
 

DO NOT DISCARD – OFFER OF SETTLEMENT BELOW 
 
[Date] 
 
[Business Name] 
[Business Address] 
 
 
 
Re: Record Number: 00000001 

Summons/Notice Number: 00000001 
 
The Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) issued a violation to your business 
on [February 4, 2014]. 
 
The hearing is scheduled for [March 17, 2014] at [9:30 AM]. 
 
If you attend the hearing and are found guilty, you may be ordered to pay a fine 
up to [$500.00]. 
 
You may admit guilt and pay a reduced fine of [$250.00] instead of attending the 
hearing. By paying the reduced fine, you are admitting guilt to all of the charges 
and can no longer request a hearing or appeal on the charges. 
 
If you choose to admit guilt and pay the reduced fine rather than attend 
the hearing, use ONE of the options described on the back to submit 
payment. 
 
Please make sure to read the back of this letter for an important notice 
about payments. 
 
 

RETURN THIS PORTION WITH YOUR PAYMENT 
 
Fine (if found guilty after hearing): $500.00 
Reduced Fine:  $250.00 
Summons/Notice Number:  00000001 
Case Number: 0001-2014-ADJC 
Hearing Date: March 17, 2014 
Hearing Time: 9:30 AM 
 
 
 

Lorelei Salas  
Commissioner 
 
42 Broadway 
New York, NY 10004 
 
Dial 311 
(212-NEW-YORK) 
 
nyc.gov/consumers 
 
 

For online 
payments, 
please enter 
Case Number 
as your Record 
Number. 



 

PAYMENT OPTIONS 
 

1. Pay by mail 
Use the enclosed return envelope to send to DCA a check or money order payable to DCA for 
$250.00, along with the stub on the front. DCA must receive your payment at least 5 business 
days before the hearing date. 

 
2. Pay online 

Go to nyc.gov/consumers and click “Pay Fines and Fees” under Quick Tools For Businesses for 
the directions for paying online by credit card. Accepted cards include Visa, MasterCard, 
American Express, and Discover Card. Credit card payments are subject to a 2.49% convenience 
fee. You must make your payment before the hearing date.  

 
3. Pay in person 

Visit the following location in Lower Manhattan to pay your fine in person: 
 

42 Broadway, 5th Floor, New York, NY 10004 (DCA Collections) 
Hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Wednesday 
only. You can pay by credit card, money order, check only. Credit card payments are subject to a 
2.49% convenience fee. You cannot use a credit card to make an installment payment to DCA. 
You can use a credit card to pay a balance in full. 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT PAYMENTS 
 
If you pay with a check that bounces or your credit card transaction is denied or reversed, DCA will 
charge a $20 fee for a bounced check and may charge a $100 late fee.  
 
APPLYING FOR OR RENEWING A DCA LICENSE   
 
You can apply for or renew a DCA license online at nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox or in person at: 
 

DCA Licensing Center 
42 Broadway, New York, NY 10004 
Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Wednesday only. 
 
NYC Small Business Support Center 
90-27 Sutphin Boulevard, 4th Floor, Jamaica, NY 11435 
Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

 


