What fees am I required to pay? All new applicants must pay a fingerprint fee of $89.75 when applying. Certain retirees are exempt from paying the application fee pursuant to state and local law. Please call the Retiree Section at 646-610-5536 if you are unsure of your eligibility for the fee waiver. Fees may be paid by credit card, certified check, bank check, or money orders. Cash and personal checks are not accepted. The application fee is $340.00 for retirees who do not qualify for a fee waiver. Certified checks, bank checks, or money orders should be made payable to the New York City Police Department.
When can I submit my application? The License Division is open from Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. Please arrive at least 45 minutes before closing time to ensure that your application is processed. The office is closed on all legal holidays.
Must the application be typed? Yes. NYC rules require your application to be typed. The online application package allows you to fill in the form on your computer and print out a completed copy for submission to the License Division.
Where can I obtain a handgun license application form? You can pick up a handgun license application from the License Division offices located in One Police Plaza, Room 110A, or you can download an application package from this page. You will need Adobe Reader to display and complete the form.
Do I have to disclose my arrest history if the charges against me were dismissed and sealed? Yes. New York State Criminal Procedure Law §160.50 (1)(d)(iii) grants the License Division authority to obtain the sealed criminal records of any person who has applied for a license to possess guns. License Division rules require all applicants to disclose their arrest histories and submit Certificates of Disposition showing the offense and disposition of the charges, along with a notarized statement describing the circumstances surrounding each arrest. This information must be provided even if the case was dismissed, the record sealed, or the case nullified by operation of law. Failure or refusal to disclose this information will result in the disapproval of your application for a license or permit.
What should I know about the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (HR 218)? HR 218 protects retirees from prosecution for possessing a firearm without a license, but its protections are limited. Read more about HR-218.