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NEW YORK CITY BUSINESS INTEGRITY COMMISSION

Notice of Public Hearing and Opportunity to Comment on Proposed Rules

What are we proposing? The New York City Business Integrity Commission (the “Commission” or 
“BIC”) is proposing changes to its rules. First, the Commission is authorizing the Hearings Division of 
the New York City Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings (OATH) to adjudicate BIC summonses. 
Second, the Commission is adopting a penalty schedule for trade waste violations. The Commission will 
vote on the final rule before it is promulgated. 

When and where is the hearing? BIC will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule. The public hearing 
will take place via Microsoft Teams Meeting at 11:30 a.m. on February 22, 2023, using the following link 
and meeting information:

Microsoft Teams Meeting

Join on your computer, mobile app or room device 

Click here to join the meeting 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-
join/19%3ameeting_NDQzYThmODUtOTA4ZC00ZWEzLTg5MDgtODgyNzRhY2Y3NGE5%40thread
.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2232f56fc7-5f81-4e22-a95b-
15da66513bef%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22174443ef-91ea-48bf-9471-18a8de9e66f2%22%7d

Meeting ID: 237 132 767 17 
Passcode: c9Jyju 

Download Teams | Join on the web

Or call in (audio only) 

+1 646-893-710,570442759#   United States, New York City 

Phone Conference ID: 570 442 759# 

Find a local number | Reset PIN 

How do I comment on the proposed rules? Anyone can comment on the proposed rules by:

 Website. You can submit comments to BIC through the NYC rules website at
http://rules.cityofnewyork.us.

 E-mail. You can e-mail written comments to nmathias@bic.nyc.gov.

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NDQzYThmODUtOTA4ZC00ZWEzLTg5MDgtODgyNzRhY2Y3NGE5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2232f56fc7-5f81-4e22-a95b-15da66513bef%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22174443ef-91ea-48bf-9471-18a8de9e66f2%22%7d
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NDQzYThmODUtOTA4ZC00ZWEzLTg5MDgtODgyNzRhY2Y3NGE5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2232f56fc7-5f81-4e22-a95b-15da66513bef%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22174443ef-91ea-48bf-9471-18a8de9e66f2%22%7d
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NDQzYThmODUtOTA4ZC00ZWEzLTg5MDgtODgyNzRhY2Y3NGE5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2232f56fc7-5f81-4e22-a95b-15da66513bef%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22174443ef-91ea-48bf-9471-18a8de9e66f2%22%7d
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NDQzYThmODUtOTA4ZC00ZWEzLTg5MDgtODgyNzRhY2Y3NGE5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2232f56fc7-5f81-4e22-a95b-15da66513bef%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22174443ef-91ea-48bf-9471-18a8de9e66f2%22%7d
https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NDQzYThmODUtOTA4ZC00ZWEzLTg5MDgtODgyNzRhY2Y3NGE5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%2232f56fc7-5f81-4e22-a95b-15da66513bef%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22174443ef-91ea-48bf-9471-18a8de9e66f2%22%7d
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-teams/download-app
https://www.microsoft.com/microsoft-teams/join-a-meeting
tel:+16468937101,,570442759#
https://dialin.teams.microsoft.com/1209d813-4233-459b-a526-17806b7b4d09?id=570442759
https://dialin.teams.microsoft.com/usp/pstnconferencing
http://rules.cityofnewyork.us/
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 Mail. You can mail written comments to Business Integrity Commission, 100 Church Street, 20th 
Floor, New York, NY 10007.

 Fax. You can fax written comments to BIC at (646) 500-7113.

 By speaking at the hearing. Anyone who wants to comment on the proposed rule at
the public hearing must sign up to speak. You can sign up before the hearing by emailing 
nmathias@bic.nyc.gov by February 21, 2023, at 5:00 p.m. While you will be given the opportunity 
during the hearing to indicate that you would like to provide comments, we prefer that you sign up 
in advance. You can speak for up to three minutes.

Is there a deadline to submit written comments? Yes, you must submit written comments by February 
21, 2023. 

What if I need assistance to participate in the hearing? You must contact the Business Integrity 
Commission if you need a reasonable accommodation of a disability at the hearing. You must tell us if 
you need a sign language interpreter. You can tell us by mail at 100 Church Street, 20th Floor, New York, 
NY 10007. You may also tell us by telephone at 212-437-0523 or e-mail at nmathias@bic.nyc.gov. 
Advance notice is requested to allow sufficient time to arrange the accommodation. Please tell us by 
February 17, 2023.

This location has the following accessibility option(s) available: Audio only access.

Can I review the comments made on the proposed rules? You can review the comments made online 
on the proposed rules by going to the NYC rules website at http://rules.cityofnewyork.us. A few days after 
the hearing, a transcript of the hearing and copies of the written comments will be available to the public 
on BIC’s website.  

What authorizes BIC to make this rule? Sections 1043 and 2101(b) of the City Charter and Section 16-
518 of the Administrative Code authorize BIC to make these proposed rules. This proposed rule was 
included in BIC’s published regulatory agenda.

Where can I find BIC’s rules? BIC’s rules are in Title 17 of the Rules of the City of New York.

What laws govern the rulemaking process? BIC must meet the requirements of Section 1043 of the City 
Charter when creating or changing rules. This notice is made according to the requirements of Section 
1043 of the City Charter.

http://rules.cityofnewyork.us/


3

Statement of Basis and Purpose of Proposed Rule

BIC is responsible for enforcing Title 16-A of the Administrative Code (Commercial Waste Removal) and 
Title 17 of the Rules of City of New York (“RCNY”) by issuing summonses to entities that violate these 
laws.  

This proposed rule would allow BIC’s summonses to be adjudicated in OATH’s Hearings Division. This 
proposed rule would also add a trade waste penalty schedule to BIC’s rules, which will detail the different 
penalties and their amounts for violations of BIC’s trade waste laws and will be used in the adjudication 
of related BIC summonses at OATH. Finally, this proposed rule makes conforming changes to other 
sections of BIC’s rules to ensure consistency and clarity.

BIC’s authority for these rules is found in Sections 1043(a) and 2101(b) of the New York City Charter.

New material is underlined. 

[Deleted material is in brackets.]

“Shall” and “must” denote mandatory requirements and may be used interchangeably in the rules of the 
Commission, unless otherwise specified or unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

Section 1.  Section 1-01 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York is amended by adding the following 
definitions in alphabetical order:

§ 1-01 Definitions.

For the purposes of this chapter, the following terms have the following meanings:

Administrative law judge. The term “administrative law judge” means any person designated by the 
Commission, by the Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings, or by any other administrative 
tribunal of competent jurisdiction to conduct a hearing pursuant to Section 1-03 of this subchapter, 
including a hearing officer as defined in 48 RCNY § 6-01.    

Default penalty. The penalty imposed when the respondent fails to appear at the hearing in response to a 
summons or otherwise respond to a summons.

First violation penalty. The penalty imposed for the first violation of a provision of law or rule 
committed by the respondent within a two-year period.

Mitigated penalty. The reduced penalty imposed for violations that may be eligible for a lower penalty 
or zero penalty, provided that the respondent establishes and the Commission accepts that the violating 
condition has been corrected on or before the hearing date listed on the summons or the due date marked 
on a Commission order. Violations that are eligible for mitigated penalties and the corresponding penalty 
amounts are indicated on the penalty schedule.

Penalty schedule. The term “penalty schedule” means the schedule adopted by the Commission that sets 
forth the penalties to be imposed for violations of chapter 1 of title 16-A of the Code or chapter 1 of title 
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17 of the RCNY. 

Repeat violation penalty. The penalty imposed for the second and each subsequent violation committed 
by the same respondent, in relation to the same provision of law or rule, within a two-year period of a 
prior violation. For violations of subdivisions a or b of section 16-505, repeat penalties will be imposed, 
in addition to any actions taken by the Commission pursuant to 17 RCNY § 1-04.

Respondent. The term “respondent” means the person or entity against whom the charges alleged in a 
summons have been filed.

Summons. The term “summons” means a document, including a notice of violation, issued by the 
Commission to a Respondent, which specifies the charges forming the basis of an adjudicatory 
proceeding before an administrative law judge.

§ 2.  Subdivision (a) of section 1-03 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York is amended to read as 
follows:

§ 1-03 Hearings.

(a)   A hearing conducted pursuant to this chapter may be conducted by the Commission or, in the 
discretion of the Commission, by an administrative law judge employed or designated by the 
Commission, by the Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings (OATH) or by other administrative 
tribunal of competent jurisdiction. All such hearings shall be conducted following the procedures set 
forth in the rules of OATH (such as 48 RCNY §§ 1-01 et seq. or §§ 6-01 et seq.). If a hearing is 
conducted by an administrative law judge employed or designated by the Commission, by OATH, or by 
other administrative tribunal, such administrative law judge shall make recommended findings of fact 
and a recommended decision to the Commission, which shall make the final determination.

§ 3.  Subdivisions (a), (b), (d), and (f) of section 1-04 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York are 
amended, and a new subdivision (g) is added to such section, to read as follows:  

§ 1-04 Penalties.

In addition to any other penalty provided by law:

(a)   Except as otherwise provided in subdivision b or subdivision c of this section, any person who 
violates any provision of [17 RCNY §§ 2-05 or 2-06 or any provision of subchapters E, F or G of] this 
chapter or of chapter 1 of Title 16-A of the Code shall be liable for a civil penalty which shall not exceed 
ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for each such violation. Such civil penalty may be recovered in a civil 
action or pursuant to the provisions of subdivision a of 17 RCNY § 1-03.

(b) [(1)] Any person who violates subdivision a of section 16-505 [or section 16-524] of the Code 
shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished for each violation by a criminal fine of not more than ten 
thousand dollars for each day of such violation or by imprisonment not exceeding six months, or 
both; and any such person shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars 
($5,000) for each day of such violation which may be recovered in a civil action or pursuant to the 
provisions of subdivision a of 17 RCNY § 1-03; and

https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-83293#JD_T48C001_1-01
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-83293#JD_T48C001_1-01
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-33021#JD_T17C001_2-05
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-33031#JD_T17C001_2-06
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-32909#JD_T17C001_1-03
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(d)  [Specific Penalties. If there are specific penalties for violating a Rule, such penalties are shown at the 
end of the Rule and must be applied.] Specific penalties for violations of this chapter and title 16-A of 
the Code are listed in the penalty schedule in Appendix A to this subchapter.

  (f)   (1)   In addition to any other penalty prescribed in this section for the violation of subdivisions a or 
b of section 16-505 [or subdivision a of section 16-524] of the Code, or when there have been three or 
more violations of the provisions herein within a three year period, the Commission shall, after notice 
and the opportunity to be heard have been provided, be authorized: to order any person in violation of 
such provisions immediately to discontinue the operation of such activity at the premises from which 
such activity is operated; to order that any premises from which activity in violation of such provisions is 
operated shall be sealed, provided that such premises are used primarily for such activity; and to order 
that any vehicles or other devices or instrumentalities utilized in the violation of such provisions shall be 
removed, sealed, or otherwise made inoperable. An order pursuant to this paragraph shall be mailed to 
and posted at the premises from which activity in violation of such provisions occurs.
        (2)   Ten days after the posting of an order issued pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subdivision, this 
order may be enforced by any person so authorized by section 16-517 of the Code.
       (3)   Any vehicle or other device or instrumentality removed pursuant to the provisions of this 
section shall be stored in a garage, pound or other place of safety and the owner or other person lawfully 
entitled to the possession of such item may be charged with reasonable costs for removal and storage 
payable prior to the release of such item.
       (4)   A premise ordered sealed or a vehicle or other device or instrumentality removed pursuant to 
this section shall be unsealed or released upon payment of all outstanding fines and all reasonable costs 
for removal and storage and, where the underlying violation is for unlicensed or unregistered activity or 
unauthorized activity in a special trade waste district, that a license has been obtained or a business 
registered or proof satisfactory to the Commission that such premise or item will not be used in violation 
of subdivision a or b of section 16-505 [or subdivision a of section 16-524] of the Code.
       (5)   It shall be a misdemeanor for any person to remove the seal from any premises or remove the 
seal from or make operable any vehicle or other device or instrumentality sealed or otherwise made 
inoperable in accordance with an order of the Commission.
       (6)   A vehicle or other device or instrumentality removed pursuant to this section that is not 
reclaimed within ninety days of such removal by the owner or other person lawfully entitled to reclaim 
such item shall be subject to forfeiture upon notice and judicial determination in accordance with 
provisions of law. Upon forfeiture, the Commission shall, upon a public notice of at least five days, sell 
such item at public sale. The net proceeds of such sale, after deduction of the lawful expenses incurred, 
shall be paid into the general fund of the City.

(g)  Notwithstanding the penalties provided in this section, violating provisions of this chapter may be 
grounds for a refusal to issue a license or registration pursuant to section 16-509 of the Code or 
revocation or suspension of a license or registration pursuant to section 16-513 or 16-514 of the Code.

§ 4.  Section 1-05 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York is amended to read as follows:

§ 1-05 Liability for Violations.
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A business required to be licensed or registered pursuant to section 16-505 of the Code shall be liable for 
violations of any of the provisions of chapter 1 of Title 16-A of the Code [or section 2-05 or 2-06 or any 
provisions of subchapters D, E, F or G] or any provision of this chapter committed by any of its 
employees or agents.

§ 5.  Paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of section 2-05 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York is 
amended to read as follows:

§ 2-05 Notification of Arrest, Conviction, Civil and Administrative Determinations, Vehicle 
Crashes, Suspension or Revocation of Driver’s License, Traffic Violation, or Material Change in 
Information; Addition of New Principal or Employee.

 (a)(2)   An applicant for a license or a licensee must notify the Commission within ten (10) business 
days of any determination by any Federal, State, or Local governmental agency or authority against such 
licensee[, registrant] or applicant, including but not limited to any judgment, decree, order, finding by or 
settlement agreement with such governmental agency or authority.

§ 6.  Section 5-13 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York is amended, by deleting the table 
following such section, to read as follows:

§ 5-13 Heavy Duty Trade Waste Vehicle Decal Requirement for Licensees.

(a)   Every licensee that owns or operates a heavy duty trade waste hauling vehicle that has a pre-2007 
engine and utilizes “best available retrofit technology” or “BART” as defined in § 24-163.11(a) of the 
Administrative Code shall notify the New York City Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) of 
the best available retrofit technology installation by completing a Trade Waste Compliance Reporting 
form. If DEP approves the best available retrofit technology, DEP will issue a decal to the licensee for 
each vehicle that has a pre-2007 engine and utilizes BART.

(b)   A valid DEP decal must at all times be affixed to a visible part of the driver’s or passenger’s side 
door of the vehicle cab.
 
[Code / 
Rule 
Section]

[Description] [Penalty]

[§ 5-13] [Failure to have 
proper decal 
displayed.]

[Maximum penalty of $200.]

[Licensees must obtain a decal from the Department of 
Environmental Protection (DEP) and affix it to the vehicle 
within two weeks of receiving the summons in order to mitigate 
the penalty to zero.]

§ 7.  Subdivisions (a) and (b) of Section 7-03 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York are amended 
to read as follows: 

https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCadmin/0-0-0-43857#JD_24-163.11
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-33322#JD_T17C001_5-13
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§ 7-03 Vehicle Specifications and Inspections.

(a) Upon issuance of a registration, the Commission shall issue to a registrant who removes trade waste 
generated in the course of operation of his or her business and to a registrant exempt from the licensing 
requirements of this chapter two (2) license plates for each vehicle that will transport trade waste, pursuant 
to such registration and for which a fee has been paid to the Commission, pursuant to 17 RCNY § 2-07. 
Beginning on January 1, 2020, the Commission will not issue license plates for any vehicle that does not 
comply with the requirements set forth in § 24-163.11(b) of the Administrative Code. A registrant shall 
not permit a vehicle to be used in the course of collecting, removing, or disposing of waste that has not 
been identified and covered by the registration and for which a fee has not been paid. A license plate issued 
by the Commission for such a covered and identified vehicle must not be transferred to any other vehicle. 
Upon the sale or dissolution of the business of a registrant, or upon the suspension, revocation, or 
expiration of a Commission-issued registration, such plates must be immediately surrendered to the 
Commission. All license plates issued by the Commission are the property of the Commission, and the 
Commission reserves the right to reclaim such plates at any time. Notwithstanding any other provision of 
this chapter, the penalty for violation of this [section] subdivision shall not exceed five thousand dollars 
($5,000) for each such violation.

(b) Each vehicle must have the name and business address of the registrant lettered legibly in letters and 
figures not less than eight (8) inches in height, in a color that contrasts with the color of the vehicle, on 
each side of the vehicle body or upon each door of the vehicle cab, in a manner prescribed by the 
Commission, at all times. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the penalty for violation of 
this subdivision shall not exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each such violation.

§ 8.  Section 7-07 of title 17 of the rules of the city of New York is amended, by deleting the table 
following such section, to read as follows:

§ 7-07 Heavy Duty Trade Waste Vehicle Decal Requirement for Registrants.

(a)   Every registrant that owns or operates a heavy duty trade waste hauling vehicle that has a pre-2007 
engine and utilizes “best available retrofit technology” or “BART” as defined in § 24-163.11(a) of the 
Administrative Code shall notify the New York City Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) of 
the best available retrofit technology installation by completing a Trade Waste Compliance Reporting 
form. If DEP approves the best available retrofit technology, DEP will issue a decal to the registrant for 
each vehicle that has a pre-2007 engine and utilizes BART.

(b)   A valid DEP decal must at all times be affixed to a visible part of the driver’s or passenger’s side 
door of the vehicle cab.
 
[Code / 
Rule 
Section]

[Description] [Penalty]

https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCadmin/0-0-0-43857#JD_24-163.11
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[§ 7-07] [Failure to have 
proper decal 
displayed.]

[Maximum penalty of $200.]

[Registrants must obtain a decal from the Department of 
Environmental Protection (DEP) and affix it to the vehicle within 
two weeks of receiving the summons to comply with the Rule in 
order to mitigate the penalty to zero.]

 

§ 9. Chapter 1 of title 17 is amended to add an Appendix A at the end of Subchapter A to read as follows:

https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCrules/0-0-0-33493#JD_T17C001_7-07
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APPENDIX A

TITLE 16-A CHAPTER 1 ADMINISTRATIVE CODE VIOLATIONS

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

§ 16-505(a)

Removed trade waste 
without license 

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 $1,500 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons)

$2,500 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing date 
on Summons)

$5,000

§ 16-505(a)

Removed trade waste 
without exemption from 
licensing requirements

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 $1,500 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons)

$2,500 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing date 
on Summons)

$5,000

§ 16-505(b)

Removed trade waste 
without registration 

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $1,000 $250 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons)

$500 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing date 
on Summons)

$1,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

§ 16-505(b)

Operated as a trade waste 
broker without registration

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 $250 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons)

$500 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing date 
on Summons)

$1,000

§ 16-505(c)

Operated as a labor union or 
organization without 
registration

$10,000 $10,000 $0 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons) 

$0 

(if application 
submitted on or 
before hearing date 
on Summons)

$10,000

§ 16-505(e) No transfer of License or 
Registration 

Licensee 

$7,500 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-505(e)
No transfer of License or 
Registration

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$7,500 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-505(e) No transfer of License or 
Registration 

Class 1 Registrant

$750 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000



11

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

§ 16-508(a)(i) Failed to list names and 
addresses of all principals

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-508(a)(ii)

Failed to list names and job 
titles of all employees and 
prospective employees 
engaged in operation of 
trade waste business

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-520(a)

Failed to provide a sign 
with the required 
information

Licensee 

$100 per missing 
decal or sign 
(maximum 
$10,000 total 
penalty)

$300 per missing 
decal or sign 
(maximum 
$10,000 total 
penalty)

N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-520(b)
Demanded or charged 
customers greater than 
maximum rates

Licensee 

$3,500 plus 
restitution if 
applicable

$7,000 plus 
restitution if 
applicable

N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

§ 16-520(c)
Failed to maintain listed 
records for the required 
time period.

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-520(d)
Failed to comply with 
Federal, State and local 
laws and regulations

Licensee 

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-520(e)
Exceeded a trade waste 
service contract by two 
years

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-520(f)
Failed to bill customer in a 
form and manner prescribed 
by the Commission

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-520(g) Refused to provide service 
within area

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

§ 16-520(h) Failed to provide employee 
information 

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-520(i) Failed to keep adjacent area 
free from obstruction 

Licensee 

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-521(a)

Failed to present 
registration to customer 
before conducting 
evaluation or analysis 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

§ 16-521(b)

Requested or accepted 
payment for waste 
evaluation or analysis from 
a third party without 
disclosure to commercial 
establishment

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

§ 16-521(c)

Requested or accepted 
payment from trade waste 
business for brokered 
transaction  

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

§ 16-521(d) Collected fees for waste 
removal without meeting 
requirements

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

§ 16-521(e)
Failed to maintain listed 
business records

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

§ 16-526(b)

Trade waste hauling vehicle 
not equipped with side 
guards

$10,000/vehicle 
in violation (plus 
separate penalty 
of $500/vehicle 
per day for each 
day beyond 30 
days from date 
of order to 
correct) 

$10,000/vehicle 
in violation (plus 
separate penalty 
of $500/vehicle 
per day for each 
day beyond 30 
days from date 
of order to 
correct) 

$0 

(if certification of 
correction is filed 
within 30 days 
from date of order 
to correct) 

$0 

(if certification of 
correction is filed 
within 30 days from 
date of order to 
correct) 

$10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

§ 16-528(a)
Failed to disseminate and 
post workers’ rights 
information

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-528(a)

Failed to disseminate and 
post workers’ rights 
information

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

§ 16-528(a)
Failed to disseminate and 
post workers’ rights 
information

Class 1 Registrant 

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000
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TITLE 17 RCNY CHAPTER 1 VIOLATIONS

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 1-
09(a)-(y)

Committed any violation 
enumerated in 17 RCNY 
§ 1-09 (General 
Prohibitions) Violated or 
failed to comply with a 
provision of this chapter

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 1-
09(a)-(y)

Committed any violation 
enumerated in 17 RCNY 
§ 1-09 (General 
Prohibitions) Violated or 
failed to comply with a 
provision of this chapter

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 1-
09(a)-(y)

Committed any violation 
enumerated in 17 RCNY 
§ 1-09 (General 
Prohibitions) Violated or 
failed to comply with a 
provision of this chapter

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY §1-
09(a)-(y)

Committed any violation 
enumerated in 17 RCNY 
§ 1-09 (General 
Prohibitions) Violated or 
failed to comply with a 
provision of this chapter

Class 1 Registrant 

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 1-12 Failed to disclose certain 
adverse determinations by 
government agencies

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 1-12

Failed to disclose certain 
adverse determinations by 
government agencies

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2500 $5000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 1-12
Failed to disclose certain 
adverse determinations by 
government agencies

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 1-12
Failed to disclose certain 
adverse determinations by 
government agencies

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(1)

Failed to notify of arrest or 
criminal conviction of 
principal/employee

Applicant for Licensee or 
Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(2)

Failed to notify of 
determination by any 
Federal, State or local 
agency

Applicant for Licensee or 
Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(3)

Failed to notify of crash 
involving vehicle used in 
course of business

Applicant for Licensee or 
Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(4)

Failed to notify of any 
suspension or revocation of 
a driver’s license

Applicant for Licensee or 
Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000



20

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(5) 

Failed to notify of vehicle 
traffic summonses

Applicant for Licensee or 
Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(6) 

Failed to notify any other 
material change in 
information submitted

Applicant for Licensee or 
Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(7) 

Failed to notify of change 
in capital stock or 
ownership of business

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(a)(8) 

Failed to notify of proposed 
addition of a new principal

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(i)

Failed to notify of addition 
of a principal

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(i)

Failed to notify of addition 
of a principal

Applicant for Class 2 
Broker Registration or 
Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(i)

Failed to notify of addition 
of a principal

Applicant for Class 1 
Registration or Class 1 
Registrant 

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(ii)

Failed to notify of arrest or 
criminal conviction of a 
principal

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(ii)

Failed to notify of arrest or 
criminal conviction of a 
principal

Applicant for Class 2 
Broker Registration or 
Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(iii)

Failed to notify of 
determinations by any 
Federal, State or local 
agency

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(iii)

Failed to notify of 
determinations by any 
Federal, State or local 
agency

Applicant for Class 2 
Broker Registration or 
Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(iii)

Failed to notify of 
determinations by any 
Federal, State or local 
agency

Applicant for Class 1 
Registration or Class 1 
Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(iv)

Failed to notify of crash 
involving vehicle used in 
course of business

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(iv)

Failed to notify of crash 
involving vehicle used in 
course of business

Applicant for Class 1 
Registration or Class 1 
Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(v)

Failed to notify of 
suspension or revocation of 
a driver’s license

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(v)

Failed to notify of 
suspension or revocation of 
a driver’s license

Applicant for Class 1 
Registration or Class 1 
Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(vi)

Failed to notify of vehicle 
traffic summons

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(vi)

Failed to notify of vehicle 
traffic summons

Applicant for Class 1 
Registration or Class 1 
Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(vii)

Failed to notify of other 
material change in 
information submitted

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(vii)

Failed to notify of other 
material change in 
information submitted

Applicant for Class 2 
Broker Registration or 
Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(1)(vii)

Failed to notify of other 
material change in 
information submitted

Applicant for Class 1 
Registration or Class 1 
Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(2)

Failed to provide MV-104 
or any other form required 
to be filed

Applicant for Class 2 
Registration Exempt from 
License or Class 2 
Registrant Exempt from 
License

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-
05(b)(2)

Failed to provide MV-104 
or any other form required 
to be filed

Applicant for Class 1 
Registration or Class 1 
Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-05(c)
Failed to notify BIC of 
material change by labor 
union or organization

Class 3 Labor Union or 
Labor Organization

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-06

Improper transfer of license 
number

Licensee 

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 2-06

Improper transfer of 
registration number

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 2-06
Improper transfer of 
registration number

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 2-06
Improper transfer of 
registration number

Class 1 Registrant 

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 3-
02(d)

Employed a person lacking 
good character, honesty, 
and integrity

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 3-03 Failed to notify BIC of new 
employee, agent or job 
listed in Appendix A 

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 4-02(c) Failed to fully cooperate 
with independent monitor 

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-01(a)

Failed to provide sign/decal 
with the required 
information

Licensee

$100 per 
missing decal 
or sign 
(maximum 
$10,000 total 
penalty)

$300 per missing 
decal or sign 
(maximum 
$10,000 total 
penalty)

N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-01(c) Charged a fee to a business 
for a sign or decal issued by 
BIC

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
01(d)

Failed to conspicuously 
display license in place of 
business

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-02(a)

Demanded or charged 
customers greater than 
maximum rates

Licensee

$3,500 plus 
restitution if 
applicable

$7,000 plus 
restitution if 
applicable

N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
02(c)(1)

Failed to follow waste 
survey requirements

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
02(c)(3)

Submitted a false or 
misleading survey to a 
customer 

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-03(a) Failed to maintain records 
concerning business

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(b)

Failed to provide written 
receipt with the required 
information for cash 
payment

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-03(c) Paid more than $1,000 in 
cash or check payable to 
petty cash

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(d)

Failed maintain a complete 
and accurate set of books of 
account

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-03(e)
Failed to maintain annual 
financial statements in 
format prescribed by BIC

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-03(f)
Failed to file annual report 
within 6 months after end 
of fiscal year

Licensee

$2,500  $5,000 $1,000 

(if statements 
submitted on or 
before hearing 
date on summons)

$10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
03(g)

Failed to maintain 
Customer Register on 
prescribed form or 
computer format

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(g)(3)

Failed to file Customer 
Register on prescribed form 
or computer format

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 $1,000 

(if register 
submitted on or 
before hearing 
date on summons)

$10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(h)

Failed to maintain a register 
of all customer complaints

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-03(i)
Failed to maintain written 
procedures regarding 
compliance with all laws

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-03(j)
Failed to maintain all 
reports related to a crash

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(k)

Failed to maintain 
determinations by any 
governmental agency or 
authority

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-03(l)

Failed to maintain accurate 
time records for those who 
handle trade waste  

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(m)

Failed to maintain copies of 
inspection and certification 
of repair forms

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
03(n)

Failed to maintain copies of 
all daily inspection reports

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(o)

Failed to maintain worker 
training records

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(p)

Failed to maintain records 
for 5 years unless otherwise 
directed

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
03(q)

Failed to make records 
available for inspection

Licensee

$3,500  $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-04

Failed to comply with 
Federal, State, and local 
laws and regulations

Licensee

$3,500  $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-05(a)

Failed to meet requirements 
for customer contracts

Licensee

 $3,500  $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
05(b)

Failed to meet requirements 
for subcontracting, 
assigning, mergers

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
05(d)

Failed to follow written 
contract requirements 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-05(e)

Failed to meet requirements 
for when customers don’t 
sign a contract 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-05(f)

Contract improperly 
provides that licensee is 
exempt from liability

Licensee

 $1,500  $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
05(g)

Failed to provide a written 
bill, statement, or invoice 
every month

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
06(b)

Failed to comply with any 
final order to serve 
customer

Licensee

$7,500 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-07
Failed to provide employee 
information within 10 
business days 

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(a) Failed to maintain areas 
with vehicles and 
machinery in safe and clean 
condition 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(b)

Failed to load vehicles in a 
way that prevents dust and 
spilling 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(c)
Failed to unload materials 
only where legally 
permitted 

Licensee

$7,500 $10,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
08(d)

Loaded or filled vehicle 
over capacity

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(e)

Failed to prevent 
unnecessary noise

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(f)

Failed to load open top 
vehicles from front to rear 
and secure load

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(g)

Sorted and transferred 
waste while vehicle is on 
the streets

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
08(h)

Failed to carry waste only 
within the vehicle body or 
containers

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(i)

Failed to empty vehicles 
and containers of loose 
materials

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(j) 

Failed to maintain good 
appearance of vehicles and 
containers 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(k)

Dissected dead animals 
outside permitted premises

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-08(l)

Failed to close loading 
hoppers or closures except 
during loading

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(m)

Failed to maintain 
cleanliness of vehicles and 
control odors and pests

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(n)

Failed to provide off-street 
parking for vehicles 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(o)

Failed to keep garage doors 
closed and outdoor 
perimeter fenced

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
08(p)

Failed to comply with 
traffic laws

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(q)

Failed to follow 
requirements for waste 
receptables and containers

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(r)

Failed to meet requirements 
for organic waste 
containers 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-08(s)
Failed to return receptable 
to area where waste was 
removed

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000



42

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-08(t)

Failed to keep area next to 
waste removal site free 
from debris 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(u)

Failed to comply with 
federal hours of service 
requirement

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
08(v) 

Engaged in pattern of 
unsafe practices 

Licensee

$2,500 $5000

(if two or more 
violations in two-
year period)

$10,000 

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period)

N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-09
Held membership or 
position in prohibited trade 
associations 

Licensee

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-10(a)

Failed to affix or 
improperly transferred BIC 
license plates 

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
10(b)

Failed to display business 
name and address on 
vehicle

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-10(c)
Failed to meet convex 
mirror requirement

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 $500 $1000 $10,000



44

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
10(d)

Obstructed operator’s 
vision through windshield 
or windows 

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-10(e)

Operated vehicle not in safe 
operating condition

Licensee

$5,000 $10,000 $1,000

(if condition is 
corrected)

$5,000

(if condition is 
corrected)

$10,000

17 RCNY § 5-10(f) 

Failed to inspect vehicles 
and prepare a daily 
inspection report

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000



45

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
10(h) 

Failed to comply with side 
guard requirements

Licensee

$10,000/vehicl
e in violation 
(plus separate 
penalty of 
$500/vehicle 
per day for 
each day 
beyond 30 days 
from date of 
order to 
correct)

$10,000/vehicle 
in violation (plus 
separate penalty 
of $500/vehicle 
per day for each 
day beyond 30 
days from date of 
order to correct)

$0 

(if certification of 
correction is filed 
within 30 days 
from date of order 
to correct)

$0 

(if certification of 
correction is filed 
within 30 days from 
date of order to 
correct)

$10,000 

17 RCNY § 5-11(a)

Failed to display volume 
capacity on container

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
11(b)

Failed to display name and 
license/registration number 
on container

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000



46

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-11(c)

Failed to label container to 
indicate that only organic 
waste may be placed in 
container

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
11(d)

Failed to report containers 
missing volume capacity 
within 3 days 

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-11(e)
Failed to report organic 
waste containers missing 
label within 3 days

Licensee

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
12(b)

Failed to meet requirements 
for recyclables

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000



47

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-
12(c)(1)

Failed to follow restrictions 
for source-separated waste  

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
12(c)(2)

Commingled designated 
recyclable materials when 
ineligible 

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
12(c)(3)

Failed to follow 
requirements for source-
separated organic waste

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
12(d)

Failed to follow customer 
contract and bill 
requirements 

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000



48

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 5-13

Failed to meet heavy duty 
trade waste vehicle decal 
requirements 

Licensee

$200 $200 $0 

(if DEP decal is 
affixed on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons) 

$0 

(if DEP decal affixed 
on or before hearing 
date on Summons) 

$200

17 RCNY § 5-14(a) 

Failed to provide annual 
safety training 

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 5-
14(b) 

Driver failed to complete a 
defensive driving course 
every 3 years

Licensee

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 6-01

Failed to present 
registration to customer 
before conducting duties 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000



49

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 6-02(a)

Failed to give disclosure 
prior to collecting fees for 
waste analysis 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-
02(b) 

Collected fees from trade 
waste business for brokered 
matter  

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-02(c) 
Failed to provide statement 
that broker examined rate 
schedules 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250  $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-03(a)

Collected fees for waste 
removal without meeting 
requirements

Class 2 Broker Registrant

 $500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000



50

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 6-
03(b)

Failed to submit contracts 
for collection of waste 
removal fees

Class 2 Broker Registrant

  $350   $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-03(c)
Contract for brokering 
services exceeded 2 years 
in duration

Class 2 Broker Registrant

 $750  $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-
04(b)

Failed to maintain listed 
business records

Class 2 Broker Registrant

 $350  $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-04(c)

Failed to provide each 
payor with a written receipt 
for cash payments

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250  $500 N/A N/A $1,000



51

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 6-
04(d)

Paid more than $1,000 in 
cash or check payable to 
petty cash

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-04(e)

Failed to maintain complete 
books of account reflecting 
operations  

Class 2 Broker Registrant

 $350  $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-04(f)
Failed to maintain annual 
financial statement in 
correct format 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-
04(g)

Failed to file annual report 
within 6 months after end 
of fiscal year

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000



52

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 6-
04(h)

Failed to submit amended 
annual report if revisions 
required by BIC 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-04(i)
Failed to make financial 
statements available for 
audit

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-04(j)

Failed to maintain and file a 
complete Customer 
Register  

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-
04(k)

Failed to maintain a register 
of all complaints 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000



53

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 6-04(l)

Failed to maintain records 
for 5 years unless directed 
otherwise 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-
04(m)

Failed to make records 
available for inspection and 
audit by BIC 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-05
Failed to comply with 
Federal, State, and local 
laws and regulations

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-06(a)

Arranged waste removal by 
unlicensed/unregistered 
haulers 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$500 $1,000 N/A N/A $1,000



54

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 6-
06(b)

Failed to follow 
requirements for customer 
contracts and service 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-06(c)

Failed to follow written 
contract requirements 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-
06(d)

Failed to meet requirements 
for when customers don’t 
sign a contract

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-06(e)
Contract improperly 
provides that broker is 
exempt from liability

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000



55

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 6-06(f)

Failed to follow 
requirements for bills, 
statements and invoices 

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 6-07
Failed to provide employee 
information in registration 
application

Class 2 Broker Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-01

Failed to conspicuously 
display registration in place 
of business

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-01 Failed to conspicuously 
display registration in place 
of business

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000



56

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-02

Failed to comply with 
Federal, State and local 
laws and regulations

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-02

Failed to comply with 
Federal, State and local 
laws and regulations

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-03(a)

Failed to affix or 
improperly transferred BIC 
license plates 

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $5,000

17 RCNY § 7-03(a)
Failed to affix or 
improperly transferred BIC 
license plates 

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-
03(b)

Failed to display business 
name and address on 
vehicle

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $5,000



57

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

17 RCNY § 7-
03(b)

Failed to display business 
name and address on 
vehicle

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-03(c)

Failed to meet convex 
mirror requirement

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 $500 $1000 $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-03(c)

Failed to meet convex 
mirror requirement

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750

(if two or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

$1000 

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period)

$100 $250 $1000



58

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
03(d)

Obstructed operator’s 
vision through windshield 
or windows 

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
03(d)

Obstructed operator’s 
vision through windshield 
or windows

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750

(if two or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

$1000

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-03(e)

Operated vehicle not in safe 
operating condition

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$5,000 $10,000 $1,000 $5,000 $10,000



59

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-03(e)

Operated vehicle not in safe 
operating condition

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $1,000 $250 $500 $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-03(f)

Failed to inspect vehicles 
and prepare a daily 
inspection report

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-03(f)

Failed to inspect vehicles 
and prepare a daily 
inspection report

Class 1 Registrant 

$500 $750

(if two or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

$1000

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period)

N/A N/A $1,000



60

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
03(h)

Failed to comply with side 
guard requirements

Class 1 Registrant and

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$10,000/vehicl
e in violation 
(plus separate 
penalty of 
$500/vehicle 
per day for 
each day 
beyond 30 days 
from date of 
order to 
correct)

$10,000/vehicle 
in violation (plus 
separate penalty 
of $500/vehicle 
per day for each 
day beyond 30 
days from date of 
order to correct)

$0 

(if certification of 
correction is filed 
within 30 days 
from date of order 
to correct)

$0 

(if certification of 
correction is filed 
within 30 days from 
date of order to 
correct)

$10,000

17 RCNY § 7-04(a)

Failed to meet requirements 
for recyclables

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-04(a)

Failed to meet requirements 
for recyclables

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000



61

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
04(b)

Failed to provide source-
separation of recyclable 
materials

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
04(b)

Failed to provide source-
separation of recyclable 
materials

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-04(c)

Failed to comply with 
requirements under 17 
RCNY §5-12(a)-(c)

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-04(c)

Failed to comply with 
requirements under 17 
RCNY §5-12(a)-(c)

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000



62

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
04(d)

Failed to follow written 
agreement rules for organic 
waste delivery

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
04(d)

Failed to follow written 
agreement rules for organic 
waste delivery

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-04(e)

Failed to submit quarterly 
reports on listed due dates

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-04(e) Failed to submit quarterly 
reports on listed due dates

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000



63

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-05

Failed to comply with 17 
RCNY § 5-11 and 
§ 5-08(a)-(q) and (u)-(v).

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

Apply penalty 
for violation of 
17 RCNY § 5-
11 and 
§§ 5-08(a)-(q) 
and (u)-(v), as 
applicable.

Apply penalty for 
violation of 17 
RCNY § 5-11 
and §§ 5-08(a)-
(q) and (u)-(v), as 
applicable.

N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-05
Failed to comply with 17 
RCNY § 5-11 and § 5-
08(a)-(q)

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-05

Failed to comply with 17 
RCNY § 5-08(u)

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750

(if two or more 
violations in two-
year period)

$1,000

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period)

N/A N/A $1,000



64

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-05

Failed to comply with 17 
RCNY § 5-08(v)

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750

(if two or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

$1,000

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-06(a)

Failed to maintain written 
procedures regarding 
compliance with all laws

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-06(a)

Failed to maintain written 
procedures regarding 
compliance with all laws

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000



65

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
06(b)

Failed to maintain all 
reports related to a crash

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$3,500 $7,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
06(b)

Failed to maintain all 
reports related to a crash

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-06(c)

Failed to maintain 
determinations by any 
governmental agency or 
authority

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-06(c)

Failed to maintain 
determinations by any 
governmental agency or 
authority

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $700 N/A N/A $1,000



66

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
06(d)

Failed to maintain accurate 
time records for those who 
handle trade waste  

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
06(d)

Failed to maintain accurate 
time records for those who 
handle trade waste  

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750

(if two or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

$1,000

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-06(e)

Failed to maintain copies of 
inspection and certification 
of repair forms

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000



67

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-06(e)

Failed to maintain copies of 
inspection and certification 
of repair forms

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750 

(if two violations 
in two-year 
period) 

$1,000 

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-06(f)

Failed to maintain copies of 
all daily inspection reports

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000



68

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-06(f)

Failed to maintain copies of 
all daily inspection reports

Class 1 Registrant

$350 $750 

(if two violations 
in two-year 
period)

$1,000 

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-
06(g)

Failed to maintain worker 
training records

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
06(g)

Failed to maintain worker 
training records

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000



69

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
06(h)

Failed to maintain records 
for 5 years unless otherwise 
directed

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
06(h)

Failed to maintain records 
for 5 years unless otherwise 
directed

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 7-07

Failed to meet heavy duty 
trade waste vehicle decal 
requirements 

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$200 $200 $0 

(if DEP decal is 
affixed on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons) 

$0 

(if DEP decal is 
affixed on or before 
hearing date on 
Summons) 

$200



70

Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-07

Failed to meet heavy duty 
trade waste vehicle decal 
requirements 

Class 1 Registrant

$200 $200 $0 

(if DEP decal 
affixed on or 
before hearing 
date on Summons) 

$0 

(if DEP decal affixed 
on or before hearing 
date on Summons) 

$200

17 RCNY § 7-08(a)

Failed to provide annual 
safety training 

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-08(a)

Failed to provide annual 
safety training 

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750 

(if two violations 
in two-year 
period) 

$1,000 

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

N/A N/A $1,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 7-
08(b)

Driver failed to complete a 
defensive driving course 
every 3 years

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$2,500 $5,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 7-
08(b)

Driver failed to complete a 
defensive driving course 
every 3 years

Class 1 Registrant

$500 $750 

(if two violations 
in two-year 
period)

$1,000 

(if three or more 
violations in two-
year period) 

N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 8-01(a)
Failed to post BIC notice 
containing workers’ rights 
information  

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 8-01(a)

Failed to post BIC notice 
containing workers’ rights 
information  

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 8-01(a)
Failed to post BIC notice 
containing workers’ rights 
information  

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 8-
01(b)

Failed to post BIC notice in 
each office, garage or lot

Licensee

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 8-
01(b)

Failed to post BIC notice in 
each office, garage or lot

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License 

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000
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Section Description 1st Violation 
Penalty

Repeat Penalty Mitigated 
Penalty (1st 
Violation)

Mitigated Penalty 
(Repeat Violation)

Default 
Penalty

17 RCNY § 8-
01(b)

Failed to post BIC notice in 
each office, garage or lot

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000

17 RCNY § 8-01(c)

Failed to distribute BIC 
notice 

Licensee 

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 8-01(c)

Failed to distribute BIC 
notice 

Class 2 Registrant Exempt 
from License 

$1,500 $3,000 N/A N/A $10,000

17 RCNY § 8-01(c) Failed to distribute BIC 
notice 

Class 1 Registrant

$250 $500 N/A N/A $1,000



NEW YORK CITY LAW DEPARTMENT
DIVISION OF LEGAL COUNSEL

100 CHURCH STREET
NEW YORK, NY 10007

212-356-4028

CERTIFICATION PURSUANT TO

CHARTER §1043(d)

RULE TITLE: Amendment of Penalties and Procedures for Adjudication of Certain BIC 
Violations

REFERENCE NUMBER: 2022 RG 071

RULEMAKING AGENCY: Business Integrity Commission

I certify that this office has reviewed the above-referenced proposed rule as 
required by section 1043(d) of the New York City Charter, and that the above-referenced proposed 
rule:

(i) is drafted so as to accomplish the purpose of the authorizing provisions of 
law;

(ii) is not in conflict with other applicable rules;

(iii) to the extent practicable and appropriate, is narrowly drawn to achieve its 
stated purpose; and

(iv) to the extent practicable and appropriate, contains a statement of basis and 
purpose that provides a clear explanation of the rule and the requirements 
imposed by the rule.

/s/ STEVEN GOULDEN Date: January 5, 2023

Acting Corporation Counsel
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NEW YORK CITY MAYOR’S OFFICE OF OPERATIONS
253 BROADWAY, 10th FLOOR

NEW YORK, NY 10007
212-788-1400

 

CERTIFICATION / ANALYSIS 

PURSUANT TO CHARTER SECTION 1043(d)

RULE TITLE: Amendment of Penalties and Procedures for Adjudication of Certain BIC 
Violations

REFERENCE NUMBER: BIC-22

RULEMAKING AGENCY: Business Integrity Commission

I certify that this office has analyzed the proposed rule referenced above as required by 
Section 1043(d) of the New York City Charter, and that the proposed rule referenced above:

(i) Is understandable and written in plain language for the discrete regulated 
community or communities;

(ii) Minimizes compliance costs for the discrete regulated community or 
communities consistent with achieving the stated purpose of the rule; and

(iii)      There is no cure period outlined in the proposed rules. This proposed rule 
establishes a penalty schedule; certain violations may have mitigated penalties, as 
set forth in the penalty schedule.

     /s/ Francisco X. Navarro              January 5, 2023

   Mayor’s Office of Operations        Date


