New York Breastteeding Laws
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New York Civil Rights Law Section 79-e says that
parents can breastfeed in any public space at any time.
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Penal Law 245.01 states that breastfeeding an infant is
not considered indecent exposure.
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New York State Labor Law Section 206-c requires that
all public and private employers in New York State, regardless
of the size or nature of their business, provide parents with
break time to express breast milk at work.
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New York City Pregnant Workers Fairness Act
requires all public and private employers to provide
reasonable accommodations to pregnant and breastfeeding
employees. Possible accommodations include time off for
prenatal appointments, time off to recover from childbirth
and time to express breast milk in a private and clean space.
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New York State Paid Family Leave, effective January

1, 2018, will provide New Yorkers job-protected, paid leave
to bond with a new child, care for a loved one with a serious
health condition or help relieve family pressures when
someone is called to active military service.
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New York City Paid Parental Leave provides City
employees with six weeks of paid time off for maternity,
paternity, adoption and foster care leave at 100 percent
of their salary — or up to 12 weeks total when combined
with existing leave.
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