
Always ask for a valid picture ID from anyone who looks younger than 30 years old before 
selling tobacco products, electronic cigarettes or vaping products, or non-tobacco smoking 
products, such as herbal cigarettes, non-tobacco shisha, pipes or rolling papers.

There are only three acceptable forms of ID:

• �A valid driver’s license or other photo ID issued by a  
state or by the U.S. or Canadian government

• �A valid passport from any country, but foreign IDs  
are not acceptable

• A photo ID issued by the U.S. Armed ForcesI

a. �Check the picture first.  
See that it matches the  
person making the purchase.

b. �Check the date of birth (DOB). 
Make sure the customer is  
at least 21 years old.

c. �Check the expiration date. 
Make sure the ID has not expired.
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If the customer cannot produce an ID, or the ID is invalid, refuse the sale.

Here are some tips for avoiding conflict with customers:

• �Be polite and stay calm. You can say, “If I sell to you, I may have to pay a fine or lose my  
tobacco license or registration.”

• �Show the customer your required sign that says you cannot sell tobacco products, electronic 
cigarettes or non-tobacco smoking products, such as herbal cigarettes, non-tobacco shisha, 
pipes or rolling papers to anyone under 21 years old. 

• �If the customer takes the product, leaves the money and runs away, do not ring up the sale. 
Treat it as a theft and report the incident to the police.
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If you have any questions about the New York City or  
New York State tobacco laws, please call 311.




