Disabled Homeowners' Exemption (DHE)

Provides a property tax exemption to disabled owners of 1, 2, and 3 family houses, condominiums, or cooperative apartments.

In early April, we mailed letters to SCHE and DHE recipients who did not submit renewal applications by the March 15 deadline. Some notices were sent in error to homeowners who had already submitted their renewal. We are sending new letters to people who had already renewed but got the early April letter. We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this caused. If you received a notice saying that your SCHE/DHE renewal was received, you can disregard all other notices. If you missed the deadline but still want to renew, please send us your application as soon as possible. All applications that we have received will be processed. If you would like confirmation on the status of your application, please email  recertify@finance.nyc.gov or contact 311.


Ownership Requirements All of the owners must be persons with disabilities. Exceptions are made in cases where the property is owned by husband and wife, or by siblings. In those cases, only one needs to have a disability.
Income The combined income of all owners and their spouses cannot be more than $37,399. The application instructions specify the sources of income we use to determine your eligibility.
Residency The property must be your primary residence if you are applying as an owner who is disabled. If you are receiving health-related care as an inpatient of a residential health care facility, your property may also be eligible.
Ineligible Properties Your property cannot be within a housing development that is controlled by a Limited-Profit Housing Company, Mitchell Lama, Limited Dividend Housing Company, Redevelopment Company, or Housing Development Fund Company*. Please contact your property manager or managing agent for this information if you are not sure.

*Note: If your property is located in a HDFC (Housing Development Fund Company) development and receives the DAMP (Division of Alternative Management Program) your property may be eligible for personal exemptions. Please contact your managing agent for this information if you are not sure.

Note: You cannot receive both DHE and SCHE (the Senior Citizen Homeowners' Exemption). If your property qualifies for both, we will only grant SCHE.

If you qualify for DHE the table below will help you estimate how much your assessed value might be reduced by.

If the Owners' Income Is Between (DHE) Can Reduce The Assessed Value By
$36,500 and $37,399 5%
$35,600 and $36,499 10%
$34,700 and $35,599 15%
$33,800 and $34,699 20%
$32,900 and $33,799 25%
$32,000 and $32,899 30%
$31,000 and $31,999 35%
$30,000 and $30,999 40%
$29,001 and $29,999 45%
$0 and $29,000 50%

Your Homeowner Tax Benefits Application and all required documents must be postmarked by March 15 (or the next business day if March 15 is on a weekend) for your exemption to begin on July 1 in the same year.

Note for Property Owners: You may also be eligible to receive the following exemptions: Clergy, Senior Citizen, and Veterans. Read More
By law you have to renew your Disabled Homeowner Exemption every year in order to continue receiving it.  You will receive a notice from the NYC Department of Finance when it is time to file your renewal application.

For more information, please see the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Need Help? Contact 311 or  Email Us.