

## New York City Early Intervention Program COVID-19 Case Reporting Requirements for Early Intervention Providers

Under Article 11 of the New York City (NYC) Health Code, providers of Early Intervention services operating in the five boroughs of NYC are required to report to the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (NYC Health Department) confirmed cases of COVID-19 among children, therapists and teachers in all service settings, utilizing the established reporting protocols below.

Reporting to public health authorities is allowable and appropriate under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) due to the COVID-19 declared state of emergency. FERPA generally prohibits educational agencies and institutions from disclosing student information without the prior written consent of a parent/guardian unless an exception applies. Under the "health or safety emergency" exception, agencies and institutions are authorized to disclose child information to a public health agency from child records without prior written consent in connection with an emergency if the public health agency's knowledge of the information is necessary to protect the health or safety of students or other individuals. 20 U.S.C. § 1232g(b)(1)(I); 34 C.F.R. §§ 99.31(a)(10) and 99.36.

## Group Early Intervention Providers Operating Under an Article 47 Permit (permit issued by the NYC Health Department's Bureau of Child Care)

The steps below must be followed by all Early Intervention group providers who operate group developmental services where the parent/guardian is not on-site with the child.

- Article 47-permitted providers must follow the reporting requirements established by the NYC Health Department's Bureau of Child Care for reporting a child or staff member with COVID-19 based on the established <u>protocol</u>.
- 2. Early Intervention group providers must collect the following information prior to contacting NYC Health Department's Bureau of Child Care:
  - a. Name of Early Intervention group service provider (be sure to identify that the agency is a NYC Early Intervention provider)
  - b. Name and contact information for point of contact at the provider
  - c. Group service provider address and phone number
  - d. For each child or staff member with COVID-19:
    - Name
    - Date of birth
    - Home address
    - Phone number (if a child, name and phone number of parent/guardian)
    - Date of last attendance at daycare
    - Date of onset of symptoms

9.22.20

- If available, obtain a doctor's note with diagnosis. If the health care provider does not disclose diagnosis but notes that the child or staff member may return to day care or work, obtain the name and phone number of the health care provider and when the child or staff member was diagnosed or tested.
- e. For each **child or staff member** who has been **in close contact** (within 6 feet for at least 10 minutes) with the person with COVID-19:
  - Name
  - Date of birth
  - Home address
  - Phone number (if a child, name and phone number of parent/guardian)
  - Date of last attendance at daycare
  - Relationship to the diagnosed person
- 3. The NYC Health Department will issue guidance to Early Intervention group providers on required next steps (such as temporary classroom, group, or center closure).
  - a. If NYC Health Department determines there are close contacts (persons within 6 feet for at least 10 minutes), those contacts will be required to quarantine for 14 days. This may also result in closure of an entire class or group.
  - b. While the investigation of a confirmed case is proceeding, the individual with COVID-19 should be appropriately isolated.
    - For children, this means that services must be delivered utilizing a teletherapy approach, if the parent/guardian consents and the child is well enough to receive services, as outlined in the NYC Health Department's Bureau of Early (BEI) Intervention Reintroduction of Group Services guidance document. The child may only return to the center following an appropriate period of home isolation.
    - For a teacher, therapist or other staff member, this means that they may not deliver in-person Early Intervention services during isolation.
  - c. A child or staff member confirmed with COVID-19 may return to the center when all the following are true:
    - It has been at least 10 days since their symptoms started (or if they never had symptoms, 10 days from the date they were tested); AND
    - They have not had a fever for the last 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing drugs; AND
    - Their overall illness has improved.
  - d. While the investigation is proceeding, Early Intervention group providers may inform families that there was a case of COVID-19 at the center, that the individual will not attend the center until the required isolation requirements have been met, and that the provider is awaiting the results of the investigation being conducted by the NYC Health Department regarding the need to temporarily close a classroom or the center.
  - e. The Early Intervention group provider should also encourage families to get tested if they have been exposed to a confirmed or possible case of COVID-19 or develop symptoms suggestive of COVID-19. Inform families:
    - Tests are available at more than 200 testing sites, many of which are free. Learn more about testing and contact tracing <a href="https://example.com/here">here</a>.

- Health + Hospitals and NYC Health Department test sites will not ask about immigration status, and the Early Intervention Program and COVID-19 testing and care are not subject to the public charge rule.
- f. After receiving guidance from the NYC Health Department on next steps, the Early Intervention group provider is required to:
  - Initiate steps to contact families and temporarily stop group services in a single classroom or the entire center if directed by the NYC Health Department.
  - Follow the steps outlined in the NYC Health Department's BEI Reintroduction of Group Services guidance document to prevent gaps in Early Intervention services.
  - Inform the BEI Provider Oversight Unit when all steps are completed and detail the actions that were taken by emailing <a href="mailto:provoversight@health.nyc.gov">provoversight@health.nyc.gov</a>.

## Group Early Intervention Providers Who Are Not Permitted by the NYC Health Department's Bureau of Child Care (such as parent-child groups and family support groups)

- 1. The Early Intervention group provider must collect all the information below before making the report (a reporting template is available by emailing provoversight@health.nyc.gov).
  - a. Name of Early Intervention group service provider
  - b. Contact information for point of contact at the provider
  - c. Group service provider address and phone number
  - d. For each child or staff member with COVID-19:
    - Name
    - Date of birth
    - Home address
    - Phone number (if a child, name and phone number of parent/guardian)
    - Date of last attendance at group
    - Date of onset of symptoms
    - If available, obtain a doctor's note with diagnosis. If the health care provider does
      not disclose diagnosis, but notes that the child or adult may return to child care
      or work, obtain the name and phone number of the health care provider and
      when the child or adult was diagnosed or tested.
  - e. For each **child or staff member** who has been **in close contact** (within 6 feet for at least 10 minutes) with the person with COVID-19:
    - Name
    - Date of birth
    - Home address
    - Phone number (if a child, name and phone number of parent/guardian)
    - Date of last attendance at child care
    - Relationship to the diagnosed person
- 2. Send this information and documentation to the BEI Provider Oversight Unit via the New York State (NYS) Department of Health Commerce System, to both Sharon Gooding at

- HINSAG03 and Amy Fishman at HINAXF23. BEI will provide the necessary information to an NYC Department of Health Case Investigator.
- 3. The NYC Health Department will give guidance on next steps (such as temporary group or center closure).
  - a. If the NYC Health Department determines there are close contacts, those contacts will be required to quarantine for 14 days. This may also result in closure of an entire class or group.
  - b. While the investigation of a confirmed case is proceeding, the individual for whom the confirmed case was reported should be appropriately isolated.
    - For children, this means that services must be delivered utilizing a teletherapy approach, if the parent/guardian consents and the child is well enough to receive services, as outlined in the NYC Health Department's BEI Reintroduction of Group Services guidance document. The child may only return to the center following an appropriate period of home isolation.
    - For a teacher, therapist or other staff member, this means that they may not deliver in-person Early Intervention services during isolation.
  - c. A child or staff member confirmed with COVID-19 may return to the center when all the following are true:
    - It has been at least 10 days since their symptoms started (or if they never had symptoms, 10 days from the date they were tested); AND
    - They have not had a fever for the last 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing drugs; AND
    - Their overall illness has improved.
  - d. While the investigation is proceeding, Early Intervention group providers may inform families that there was a case of COVID-19 at the center, that the individual will not attend the center until the required isolation requirements have been met, and that the provider is awaiting the results of the investigation being conducted by the NYC Health Department regarding the need to temporarily close a classroom or the center.
  - e. The Early Intervention group provider should also encourage families to get tested if they have been exposed to a confirmed or possible case of COVID-19 or develop symptoms suggestive of COVID-19. Inform families that:
    - The tests are available at more than 200 sites, many of which are free. Learn more about testing and contact tracing <a href="here">here</a>.
    - Health + Hospitals and NYC Health Department test sites will not ask about immigration status, and the Early Intervention Program and COVID-19 testing and care are not subject to the public charge rule.
- 4. After receiving guidance from the NYC Department of Health on next steps, the provider is required to:
  - a. Initiate steps to contact families and temporarily stop group services in a single classroom or the entire center, as directed by the NYC Health Department case investigator.
  - b. Follow the steps outlined in the BEI Reintroduction of Group Services guidance document.

c. Inform the BEI Provider Oversight Unit when all steps are completed and detailing the actions that were taken at <a href="mailto:provoversight@health.nyc.gov">provoversight@health.nyc.gov</a>.

## For Home and Community-Based Early Intervention Service Provider Agencies

Early Intervention home or community-based therapists, teachers and the children and families they serve are required to adhere to the following steps if they have been exposed to a confirmed case of COVID-19 or develop symptoms suggestive of COVID-19:

- 1. Each Early Intervention therapist, teacher, parent/guardian, caregiver or child who has potentially been exposed to the diagnosed individual should be tested for COVID-19.
  - a. The tests are available at more than 200 sites, many of which are free. Learn more about testing and contact tracing <a href="https://example.com/here">here</a>.
  - b. Health + Hospitals and NYC Health Department test sites will not ask about immigration status. The Early Intervention Program and COVID-19 testing and care are not subject to the public charge rule.
    - If contacted, therapists, teachers and families should answer a NYC contact tracer's phone call. They will provide support to New Yorkers who test positive for COVID-19 and their close contacts. Please answer the phone if you get a call from:
      - NYC Test & Trace
      - o A phone number beginning with 212-540-XXXX or 212-242-XXXX
    - If a therapist, teacher, parent/guardian or child tests positive and is unable to separate from others at home, they will be given the option of isolating in a free, comfortable and convenient hotel room or at home.
- 2. If a **therapist**, **service coordinator**, **child or child's household member** tests positive for COVID-19, the Early Intervention provider agency is required to notify the BEI by sending the following information to the BEI Provider Oversight Unit via the NYS Health Commerce System, to both Sharon Gooding at HINSAG03 and Amy Fishman at HINAXF23.
  - a. Name of Early Intervention service provider
  - b. Contact information for point of contact at the provider
  - c. Service provider address and phone number
  - d. For each **child, therapist, service coordinator or child's household member** with COVID-19:
    - Name
    - Date of birth
    - ID number (if child: NYEIS ID, if provider: National Provider ID (NPI))
    - Home address
    - Phone number (if a child, name and phone number of parent/guardian)
    - Date of last delivered (or received) in-person service session
    - Date of onset of symptoms
  - e. For each **child** with COVID-19, also collect the name of each Early Intervention therapist or service coordinator who has had in-person contact with the child in the last 14 days, including:

- Phone number
- National Provider ID (if applicable)
- Date of last service session
- Relationship to the diagnosed person (such as Service Coordinator)
- f. For each **therapist or service coordinator** with COVID-19, also collect the name of each Early Intervention child and family member, and any child care providers if applicable, who has had in-person contact with the therapist or service coordinator in the past 14 days, including:
  - Phone Number
  - NYEIS ID
  - Date of last service session
  - Relationship to the diagnosed person (such as client, parent, guardian or caregiver)
- 3. The Bureau of Early Intervention will ensure that:
  - All services are delivered utilizing a teletherapy approach for the mandated isolation period if the parent/guardian consents on the <u>Consent for the Use of Telehealth</u> <u>During the COVID-19 Declared State of Emergency</u>.
    - If a child or family member tests positive for COVID-19, all therapies will be provided utilizing a teletherapy approach if the parent/guardian consents on the <u>Consent for the Use of Telehealth During the COVID-19 Declared State of</u> <u>Emergency</u> and the child is well enough to receive services.
    - If a **therapist** tests positive for COVID-19, all therapies being provided to the children served by the therapist, including therapies provided by other therapists, will be via teletherapy if the parent/guardian consents.
  - b. A child or therapist confirmed with COVID-19 may return to in-person services when all the following are true:
    - It has been at least 10 days since their symptoms started (or if they never had symptoms, 10 days from the date they were tested); AND
    - They have not had a fever for the last 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing drugs; AND
    - Their overall illness has improved.
  - c. If any **therapist or service coordinator** with COVID-19 was in contact with a child care provider in the last 14 days, the NYC Health Department's Bureau of Child Care will be notified.

The NYC Health Department may change recommendations as the situation evolves.