The NYPD License Division is located at One Police Plaza, Room 110A, in Lower Manhattan and is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. The office is closed on holidays. Information on the application process and guidance on the various types of handgun licenses available can be found below. Also included are the necessary forms, information for retired law enforcement officers, rifle/shotgun permits requirements, License Division rules, :
(Frequently Asked Questions), and contact information.
- Fees may be paid by credit card, certified check, or in the form of two U.S. postal or bank-drawn money orders made payable to the New York City Police Department. Cash or personal checks are not accepted. Keep the receipt as proof of payment and as a record of the assigned number, necessary for any subsequent inquiries regarding the application status.
- If the intended license is work-related or for a profession or business, an application reviewer can assist in determining the type of license needed, but it is not required to have the reviewer screen your documents.
- You will be contacted for an interview and may be required to submit additional documentation. All documents will be thoroughly examined and evaluated before determining whether you are qualified for an employment-related, profession-related, or business-related license.
- You are not required to follow the reviewer's recommendation regarding the type of license desired. The screening process is only intended to assist the applicant.
- You must be 21 years of age to apply for a handgun license or rifle/shotgun permit.
- The application fee is $340.00 for a handgun license and $140.00 for a rifle/shotgun permit.
- The fee for fingerprints is $87.00.
- These fees may be paid by credit card or by two (2) separate money orders made payable to the New York City Police Department.
- All fees are non-refundable.
Important information for license and permit holders regarding the NY Safe Act.
Important information for retired law enforcement officers regarding amendment to the NY Safe Act.
Active Uniformed Members of the Service should not file a FOIL exemption request form with the NYPD License Division. This form only applies to persons with active handgun licenses.
All applicants must appear in person at the NYPD License Division, One Police Plaza or at the Rifle and Shotgun Section, located at 120-55 Queens Boulevard, Room B-11, Kew Gardens, NY. All applicants must bring the completed handgun application, the required documents, the application fee, and the fingerprint fee. Please allow approximately 45 minutes to process the initial stage of the application at the offices. The entire application process can take several months. For questions on the status of an application, please call 646-610-5560.
Requirements for Handgun License Applicants
Requirements for Rifle/Shotgun Permit Applicants
Application Forms and Instructions
Acrobat Reader is required to view the forms, and can be obtained for free.
Types of Licenses
Handgun license consulting firms
License Division Rules
Frequently Asked Licensing Questions