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Dear Retailer:

We are writing to share information about tobacco and related product laws in New York City (NYC)
and New York State (NYS) to help you avoid penalties and interruptions to your business operations.

Under the NYC Tobacco Product Regulation Act (TPRA), retailers who sell tobacco products, electronic
cigarettes or vaping products, or non-tobacco smoking products, such as herbal cigarettes, non-tobacco
shisha, pipes or rolling papers to people under 21 years old can:

¢ Be fined up to $2,000
* Lose their NYC tobacco license
* Have their store closed temporarily

Additionally, under the NYS Adolescent Tobacco Use Prevention Act (ATUPA), retailers who sell
tobacco products, electronic cigarettes or vaping products, or non-tobacco smoking products to people
under 21 years old can:

¢ Be fined up to $2,500
* Lose their NYS registration to sell tobacco
e Have their NYS lottery license suspended for six months

This kit will help you and your employees follow these laws. A trained Health Department representative is
visiting your store to review these important laws with you and your staff. Share this information with your
employees and keep the materials easily available for reference. Remember:

* Only sell tobacco products, electronic cigarettes or vaping products, or non-tobacco smoking
products to people who are at least 21 yearsold.

* Ask for and carefully check ID before selling tobacco products, electronic cigarettes or vaping
products, or non-tobacco smoking products to anyone who looks younger than 30 years old.

TPRA is enforced by the NYC Departments of Consumer Affairs and Finance. ATUPA is enforced by the
NYC Department of Consumer Affairs, which works with undercover teens and young adults to make sure
that retailers follow the law.

For more information about these laws, call 311 and say you are a tobacco retailer, or visit nyc.gov and
search “tobacco laws.”

We hope you and your employees find this information useful. Thank you for your help keeping tobacco
products, electronic cigarettes or vaping products, and non-tobacco smoking products out of the hands of
young people.

Sincerely,
Oxiris Barbot, MD
Acting Commissioner

New York City Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene
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Estimado comerciante minorista:

Le escribimos para compartirle informacion sobre las leyes del tabaco y los productos relacionados en
la ciudad de Nueva York (NYC) y el Estado de Nueva York (NYS) para ayudarlo a evitar sanciones e
interrupciones en sus operaciones comerciales.

Bajo la Ley de Regulacion de Productos de Tabaco (TPRA, por sus siglas en inglés) de NYC, los comerciantes
minoristas que vendan productos de tabaco, cigarrillos electronicos o vaporizadores, o productos para fumar
sin tabaco, como cigarrillos de hierbas, shisha sin tabaco, pipas o papel de fumar a personas menores de 21
afios pueden:

¢ Recibir una multa de hasta $2000
¢ Perder su licencia de tabaco de la Ciudad de Nueva York
* Ser sancionados con el cierre temporal de su tienda.

Ademas, bajo la Ley de Prevencion del Uso de Tabaco entre Adolescentes (ATUPA, por sus siglas en inglés)
del Estado de Nueva York (NYS), los comerciantes minoristas que venden productos de tabaco, cigarrillos
electronicos o vaporizadores, o productos para fumar sin tabaco a personas menores de 21 afios pueden:

e Recibir una multa de hasta $2500

* Perder su licencia para la venta de tabaco del Estado de Nueva York

* Ser sancionados con la suspension de su licencia para la venta de loteria de Estado de Nueva York
durante seis meses.

Este kit los ayudara a usted y a sus empleados a cumplir estas leyes. Un representante capacitado del
Departamento de Salud visitara su tienda para repasar estas importantes leyes con usted y con su personal.
Comparta esta informacion con sus empleados y mantenga los materiales en un lugar de facil acceso para
poder consultarlos. Recuerde:

* Solo venda productos de tabaco, cigarrillos electrénicos o vaporizadores, o productos para
fumar sin tabaco a personas mayores de 21 afios.

* Solicite y verifique cuidadosamente la identificacion antes de vender productos de tabaco,
cigarrillos electronicos o vaporizadores, o productos para fumar sin tabaco a cualquier persona
que parezca mas joven de 30 afios de edad.

La TPRA se hara cumplir por el Departamento de Proteccion al Consumidor y al Trabajador (DCWP, por
sus siglas en inglés) y el Departamento de Finanzas de NYC. La ATUPA se hara cumplir por el DCWP
de NYC, que trabaja con adolescentes y adultos jovenes encubiertos para asegurarse que los comerciantes
minoristas cumplan las leyes.

Para obtener mas informacion sobre estas leyes, llame al 311 y diga que es comerciante minorista de tabaco,
o visite nyc.gov y busque "tobacco laws" (leyes del tabaco).

Esperamos que esta informacion les resulte util a usted y a sus empleados. Gracias por su ayuda a mantener los
productos de tabaco, cigarrillos electronicos o vaporizadores, y los productos para fumar sin tabaco fuera del
alcance de los jovenes.

Sincerely,

Ocxiris Barbot, MD
Comisionada

Departamento de Salud y Salud Mental
de la Ciudad de Nueva York
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