m

Health

Article 48 Revisions: What Camp Operators Need to Know

The Board of Health has revised Article 48 of the New York City Health Code to better protect
children’s health and safety and to align with state and local laws. This document provides
information about many of the new requirements and how to comply.

The changes take effect immediately. The New York City Health Department is providing
heightened technical assistance around these requirements through May 14, 2020. Beginning
on May 15— the start of the 2020 camp season — the Health Department will begin issuing
violations subject to fines to camp operators that fail to comply.

Changes to Permit Application, Recordkeeping and Enforcement Requirements (§48.07,

§48.09)

e Camp operators must now submit their permit application to the Health Department at
least 90 days before the first day of operation, rather than 60 days, to guarantee that the
permit will be processed before the camp begins.

e Camp operators must maintain — either electronically or in paper form — all records
required in Article 48. Camps must make these records available to the Health Department
immediately upon request.

e Attendance records must be maintained daily for all staff and campers, including names,
dates and times in attendance. Staff must sign their attendance records.

e [f the Health Department determines that a camp is not complying with Health Code or any
other requirements, it may suspend or revoke the camp permit. Before an order is issued to
suspend or revoke a permit, the camp permittee will have the opportunity to be heard.
However, the permit can be suspended before a hearing as an emergency measure to
protect children’s health and safety.

Changes to Staffing and Supervision Requirements (§48.09, §48.12)

e The camp director, or a designee with equal credentials approved by the Health
Department, must always be present to supervise campers and camp staff when the camp
is operating.

e The camp director must ensure that staff provide constant and competent supervision to all
campers. Constant and competent supervision means that:

o For campers under age 6, staff must have a clear line of sight of all children at all
times.

o For campers ages 6 and older, staff must be near enough to children — taking into
account the age of and emotional, cognitive and physical development of each child
— so that they can respond immediately if assistance is needed.

e For every 100 campers present, one staff member — which can be the health director —
must possess a valid CPR certificate.
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On any off-site camp trip involving children ages 6 or older, the minimum counselor to
camper ratio of 1-to-6 must be maintained, with at least one trip leader and one other
counseling staff member present.

Changes to Health and Safety Requirements (§48.17, §48.23)

Children are no longer exempt from vaccination requirements due to religious beliefs.
Children may be exempt from vaccination requirements for medical reasons, but only if the
medical exemption is documented by a physician licensed in New York State.

Camp operators must maintain vaccination records for all children who are enrolled and
make the records immediately available to the Health Department on request. The records
may be kept electronically so long as the camp can make the electronic records immediately
accessible to the Health Department.

All staff, including volunteers, kitchen staff and maintenance staff, must have had a medical
examination dated within two years of working at the camp. The medical records must
indicate that they are physically able to perform their camp duties. The Health Department
may require staff testing for tuberculosis at any time if testing is needed because of a
medical investigation.

Programs must isolate or exclude any child or staff who is suspected or confirmed with, or
has been exposed to, a communicable disease that requires isolation or exclusion under
Article 11 of the Health Code.

o Programs must report any such isolated or excluded child or staff to the Health
Department within the timeframe specified in Article 11.

o Before any excluded child or staff can return to the program, a written statement
from a health care provider must be submitted to the program, indicating that the
child, staff or volunteer is free from illness and no longer contagious.

Camp operators must report a lost child to the Health Department within 24 hours.
If a camp is transporting children in motor vehicles, the children must be properly secured
in child safety seats or with seat belts, depending on a child’s age.

Changes to Facility Safety Requirements (§48.15)

Children under the age of 24 months must be located on the ground level of the camp.
Children under age 6 cannot occupy space above the third floor unless the New York City
Department of Buildings, Fire Department or another appropriate government agency has
approved occupancy by children under age 6 and the Health Department has approved the
camp’s evacuation plan. This requirement does not apply to camps that received their first
permit on or before January 1, 1989.

There can be no peeling lead-based paint or peeling paint of unknown lead content on any
surface that children under age 6 can access.
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