
NEW YORK CITY’S 
PAID SICK LEAVE LAW 
ANSWERS TO 
EMPLOYER QUESTIONS 



TIP You must pay 
for sick leave 

no later than the next 
regular payroll period 
after sick leave was 
used by the employee, 
unless you asked for 
and have not received 
required documentation.

THE DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS (DCA) 
ENFORCES NYC’S PAID SICK LEAVE LAW.
Under the Law:

•	 If you are a for-profit or nonprofit employer with five or more employees, 
you must provide paid sick leave. If you have four or fewer employees, you 
must also provide sick leave, but you are not required to pay for sick leave. 

•	You must give each employee the required Notice of Employee Rights in English 
and, if available on the DCA website, the employee’s primary language.

Since the Law took effect on April 1, 2014, DCA has worked with businesses 
to address questions and mediate complaints. This guide provides answers to 
employers’ most frequently asked questions to help you better understand the Law.

WHICH OF MY EMPLOYEES ARE COVERED BY 
THE PAID SICK LEAVE LAW?
Most employees who work in New York City are covered by the Paid Sick 
Leave Law. Even if your business is located outside of New York City, 
you must provide sick leave to employees who work more than 80 hours 
per calendar year in New York City. The Law covers full-time, part-time, 
temporary, per diem, transitional jobs program, and undocumented workers. 
It also covers workers who live outside of New York City but work in New 
York City. Making deliveries or pickups in New York City is considered to be 
performing work in New York City. 

If you aren’t sure about employees covered by a collective bargaining 
agreement, contact the union. Also visit nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave for 
additional FAQs, which cover collective bargaining agreements.

Q.

A.



TIP If you employ a 
domestic worker  

who has worked for you for  
more than one year, you 
must provide paid sick leave. 
Domestic workers get up to two 
days of paid sick leave every 
year. This is in addition to the 
up to three days of paid rest to 
which they are entitled under 
New York State Labor Law.

HOW MUCH SICK LEAVE DO I HAVE TO GIVE 
MY EMPLOYEES EVERY YEAR?
You must provide employees with up to 40 hours of sick leave every year. 
Employees must earn, or accrue, at least one hour of sick leave for every  
30 hours worked, up to 40 hours of sick leave per year. The rate of accrual 
and the amount of sick leave are the same for all employees, including  
full-time and part-time employees. Unused sick leave of up to 40 hours  
can be carried over to the next calendar year. Front-loading sick leave  
can free you from keeping track of your employees’ sick leave accruals.  
If you choose this route, make sure at least 40 hours are available for each 
employee on the first day of each calendar year.

Q.

A.

MY EMPLOYEE TOOK TIME OFF BECAUSE  
S/HE WAS SICK BUT DOESN’T HAVE A 
DOCTOR’S NOTE. MAY I DEMAND ONE?
You cannot require the employee to provide documentation from a licensed 
health care provider until s/he uses more than three consecutive workdays 
as sick leave. If you require documentation from a health care provider as 
permitted by Law, you may not require the documentation to specify the 
nature of the employee’s illness or condition. The employee has a minimum 
of seven days after returning to work to produce documentation.

You can require the employee to give you a signed statement that the 
absence was for an authorized purpose under the Law. Visit 
nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave for a model form that you can provide employees.

Q.

A.



HOW MUCH NOTICE MAY I DEMAND IF AN 
EMPLOYEE NEEDS TO TAKE A SICK DAY? 
MAY I EVER DENY A REQUEST?
If an employee knows in advance s/he will need to take sick leave, you 
can require up to seven days advance notice, as long as you have written 
policies that you provide to your employees that include this requirement. 
If the need for sick leave is unforeseeable, you can require an employee 
to give notice as soon as it’s reasonably possible. Again, you must have 
written sick leave policies that include this requirement. If an employee does 
not comply with written notice policies that you distributed, you can deny 
use of sick leave as long as the notice required under the circumstances 
was reasonable.

Guidance on sick leave policies and also model forms are available  
at nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave.

Q.

A.

TIP You may not require an employee to disclose any personal 
health information. You must keep health information 

about an employee or an employee’s family member obtained solely 
because of this Law confidential unless the employee permits 
disclosure or disclosure is required by law.



TIP DCA has 
developed 

an easy-to-use tool to 
help you keep track of 
employees’ hours worked 
and sick leave used and 
automatically calculate 
accruals and end-of-the-
year carryover of sick 
leave. Download the Sick 
Leave Timekeeping Tool 
from our website. 

I ALREADY PROVIDE VACATION DAYS. 
DOESN’T THAT COUNT?
To comply with the Paid Sick Leave Law, if you provide your employees 
vacation or personal leave, you do not need to provide additional time for 
sick leave, as long as your policies meet the Law’s minimum requirements 
and do not impose any additional restrictions on the use of sick leave. 
This means that your employees’ existing leave is earned at the same 
rate and can be used for the same authorized reasons, including for the 
care and treatment of all family members defined under the Law.

If an employee has already accrued leave under a leave policy that  
was in existence prior to the effective date of the Paid Sick Leave Law, 
those accruals may still be subject to the requirements of New York  
State Labor Law § 198-c regarding benefits and wage supplements.  
For further guidance regarding leave policies under the New York State 
Labor Law, contact the New York State Department of Labor, Division  
of Labor Standards.

Q.

A.

CAN I DISCIPLINE AN EMPLOYEE WHO MISUSES 
SICK LEAVE?
Yes, but only if an employee uses sick leave for a purpose other than those 
set forth in the Law.

Q.

A.



TIP Even if your leave policies meet the requirements of the 
Paid Sick Leave Law, you still have to provide employees 

with the required Notice of Employee Rights. You can provide 
the notice to each employee personally, including in new hire 
materials, or by regular mail or email. Saving signed copies of the 
notice or email receipts is a good way to document that you gave 
employees the required notice. 



WHAT ARE POSSIBLE SIGNS OF MISUSE OF 
SICK LEAVE?
Indications of using sick leave for purposes other than those described in 
the Law include, but are not limited to:

•	Repeated use of unscheduled sick leave on or adjacent to weekends, 
regularly scheduled days off, holidays, vacation, or payday

•	Taking leave on days when other leave has been denied

•	A pattern of taking leave on days when the employee is scheduled to 
work a shift or perform duties perceived as undesirable

Evidence that an employee engaged in an activity that is not consistent 
with the employee being sick or with the employee using sick leave for a 
preventive medical appointment may also indicate misuse of sick leave.

RETALIATION AND INTERFERENCE ARE AGAINST 
THE LAW.
It is illegal to interfere with investigations or to retaliate against employees who 
exercise their rights under the Paid Sick Leave Law. If DCA determines that you 
retaliated against an employee, you may be responsible not only for lost wages and 
benefits to the employee and fines to DCA, but also may be required to take certain 
actions, including rehiring an employee who has been unlawfully terminated.

QUESTIONS?
You can contact DCA in the following ways:

•	Go to nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave. You can get the required Notice of 
Employee Rights and an information sheet for employers in 26 languages, 
the Paid Sick Leave Law and Rules, and learn about employer events. 

•	Visit us at 42 Broadway, 11th Floor, in Manhattan.

•	Call 311 and ask to be transferred to DCA for employer paid sick leave 
information. 

•	Email us at paidsickleave@dca.nyc.gov. For your convenience, we can 
also “live chat” with you via computer at nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox.

Q.

A.
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