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Proof of Age
•  �Make sure that customers who ask for tobacco products, electronic cigarettes or non-tobacco smoking products, 

such as herbal cigarettes, non-tobacco shisha, pipes or rolling papers, are at least 21 years old. If a customer looks 
like they are younger than 30 years old, you must ask for acceptable proof of age. 

Registration and Licensing 
•  �To sell any tobacco products or herbal cigarettes, you will need valid registration from the New York State (NYS) 

Department of Taxation and Finance.
•  �To sell cigarettes or other tobacco products, you also need a tobacco retail dealer license from the New York 

City (NYC) Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA). If you previously had a cigarette retail dealer license, it was 
relabeled a tobacco retail dealer license (effective Feb. 24th, 2018). If you did not have a cigarette retail dealer 
license, you must have applied for a tobacco retail dealer license. Also effective 2018, a system went into effect 
restricting the availability of new licenses, with some exceptions, until license reduction goals are met. More  
information is available at nyc.gov/dca.

•  �To sell electronic cigarettes, you must have applied to DCA for an electronic cigarette retail dealer license. 
Effective 2018, a system went into effect restricting the availability of new licenses, with some exceptions, until 
license reduction goals are met. 

•  �Effective Jan. 1, 2019, pharmacies will no longer be eligible for a tobacco retail dealer license. More information  
is available at nyc.gov/dca. Pharmacies are not permitted to sell electronic cigarettes.

Restrictions on Public Access to Tobacco Products 
•  �Keep all tobacco products, shisha, herbal cigarettes and electronic cigarettes behind a counter (in an area available 

only to employees) or in a locked cabinet. 
•  �Do not have a vending machine in any location other than at a tavern or other legally permitted location. Vending 

machines must be located in places not accessible to the general public. 

Signage
•  �Post the proof of age sign and tax stamp sign provided in this kit where your customers can easily see them. 
•  �Businesses that sell “bidis” and/or “gutka” must post an additional sign. 

Products, Packaging and Pricing 
•  �Effective fall 2018, new tobacco product minimum 

prices and taxes on other tobacco products went 
into effect. 

•  �Only sell tobacco products in the manufacturer’s 
packaging consistent with minimum required pack 
sizes. Do not sell single cigarettes or single little 
cigars (“loosies”).

•  �Do not sell, offer to sell or transport any pack of 
cigarettes that does not have a valid NYC/NYS  
tax stamp.

•  �Retailers can purchase cigarettes and other  
tobacco products only from a manufacturer or 
licensed wholesale dealer.

•  �“Bidis,” “beedies” or “gutka” can be sold only  
at tobacco bars.

Additional Regulation
•  �Employees younger than 18 years old cannot sell, 

dispense or handle a tobacco product without 
direct supervision of someone who is at least  
18 years old and present on the premises. 

DCA inspectors visit businesses that sell tobacco to make sure they are following NYC and NYS tobacco laws. 
The NYC Department of Finance regularly inspects businesses to ensure that tobacco taxes have been paid. 
Undercover officers and inspectors will visit you to make sure that you and your employees are following the law.

Overview of Major New York City and New York State Tobacco Laws

For more information, call 311 or visit 
nyc.gov and search “tobacco laws.” 

Product Price floor
Other  

tobacco product  
(OTP) tax

Total minimum 
price

Cigarette  
(20-pack) $13 n/a  $13*

Single cigar  
(no minimum  
pack size)

$8 $0.25† $8 + $0.25 = 
$8.25**

Four-pack of cigars 
(no minimum  
pack size)

$8 for the first cigar 
+ [$1.75 x 3 cigars 
($5.25)] = $13.25

$0.25 x 4 cigars  
= $1† 

$13.25 + $1 =  
$14.25** 

Shisha (3.5 oz.) $17.00 per 3.5  oz. $1.70 per 3.5 oz.
$17.00 + $1.70 = 

$18.70**

Little cigars  
(20-pack) $10.95 $1.09 $12.04** 

*Includes sales tax. 
**Excludes sales tax. Sales tax (8.875%) should be calculated based on the total minimum price.  
†OTP tax for cigars can also be calculated via an alternative method, based on the original size of the box 
from which the cigars were sold.
Visit nyc.gov and search “tobacco laws” for more detailed information on new price, package and tax laws 
in NYC, including minimum prices for other products and package sizes.

New Price Minimum Examples


