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Domestic or Household Employees: 
Statement of Employee Rights and  
Employer Responsibilities 
 
This handout describes some of the basic rights of nannies, house cleaners, and other household 
employees employed directly by an individual household only and some responsibilities that their 
employers must fulfill under New York City, New York State, and federal law. Please note that this 
document does not list every employee right or employer responsibility. For more information about 
a specific right or responsibility, you should contact the relevant agency listed on the back. 
 
No Retaliation: All employees have rights, regardless of immigration status. Employers cannot 
punish, penalize, retaliate, or take any action against employees that might stop or deter them from 
exercising their rights under City, state, and federal law.  
 
Minimum Wage: All employees are entitled to be paid at least the minimum wage. Information 
about the minimum wage is available at nyc.gov/dca and labor.ny.gov or call 1-888-4-NYSDOL  
(1-888-469-7365). 
 
Overtime: Employees who work overtime are entitled to be paid at one and one-half times the 
regular rate of pay. An employee who does not live in the employer’s home is entitled to this 
overtime rate after working 40 hours per week. An employee who lives in the employer’s home is 
entitled to this overtime rate after working 44 hours per week. 
 
Timely Payment: Employees must be paid their full salary on a weekly basis, and within seven 
calendar days of the concluding workweek. Employers must also provide a statement that shows 
the employee’s gross wages, deductions, and net wages. 
 
Time Off: Employees are entitled to at least one day of rest (24 consecutive hours) every week and 
at least three days of paid rest after one year of work for the same employer. 
 
Paid Safe and Sick Leave: Nannies, house cleaners, and other employees employed directly by 
an individual household only and who have worked for the same employer for at least one year and 
who work more than 80 hours a calendar year in New York City are entitled to two days of paid safe 
and sick leave for the care and treatment of themselves or a family member and to seek assistance 
or take other safety measures if the employee or a family member may be the victim of any act or 
threat of domestic violence or unwanted sexual contact, stalking, or human trafficking. Paid Safe 
and Sick Leave is in addition to the three days of paid rest required under New York State Labor 
Law.  
 
Meals and Lodging: There are minimum standards for meals and lodging which, in part, provide 
that employees who work a six-hour shift are entitled to a meal break of at least 30 minutes during 
the course of the shift.  
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Notice: Employers must notify employees at the time of hiring of the rate of pay and regular 
payday. Employers must give employees the required Notice of Employee Rights created by the 
Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA). The notice outlines employees’ minimum rights under New 
York City’s Paid Safe and Sick Leave Law. Additionally, employers must notify employees in writing 
of the employer’s policy on safe and sick leave, vacation, personal leave, holidays, and hours of 
work. Employers must also notify employees in writing of the date of termination from employment 
and the date of cancellation of employee benefits, not more than five working days after the date of 
termination from employment.  
 
Record Keeping: Employers must maintain accurate records for three years, showing the hours 
worked; the rate of pay; the deductions taken from wages; and the name, address, and date of birth 
of every employee.  
 
Social Security: Social Security and Medicare taxes must be paid for all employees earning more 
than $1,400 annually. Employees must pay half of the amount due, or 7.65% of the gross wages, 
which is to be deducted from wages earned. Additionally, employers must pay half of the amount 
due, or 7.65% of the gross wages, which is to be paid from the employer’s own funds. Employers 
must obtain an employer i.d. number from the Social Security Administration and must keep an 
accurate accounting of tax deductions.   
 
Income Taxes: Employers are not required to withhold income taxes from an employee’s wages 
unless the employee asks the employer to do so in writing and both parties agree.  
 
Workers’ Compensation: Employers must buy workers’ compensation coverage for employees 
who work more than 40 hours per week. Workers’ Compensation provides compensation for 
injuries or death that occur during the course of employment. Employers cannot deduct the cost of 
these payments from the employee’s salary. 
 
Disability Insurance: Employees who work at least 40 hours per week and are injured or become 
sick or pregnant outside of the workplace and miss more than seven days of work as a result are 
entitled to disability benefits.  
 
Unemployment Insurance: Employees who earn more than $500 in a quarter of a calendar year 
are covered by unemployment insurance if they lose their jobs. Employers must make quarterly 
unemployment insurance payments following a formula set by the New York State Department of 
Taxation and Finance. Employers cannot deduct the cost of these payments from the employee’s 
salary.  
 
If you have questions about these rights or responsibilities and how they apply to you, contact the 
following government agencies: 
 

U.S. Department of Labor: 212-264-8185 
U.S. Social Security Administration: 212-264-2500 
Internal Revenue Service: 1-800-829-1040 
New York State Department of Labor: 1-888-52-LABOR (1-888-525-2267) 
New York State Workers’ Compensation Board: 718-802-6933 
New York City Department of Consumer Affairs:  
Call 3-1-1 (212-NEW-YORK outside NYC) 
Employees can also email PSSL@dca.nyc.gov with questions about New York City’s 
Paid Safe and Sick Leave Law. 
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