting Authority to Act Affirmation (download)
    If this application will be filed by someone other than the license applicant, the license applicant must submit a Granting Authority to Act Affirmation. Note: The applicant must sign all required documents.
  • License Fee
    The chart below lists the amount due depending upon when you file your license application. Note: An odd year is any year ending in an odd digit; for example, 2015. An even year is any year ending in an even digit; for example, 2016.
Secondhand Dealer General  License Fee
License Term:
2 years
License Expiration Date: July 31, Odd years  
If You File Your Application Between These Dates: Your License Fee is:
From August 1 in an odd year to January 31 in an even year $340
From February 1 in an even year to July 31 in an even year $255
From August 1 in an even year to January 31 in an odd year $170
From February 1 in an odd year to July 31 in an odd year $85 or *$425

*If you are applying within six months of the license expiration date, you can pay the prorated fee for the remaining license term plus the full fee to renew the license for the next term. If you pay both fees, you will not need to renew the license until the end of the next license period.

Fee Payments

The DCA Licensing Center accepts payment by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover Card) or check or money order made payable to NYC Department of Consumer Affairs.

If you submit your application online, you must pay with a major credit card.

Note: Credit card payments are subject to a nonrefundable 2.49% convenience fee. In the event the payment to which it relates is canceled, refunded, credited, or charged back, you must contact your credit card company to dispute the convenience fee.

Application Filing Process

IN PERSON

File in person at the DCA Licensing Center, 42 Broadway, in Manhattan between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, and on Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Translation Services
If you do not speak or understand English well, please let us know when you arrive at the Licensing Center and we will provide translation services.

Reasonable Accommodation
To request a disability-related accommodation, visit our Accommodations page.

ONLINE

  1. Please review requirements for the license and gather all materials before clicking the button below. Note: At this time, the service is available using a laptop or desktop computer only.
  2. If you haven’t registered an account with the City of New York, you will need to register an account before you can proceed to the online application.
  3. After you submit the online application, follow the instructions on the confirmation page. DCA cannot process incomplete applications.
  4. Important: If you need to file another license application, return to the Apply for a DCA License page to read requirements and proceed to the online application.

Additional Resources for Secondhand Dealer General


Get Voter Information
Note: Whether you apply to register to vote or not, it will not affect the assistance DCA will provide to you.