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This guide is available in Arabic, Bengali, French, Haitian Creole, Italian, Korean, Polish, Russian, 
Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Traditional Chinese, Urdu and Yiddish.

Please note that this guide applies only to group child care programs in New York City. We value 
your input and want this to be an effective resource for your program. If you have any questions 
or feedback, please send an email to childcareinfo@health.nyc.gov.
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Getting Started

The New York City Health Department is your partner in creating an environment 
where children can thrive. This guide helps you follow the law and assure families that 
you are protecting and promoting their children’s safety, health and early education.

What Is a Group Child Care Program? [Health Code Section 47.01]*

A group child care program is center-based child care that: 

I  Is not located in a home
I  Serves children from birth to 6 years old
I  Has space for three or more children
I � Provides child care for five or more hours per week, for more than 30 days in a 

12-month period

Group child care programs are regulated by Article 47 and other sections of the 
New York City Health Code (the Code). The Code describes everything the Health 
Department requires—from staffing to fire alarms to immunizations to diaper 
changing—to ensure that your facility and the children in it are safe and healthy. 
The Code’s requirements align with other City codes and requirements from the 
Department of Buildings, Fire Department (FDNY), Department of Education and 
Administration for Children’s Services.

This guide also outlines how the City determines if you are meeting the standards (or 
not), how you can get back on track in a timely way (and what can happen if you don’t) 
and what your rights are in the process. 

*�This guide offers broad guidance. For more details, consult the bracketed Health 
Code section numbers. You can find a link to the complete Article 47 in the 
Appendix, along with other helpful documents and links. 
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Permits [Health Code Section 47.03–47.09]

You must have a permit from the Health Department to 
operate a group child care program. The permit must be 
displayed at the facility entrance, visible to passersby or 
those entering the facility. It must be renewed at time 
periods determined by the City, no longer than every  
two years.

To get the permit, the person from your program responsible 
for the permit application (e.g., educational director or site 
director) must attend an orientation session offered by the 
Health Department. You must also submit: 

I  An architect’s or engineer’s plan of the facility

I � A Certificate of Occupancy from the Department of 
Buildings, stating that your facility meets the physical 
requirements for a child care program (e.g., it has 
adequate floor space, is compliant with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act, etc.)

I � A fire inspection report certifying that the facility is  
fire-safe

I � Proof that the staff meets Code requirements such 
as certification and training, criminal justice and child 
abuse screening, and immunizations

I � Proof that your facility is free of lead-based paint

I � Test results for the lead content of water from the 
facility’s taps and drinking fountains

I � A written Safety Plan [47.11] containing policies and 
procedures for meeting the requirements of Article 47

Child Care Performance Summary Card  
[Health Code Section §3-01 – §3-06]

The Health Department now issues and requires all group 
child care programs to publicly post a current performance 
summary card. This card displays important information 
about your program, including the number of children 
allowed in care and a summary of inspection results.

You must post the performance summary card at the 
entrance of your child care facility, within 2 feet of the front 
door or other main entrance, and at a height of 4 to 6 feet. 
It must be clearly visible to those standing outside the 
program.

Additionally, if your child care program has had any 
suspensions in the past three years, the Health Department 
will mail you a separate suspension summary that you 
must post with the performance summary card.

4
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It is important for child care programs to follow all 
Code regulations and laws. The Code has structured 
guidelines that promote the safety of children and staff. 
Failure to follow the Code can lead to unsafe conditions 
and may endanger the well-being of children and staff. 

Inspections

I � The Health Department is required to inspect 
permitted child care programs at least once a year  
to make sure they are complying with the Code. 
Programs that have more violations will be inspected 
more frequently. Inspections are also conducted for: 

    Z � Permit renewal

    Z � In response to complaints (see page 7) or other 
reports of violations

    Z � To follow up on an order by the City to correct  
a violation

I � At the end of the inspection, the inspector will 
provide the child care program with an electronic 
report of any violations and the dates by which they 
must be corrected (compliance time). An inspector 
will revisit the facility to make sure the violation was 
corrected (assurance measure).

    Z � Programs must have email. If there are any 
changes to the email address, you can update 
this information during the inspection or 
by contacting the Health Department at 
childcareinfo@health.nyc.gov.

I � Violations are ranked by the degree of danger they 
pose to child health and safety (see table on page 
6). From most serious to least they are: public health 
hazard, critical violation and general violation. There 
are different Health Department responses and 
outcomes for each type of violation.

Notice of Violation

If a program is cited for a public health hazard, a critical 
violation or more than 5 general violations, it will receive 
a Notice of Violation (NOV), which: 

I � Directs the child care operator to attend a hearing at 
the OATH Hearings Division and gives the date, time 
and location of the hearing

I � Provides information on how to answer the NOV

I � Informs the operator that he or she may submit 
evidence to challenge the Health Department’s 
findings, or provide a defense

Sustained violations are subject to fines.

Following the Law

mailto:childcareinfo@health.nyc.gov
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Type of Violation Level of Threat to 
Child Health and 
Safety

Compliance Time 
and Assurance 
Measure

Possible 
Outcomes

Public Health 
Hazard

Most serious, poses 
an imminent threat 
to child health and 
safety

Immediately 
followed by a 
Health Department 
compliance visit

If not corrected 
immediately, 
program may be 
closed and permit 
suspended until 
corrected; a Notice 
of Violation (NOV), 
fines or other 
penalties may be 
issued

Critical Violation Serious, but no 
imminent threat to 
health and safety

2 weeks followed by 
a Health Department 
compliance visit

Unannounced 
reinspection on or 
after compliance 
deadline

A NOV, fines or other 
penalties may be 
issued

General Violation Minor, no direct 
threat to health and 
safety

1 month and no 
Health Department 
compliance visit 
when 5 or fewer 
general violations

6 or more general 
violations: 
unannounced 
reinspection on or 
after compliance 
deadline; a NOV, fines 
or other penalties 
may be issued

5 or fewer: may not 
require reinspection

If you discover a violation between inspections, you must correct it right away. Contact the Health Department at 
any time to ask questions about the Code (Appendix: Site Inspection Request).

Violation Types and Health Department Response
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Complaints

Anyone—parent, staffer, visitor or passerby—may 
call in a complaint against your program. The Health 
Department takes these complaints seriously and 
investigates them. 

Closing [Health Code Section 47.77]

The Health Department considers some violations so 
serious that the child care program must be closed 
before there is a hearing. The Health Department will 
issue an Order to Close (a temporary suspension of the 
permit) when there is a health hazard that poses a clear 
and imminent risk to children’s health or safety that 
cannot be complied with or fixed within 24 hours.  
A notice of closing will also be distributed to parents 
and other caregivers who pick up children from the 
program. The program can reopen when the Health 
Department determines that the hazard no longer  
poses an immediate danger to children.

The Health Department may also deny a permit, take 
it away for a period of time or revoke it altogether. 
Operation of a child care program without a permit  
is illegal and will result in closure. 

Providers’ Rights

I � The Order to Close gives you an opportunity to show 
why the program should be reopened and/or present 
evidence at a hearing that shows the violation has 
been corrected.

I � The Business Owner’s Bill of Rights also gives you the 
right to:

    Z � Challenge a violation through a hearing, trial or 
other process. 

    Z � Request a review of inspection results or a 
reinspection with the Health Department.

Corrective Action Plan (CAP) [Health Code 
Section 47.21] 

(Appendix: Corrective Action Plans for Child  
Care Programs)

A child care operator must submit a corrective action 
plan (CAP) to show that he or she is willing and able 
to follow the Code. The permit holder is responsible 
for submitting the CAP to the Health Department and 
implementing the CAP. There are two types of CAPs:
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I � The permit holder must submit a Staff CAP within five days to the Health 
Department before hiring a person with a criminal charge, conviction or State 
Central Register indication, or who is part of an ongoing investigation.  

I � The permit holder must submit an Incident CAP to the Health Department.  
An Incident CAP has three parts:

    1. � Incident description

    2. � Response report

    3. � Actions taken or plans to correct the health hazard

I � The Health Department approves or rejects the CAP, and the program must revise 
the CAP until the Health Department accepts it.

I � The program can reopen only after the Department approves the CAP and the 
program demonstrates to the Department’s satisfaction that it can implement it, 
including by providing notarized statements from staff verifying the steps taken.

I � The program undergoes inspections to ensure the program can operationalize  
the changes.

Parental Access and Right to Know [Health Code Section 47.67 (d)]

(Appendix: NYC Child Care Connect)

I � Parents must have unrestricted access to their 
children at all times.

I � The program may install video cameras to let parents 
view their children in the child care facility on tape or 
online. However, video surveillance is not a substitute 
for direct line-of-sight supervision for staff. 

    Z � Parents and all staff must be informed in writing 
of the cameras’ use for this purpose and made 
aware of the cameras’ locations.

    Z � At the time of a child’s enrollment, parents must 
be provided with information about program 
policies and procedures—including supervision 
and attendance policies, emergency procedures 
and illness management—as specified in the 
program’s written Safety Plan and required by  
the Code.

    Z � The program must give parents information about 
how to access the most recent inspection report. 

I � The program must post a sign where parents can see it, 
stating that: 

    Z � The program’s most recent inspection report is 
available on the Health Department’s website or 
by calling 311.

    Z � Requirements for child care programs are 
accessible by calling 311.

    Z � Complaints about the child care program  
may be made through 311.

t � Your permit

t � Child care performance 
summary card

t � Suspension summary  
(if you received one)

t  �A notice of the program’s  
most recent Health 
Department inspection 

t � Information about calling 
311 to make complaints or 
get information on child care 
requirements

t � Hand-washing procedures 
over each sink (bathrooms, 
diaper changing area, etc.)

t � Adults and children  
bathroom signs

Post Where All Can See 
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Qualified staff are essential to providing quality care at your child care program. Teachers 
with education qualifications and certifications appropriate to the age of the children in their 
care are trained to recognize developmental milestones. This specialization allows them to 
better create learning opportunities for children. Specialized training can also help teachers 
provide clear information about a child’s educational progress to parents or guardians.  

Supervision Requirements

I � No child may ever be left unsupervised. Every child or group of children must be 
watched—within a clear line of sight—at all times. 

I � Qualified staff must be on duty in required ratios (see table on page 10) during all child 
care hours. During breaks, lunch and short-term absences (three days or less), assistant 
staff may fill in to meet staff-to-child ratios.

I � Staff must be awake at all times during nap times and night care.

Qualified Staff



10

Minimum Staff and Staff-to-Child Ratios [Health Code Section 47.23]

Age of Children Staff-to-Child 
Ratio

Maximum 
Group Size

Staff Required per 
Maximum Group Size

Under 12 months 1 infant/toddler 
teacher to 4 children*

8 2 infant/toddler teachers or 1 
infant/toddler teacher and an 
assistant 

12 to 24 months 1 infant/toddler 
teacher to 5 children

10 2 infant/toddler teachers or 1 
infant/toddler teacher and an 
assistant

2 years to under 3 1 preschool group 
teacher to 6 children

12 2 preschool group teachers or 
1 preschool group teacher and 
1 assistant

3 years to under 4 1 preschool group 
teacher to 10 children

15 2 preschool group teachers or 
1 preschool group teacher and 
1 assistant

4 years to under 5 1 preschool group 
teacher to 12 children

20 2 preschool group teachers or 
1 preschool group teacher and 
1 assistant

5 years to under 6 1 preschool group 
teacher to 15 children

25 2 preschool group teachers or 
1 preschool group teacher and 
1 assistant

*�In the event of an emergency, a 1:3 staff-to-child ratio is required for children under 12 months. This must be 
reflected in the Emergency Procedures section of the Safety Plan.

 

10
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Staffing Requirements, Duties and Qualifications [Health Code Sections 47.13–47.17] 

Preschool (ages 2 to 6)

Title Duties Qualifications

Educational 
Director* 

Supervises staff and oversees training 
Develops and implements education 
curriculum 
Conducts daily health inspections 
Outlines duties for staff not specified 
in Article 47
Participates in hiring
Cannot have teaching duties if more 
than 40 children in care

BA Early Childhood Education or related field 
and
State certification and
2 or more years group teacher experience for 
children under 6 years old (47.13)

Preschool 
Group Teacher
Note: An educational 
director or individual 
group teacher 
may be employed 
temporarily pending 
certifications or 
approval from the 
State Education 
Department. 
Pending status 
means a person 
has taken all three 
exams required 
for certification 
and is awaiting 
State Education 
Department 
confirmation.

Plans activities 
Supervises a specific group of 
children

BA Early Childhood Education or related 
field and State Department of Education 
certification or
Equivalent certification accepted by State 
Department of Education or
BA in Early Childhood Education and 2 years 
supervised experience or
Health Department-approved accredited study 
plan to qualify within 7 years:
An Associate’s (AA or AS) Degree in early 
children education, practicum included or
90 or more undergraduate college credits and 
one year of classroom experience teaching 
children in pre-kindergarten, kindergarten or 
grades one to two 

Assistant 
Teacher

Assists in activities and supervises 
children at the direction of the Group 
Teacher and Educational Director

At least 18 years old with
High school diploma or equivalent and 
Various combinations of college credits, 
experience and/or study plans as specified in 
the Code 

Night care

Title Duties Qualifications

Educational 
Director
(Qualified Group 
Teacher may 
be Educational 
Director)

Supervises night care Per the standards in Health Code Section  
47.13  or
BA, including 12 credits in Early Childhood 
Education and 
2 years’ experience in a licensed program with 
children under 6 years old

11
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Night care (continued)

Title Duties Qualifications

Assistant 
Teacher

Assists in night care At least 18 years old with
High school diploma or equivalent and 
Various combinations of college credits, 
experience and/or study plans as specified  
in the Code

Infant/Toddler (under 24 months)

Title Duties Qualifications

Educational 
Director*

Supervises staff and oversees 
training 
Develops and implements education 
curriculum 
Conducts daily health inspections 
Outlines duties for staff not specified 
in Article 47
Participates in hiring
Cannot have teaching duties if >40 
children in care

BA Early Childhood Education or related field 
and
1 or more years’ experience as a group teacher 
or provider for children under 24 months or
6 college credits in infant/toddler coursework or
Health Department approved study plan 
leading to 6 credits

Infant/
Toddler 
Group 
Teacher

Plans activities 
Cares for and supervises a specific 
group of children

At least 21 years old with
Associate (AA or AS) degree in Early 
Childhood Education or
Child Development Associate certification 
and study plan for AA or AS within 7 years or
High school diploma or equivalent and various 
combinations of college credits, work experience 
and study plan specified in the Code

Assistant 
Teacher

Assists in activities and supervises 
children at the direction of the Group 
Teacher and Educational Director

At least 18 years old with
High school diploma or equivalent and 
Various combinations of college credits, 
experience and/or study plans as specified  
in the Code

Other	

Title Duties Qualifications

Aquatics 
Director

Supervises swimming and aquatic 
activities, on- and off-site

Current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
certificate and 
Either a certified progressive swimming 
instructor or a qualified lifeguard

*�Colocated Preschool and Infant Toddler programs may be supervised by a single preschool Education Director 
who shall not have teaching duties.

12



13

Required Documentation

The following documentation is required for educational directors and group teachers. [Health Code Sections 47.13 
and 47.19].

I � Copy of college degree 

I  Resume 

I  State Certification, if applicable

I  Three references

I  Confirmation of required trainings

I  Clearances by the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment, and Fingerprinting 

I  Study Plan, if applicable (only group teachers are permitted to be on study plan)

I  Commitment letter specifying plan to complete outstanding requirements within seven years

I  College registration document confirming candidate’s enrollment
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Staff Training [Health Code Section 47.37]

The Health Department promotes regular trainings designed to ensure that teachers can respond to emergencies 
and provide educational services to children. The educational director is responsible for training (or arranging for 
a certified trainer) and verifying that staff receive required training. All teaching staff shall complete at least 15 hours 
of training every 24 months, at least 5 hours of which shall be completed in each 12-month period.

Training Topic Required For

Emergency Preparedness  All staff

Child Abuse and Maltreatment Employees, volunteers and those who will have 
unsupervised contact with children; new hires 
within 6 months

Allergic Reactions & Epinephrine  
Auto-Injector Training

All teaching and shelter staff. At least one person 
trained to administer an epinephrine auto-injector 
must be on site at all times

Infection Control All teachers

Mental Health First Aid All teaching and shelter staff

Emergency Procedures Employees, volunteers and those who will have 
unsupervised contact with children

CPR and First Aid At least one certified person on-site at all times

Family Engagement All teaching and shelter staff

Shaken Baby and Sudden Infant Death 
Syndrome (SIDS)

Infant/toddler and night care staff

Food Protection Certificate Supervisor of food service operations

*�Teaching staff include the education director, group teachers, assistant teachers, teacher aides and substitutes. 
Shelter staff refer to child care staff in family shelter drop-off centers.
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Other Recommended Training

Medication administration: If a program gives out 
medications, see Safe and Healthy Kids (page 17).

Aspire Registry [Health Code Sections 47.13(a)]

The Aspire Registry is the State of New York's integrated 
professional development system for the early childhood 
and school age workforce. Teachers, operators, directors 
and other individuals who work in the early childhood field 
can use Aspire to keep track of important information 
about their career, including training and professional 
development.

All group child care programs in New York City and their 
staff are required to create and maintain active accounts 
with the online Aspire Registry. Through this secure 
database, Health Department staff can review teacher 
qualifications, including education, employment history, 
training and other professional activities.

All program directors or administrators need to ensure that 
all new and currently employed teaching staff complete 
their individual Aspire profiles. New hires must complete 
an Aspire profile within two weeks of hire. Aspire profiles 
should not be completed for anyone else or on behalf of 
anyone else.

Criminal Justice and Child Abuse Screening 
[Health Code Section 47.19] 

See also New York State Corrections Law 23A (Appendix: 
Screening Procedures for Criminal Background and State 
Central Register Checks).

I  Screening 

    Z � Before employment, anyone who might have 
unsupervised contact with children at the program 
must be fingerprinted by the City’s Department of 
Investigation and screened for a criminal record or 
inclusion in the Statewide Central Register of Child 
Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR). 

    Z � All employees must be screened every two years. 

    Z � Parents and parent-authorized escorts are exempt 
from screening. 

    Z � No one awaiting screening clearance may have 
unsupervised contact with children.

I  Consent

    Z � The program must get written consent for 
fingerprinting and criminal background checks.  
It must provide written notice to the person  
being screened that an inquiry will be submitted to 
the SCR.

    Z � If the person does not consent to being  
screened, he or she may not be hired or allowed into 
the program. 
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I � Criminal records, arrests or child  
maltreatment allegations

    Z � The program must conduct an assessment of 
a potential employee’s criminal background to 
determine if someone’s previous conviction 
should bar them from working with a child. If the 
SCR returns a “Do Find” letter, the program must 
report this information to the Health Department 
within 24 hours. (Appendix: Criminal Justice 
Clearance (Fingerprinting))

    Z � The program must submit a Staff CAP within five 
days if it wishes to hire someone who was ever 
convicted of a felony, convicted of a misdemeanor 
within the previous 10 years or charged with 
either a felony or misdemeanor that has not yet 
gone through the courts. The Health Department 
must approve the Staff CAP before finalizing the 
individual's employment. 

    Z � Current employees must notify the program 
within 24 hours if they are arrested. The program 
must notify the Health Department within 24 
hours of learning of the arrest.

    Z � The program must submit an inquiry to the 
SCR within 24 hours of learning of the arrest to 
determine whether the person to be cleared 
has been the subject of a verified report of a 
child abuse or maltreatment. If the SCR returns 
a “Do Find” letter, the program must report this 
information to the Health Department within  
24 hours.

I � Notification of injury, harm or death [Health Code 
Section 47.19(g); 47.27 (c)(3)]

    Z � The program must notify SCR within 24 hours if a 
child is lost, sustains serious injuries or dies while 
in the care of an employee, volunteer or agent of 
the program. The program must notify the Health 
Department within 24 hours of calling SCR. 

I  Suspension and other cautionary measures 

A current or prospective employee may not be fired or 
denied employment solely on the basis of a pending 
criminal action or abuse, maltreatment filing or 
investigation. Employment may be suspended, or hiring 
delayed, until the charge is disposed and depending on 
the child care program’s (the Director’s) assessment.  
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Safe and Healthy Kids

It is important that all children enrolled in a child 
care program are safe and healthy. This section 
summarizes the requirements that ensure children 
begin your program medically cleared and remain 
cleared for as long as they are enrolled. You will also 
find information about caring and accountability for 
children at the program and during off-site trips and 
important nutritional requirements.

Medical Care [Health Code Section 47.25]

I  Examinations 

    Z � Before admission and at intervals mandated 
by the Health Department, all children must 
get a complete age-appropriate medical 
examination, including medical history and 
health screening. 

    Z � The health care provider must give the 
program a signed form summarizing the 
health screening. The form should include 
any condition (including allergies) or disease 
that might affect the child’s participation in 
activities, recommendations for helping the 
child participate and plans for meeting the 
child’s medical needs.

    Z � The program must keep required records, 
including all medical forms and immunization 
and emergency records, for children and 
staff. These records are confidential. They are 
available only to parents, those authorized 
by parents and the Health Department, and 
authorized program personnel.

I � Immunizations (Appendix: Immunization Information)

    Z � All children must be immunized against 
communicable diseases in accordance with 
the latest New York State Public Health Law 
and Health Code Section 47.25(a)(2)(B)(i).

    Z � Exemption from immunization is allowed if it 
endangers the child’s health, as certified by a 
licensed medical provider, or if immunization 
conflicts with the family’s religious beliefs.

I  Daily inspections

    Z � Every day, preferably at intake, the educational 
director or a designated teacher must conduct 
a health inspection of each child. The director 
or teacher should be familiar with the child and 
trained to recognize signs of illness. 
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I � Communicable diseases (Appendix: Communicable 
Disease Chart for Child Care Providers)

    Z � Parents must notify the program within 24 hours if a 
child is absent because of chicken pox, conjunctivitis, 
diarrhea, diphtheria, food poisoning, hepatitis, 
Haemophilus influenzae type b infection, impetigo, 
measles, meningitis (all types), meningococcal disease, 
Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), 
mumps, pertussis (whooping cough), poliomyelitis, 
rubella (German measles), salmonella, scarlet fever, 
tuberculosis or any other disease or condition that may 
endanger other children’s health. 

    Z � Reporting is not required for HIV/AIDS.

    Z � The program must inform the Health Department 
by telephone within 24 hours of learning of any child 
in their care who has a vaccine-preventable illness, 
meningitis or tuberculosis, or of any outbreak or 
unusual occurrence of a disease or condition at the 
facility. The Health Department will provide additional 
guidance depending on the specific disease  
or condition. 

    Z � A staff person with a communicable disease is 
prohibited from coming to work. Allowing someone 
with a communicable disease on-site is an imminent 
threat to children’s health and safety and a public 
health hazard under the Code. 

I  Emergency medical care

    Z � Post emergency procedures (as outlined in the 
Safety Plan) and telephone numbers for the police, 
fire department, Poison Control Center, Child Abuse 
Hotline and the Health Department in an easy-to-find 
spot in each room or area used by children.

    Z � Inform parents of the program’s emergency procedures.

    Z � Contact a doctor or emergency medical professional 
if a child needs immediate care for an injury or illness, 
and notify the parent right away.

    Z � Always keep contact information for medical providers, 
parents and guardians up to date and on file. 

I  Emergency Medication

    Z � Decide if the program will administer medication, and 
incorporate that policy into the Safety Plan. 

    Z � Only a designated staff member may administer 
prescription medications to children. He or she must be 
at least 18 years old, certified in first aid and CPR, and 
must receive medication administration training (MAT).

    Z � Programs must keep on site at least two epinephrine 
auto-injectors with retractable needles, appropriately 
dosed for children in the program.

    Z � Staff designated to use the epinephrine auto-injector 
must first be trained in its use.

    Z � At least one trained staff person must be on site 
whenever children are present.
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    Z � Even if the program’s policy is not to administer 
medication, the Americans with Disabilities Act 
may supersede the policy and require the child 
care program to give medication (by a nurse or 
certified staff member) to a child with a disability. 

Behavior Management and Reassurance 
[Health Code Section 47.01(k)(1), 47.01(k)(2); 
47.67 (a)]

I � The program must create a written statement on the 
philosophy of child behavior management. It must 
be distributed to every staff member, posted in a 
prominent location within the child care facility and 
made available to parents upon request.

I � Never hit, threaten or humiliate a child. Use of  
these disciplinary methods is considered an 
imminent threat to child health and safety, and a 
public health hazard that must be reported to the 
Health Department. 

I  Always comfort a child in distress.

Daily Attendance and Absences [Health Code 
Section 47.27 (a), (c)(4)] 

(Appendix: Daily Attendance Record Form) 

I � Keep a daily attendance record, entering each child’s 
name and arrival and departure time. Inform parents 
when they enroll their children that they must notify 
the program no later than one hour after the child’s 
scheduled arrival time any day the child is going to  
be absent.

I � If a child unexpectedly fails to show up on time, 
the program must notify the parent within one 
hour, either by phone, text, email or other means of 
immediate communication. Keep a record of the 
notification. 

Authorized Escorts  
[Health Code Section 47.57 (h)] 

(Appendix: Authorized Escorts List Form)

I � Keep a list of anyone authorized by a parent to escort 
a child to and from the child care facility. This list 
should include the escort’s name, relationship to the 
child, address and contact information. 

I � Do not release a child into the custody of anyone 
who is not an authorized escort.

If you observe or learn of the abuse 
or maltreatment of a child in your 
care, you must first report it to the 
Statewide Central Register of Child 
Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR) and 
the Health Department. You must 
also take appropriate corrective 
action to protect the child. If you 
fail to do so, your permit may be 
suspended or your program closed. 
Everyone who works or volunteers at 
the program is a mandated reporter 
and must receive training.  
The mandated reporter hotline is  
800-635-1522.

MANDATED REPORTING 
OF CHILD ABUSE
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Trips [Health Code Section 47.57] 

(Appendix: Guidelines for the Trip Coordinator; Lost 
Child Plan Guidelines for Centers)

I � The program must maintain a current written Safety 
Plan with policies and procedures covering trip 
coordinators, staffing plans, child accountability and 
lost child response (Appendix:  Written Safety Plan). 
The program must submit the Safety Plan with the 
Health Department as part of the permit application, 
upon permit renewal and each time it updates the 
Safety Plan. 

I � Before taking children to a park, library, store or other 
off-site location: 

    Z � Parents must sign a release form that includes 
the child’s name and age, destination, mode of 
transport (including walking), length of travel 
time and expected trip activities. You can use a 
blanket release form for all local trips.

    Z � The program must designate and train a staff 
member to be the trip coordinator to oversee 
all aspects of the trip and instruct staff and 
volunteers on child accountability and  
emergency procedures.

I � Staffing and child accountability

    Z � Maintain required staff-to-child ratios (Chart, 

page 10). The coordinator may be counted in 
these ratios.

    Z � Ensure direct line-of-sight supervision of every 
child at all times. Adult volunteers or additional 
staff may be needed to do so.

    Z � Use T-shirts or other tags with the program’s 
name and contact information to identify every 
child. Do not include the child’s name. 

    Z � Take name-to-face head counts before leaving the 
facility, on arrival at the site, periodically during 
the trip, before leaving the site and on return to 
the facility. 

    Z � Keep the group together by establishing a buddy 
system and/or assigning staff to smaller groups.

    Z � Be prepared with clear procedures for a lost child 
or other type of emergency.

Transportation [Health Code Section 47.65] 

(Appendix: Daily Transportation Log Form)

I � Adult supervision in proper staff-to-child ratios is 
required during any transportation off premises.

I � Drivers—provided by or contracted with the 
program—must undergo a criminal background and 
child abuse screening. 
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I � Drivers must log all transfers of children between 
home and facility or other sites. 

I � Transport vehicles must be in good condition, 
inspected and operated lawfully, and equipped with 
age-appropriate car seats and seat belts. 

See the Safe and Healthy Kids section of the Appendix 
for the forms referenced above.

Nutrition [Health Code Section 47.61]

Providers are required to serve children a variety of 
wholesome, good-quality, low-salt, low-fat foods, 
including plenty of fruits, vegetables and whole grains.

I � Beverages. Do not serve drinks with added 
sweeteners, whether artificial or natural. 

    Z � Juice 

        n � Serve juice only to children 2 years or older. 

        n � Serve 100% juice only, no more than one 
4-ounce serving a day.

    Z � Milk

        n � Serve unsweetened/unflavored whole milk to 
infants and toddlers 12 to 24 months.

        n � Serve fat-free or 1% milk to children ages 2 
and older; higher-fat milk is allowed when 
medically required. 

        n � Serve milk substitutes (such as soy milk)  
that are unsweetened and nutritionally equal 
to milk.

    Z � Water

        n � Make water available to children throughout 
the day and at meals and snacks.

Physical Activity [Health Code Section 47.71 (a)] 

(Appendix: Nutrition and Physical Activity Best 
Practices for Centers) 

I � No child may sit passively for more than 30 minutes 
at a time, except during scheduled rest or nap time.

I � Children ages 12 months or older in full-day programs 
(six hours and 20 minutes or more) must participate 
in at least 60 minutes of physical activity per day. 
Children ages 12 months or older attending less than 
a full day must participate in a proportionate amount 
for that time. 

I � For children in full-day programs ages 3 and older, at 
least 30 of the 60 minutes of physical activity must 
be structured and guided. 

Television Viewing  
[Health Code Section 47.71 (d)]

I � Programming should be educational or engage 
children in movement. 

I � No television or other visual recording viewing for 
children under 2. For children age 2 and older, no 
more than 30 minutes of television or other visual 
recording viewing per week.

Naps and Night Care 

Staff must be awake at all times during naps or  
night care.

Children should be in an environment that fosters 
healthy habits. This includes providing nutritious meals. 
In addition to the Code nutrition requirements, the 
Health Department recommends you prepare food per 
the following nutritional guidelines:

I � Sodium (salt) 

    Z � Breakfast: 425 mg or less 

    Z � Snacks: 170 mg or less

    Z � Lunch and dinner: 600 mg or less

    Z � Total per day: no more than 1,700 mg 

I � Fats

    Z � Total fat: no more than 35 percent of daily  
caloric intake

    Z � Saturated fat: no more than 10 percent of daily 
caloric intake

I � Fiber 

    Z � At least 19 grams per day

Help parents provide healthy food options for their 
children. Distribute Health Department–approved 
guidelines to parents and let them know it applies to 
food and drinks they bring to the facility (Appendix: 
Nutrition Guidelines for Parents). 
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I � Equipment [Health Code Section 47.55 (b)]

    Z � Each child who spends more than four hours a day at the child care facility must have 
a separate cot, crib, mat or playpen approved by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety 
Commission.

    Z � Cribs or bassinets must be furnished with firm, sanitary mattresses and be free of 
bumper pads, pillows, loose bedding or other suffocation risks.

    Z � No stackable cots or cribs

    Z � Store blankets, sheets and pillowcases separately for each child; wash them weekly.

I � Infant sleeping conditions [Health Code Section 47.67 (f)]

    Z � During sleep times, place cots or cribs at least 2 feet apart.

    Z � Maintain a safe sleeping environment by ensuring line-of-sight supervision while 
children are sleeping. Check on sleeping infants every 15 minutes and record 
observations on forms provided or approved by the Health Department. Use of video 
surveillance is not a substitute for direct line of sight for staff. 

    Z � Set aside about one hour of quiet, relaxed time for full-day programs and a 
proportionate amount for shorter programs. 

I � Night care [Health Code Section 47.69; 47.01 (o)] 

    Z � Night care is any child care program that provides care between the hours of 5 p.m. 
and 8 a.m. It requires a special permit and supplemental fee [47.03 (c)].

    Z � No child shall spend more than 12 hours of any 24-hour period in night care.

    Z � When possible, children should be left for care before and picked up after their normal 
sleeping hours so as not to disturb their sleep. 

    Z � Get information from the parent about the child’s evening routines, including meals, 
toothbrushing and bedtime, and stick to those routines as closely as possible. 

    Z � Night care programming should be relaxed, quiet and informal.

Hot and Cold Weather [Health Code Section 47.57(d) and 47.57(e)]

Make sure children are appropriately dressed for heat or cold, especially when playing 
outdoors. When it is very hot or very cold, organize safe and active indoor play. In extreme 
weather conditions, the New York City Office of Emergency Management or the National 
Weather Service may recommend dismissing children early or closing the program for the day.

I  Heat

    Z � On designated heat, ozone or air pollution advisory days or during excessive heat 
warnings or watches, keep children and staff comfortable indoors with adequate 
ventilation and/or air-conditioning. 

    Z � Modify activities to prevent heat exhaustion or heat stroke. 

    Z � Make sure children get plenty of water to drink. 

I  Cold

    Z � When outdoor temperatures are below 55 degrees Fahrenheit, maintain indoor air 
temperatures between 68 and 72 degrees Fahrenheit in all areas used by children. 
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Pets [Health Code Section 47.53]

I � Hamsters, gerbils, guinea pigs, rabbits and 
fish are allowed in child care facilities.

I � Pets should be in good health, with no 
signs of disease, and should pose no threat 
to children (bites, poisonous venom, etc.).

I � Pets must be kept in cages, and the  
cages should be cleaned daily or more 
often if needed. 

I � Reptiles, dogs and cats are prohibited from 
child care facilities [Health Code 161.01]. 

Children can learn developmentally 
appropriate skills by caring for a class pet 
or having supervised time with animals. 
However, providers must consider the 
potential for bites, allergic reactions and 
whether the animal has been vaccinated 
for rabies. Child care programs are 
permitted to keep only specific types of 
small animals, as noted to the left. 
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A Safe and Healthy Place

Child care facilities must meet minimum standards of 
safety, comfort and security. Children must be able to 
move about easily at all times of the day. Every facility 
must maintain the standards detailed in the  
following sections.

Indoor Facilities and Space [Health Code 
Section 47.41; 47.57 [f]; 47.39; 47.41 (h)]

Alert the Health Department to any changes to the child 
care facility (47.09). 

I � During service operating hours, use approved child 
care rooms and areas exclusively for any children in 
care. Do not share them with other children or adults.

I � Allot at least 30 square feet of wall-to-wall classroom 
space per child.

I � Install protective guards on columns, radiators, poles 
or other potentially harmful structures. 

Location

Programs that received a permit after 1989 can be on 
the first, second or third floor (unless FDNY, DOB and 
DOHMH approvals are obtained) 47.41(b). If the program 
received a permit after September 2008, infant/toddler 
services must be on the first floor (unless FDNY, DOB 
and DOHMH approvals are obtained) 47.41(c). 

Exits (Egress) [Health Code Section 47.11 (b)]

Your facility must have:

I � At least two exits, not including a fire escape. A fire 
escape is not an approved means of egress for child 
care programs. [47.41(a)]

I � Readable, lighted exit signs on all exits

I � Unobstructed hallways, stairs, doors and exits

I � A panic bar—an easy-push, latch-releasing 
crossbar—between 34 and 48 inches from the floor, 
on the inside of every exterior door

I � Exits must be separated by no less than half (1/2) 
the diagonal distance from one corner of the 
building to the other to ensure that all exits are 
useable in an emergency. 

I � In facilities with sprinklers throughout, exits must be 
no less than 1/3 the diagonal distance of the building. 
Infant/toddler-only programs must have sprinklers.

Provide safety plans for

1. �Catastrophic or sudden failure 
of building systems

  a. Power failures

  b. �Loss of potable water supply 
(water that is safe to drink)

  c. Internal flooding

  d. Rupture of sewage lines

  e. Structural failures

2. Smoke and fire events

3. Storms and inclement weather

For these and other emergency 
circumstances, include in the 
Safety Plan procedures for 
sheltering in place, in-building 
relocation and partial or  
total evacuation.

Safety Plan Guidelines 
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Alarms [Health Code Section 47.59]

(Appendix: Site Viability Checklist)

Every child care facility must have: 

I � Fire alarm systems (manual and automatic)

I � Smoke and carbon monoxide detectors with alarms 
that can be heard everywhere

I � An individual holding a Certificate of Fitness for 
Supervision of Fire Alarm Systems and Other Related 
Systems on-site during service operating hours 
(Appendix: Application for Certificate of Fitness: S-95)

I � An individual holding a Certificate of Fitness for 
conducting a fire drill on site during service operating 
hours. (F-07 or W-07)

Security 

The facility’s entrances must be:

I � Monitored by staff and/or electronic or other 
surveillance allowing unobstructed views

I � Secured with passkey identification or other  
means of limiting access to staff, parents and  
other authorized persons

Post in a prominent place: 
 
t  Emergency procedures 

t  Telephone numbers for: 

   n � Police (precinct near you)

   n � Fire Department

   n � Poison Control Center

   n � Child Abuse Hotline 

   n � Health Department Child 
Care Bureau Office

EMERGENCIES
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Window Guards or Limiting Devices

All windows except those opening onto fire escapes 
should have window guards or limiting devices. Only 
City-approved types of window guards and limiting 
devices and installation methods are allowed.

Fire Safety [Health Code Section 47.59] 

I � Child care programs must conduct and log fire drills 
monthly. Facilities must also have: 

    Z � Working, approved and inspected fire extinguishers 

    Z � Protective guards around heaters (no space 
heaters allowed)

    Z � Approved range hoods (exhaust fans) and fire 
suppression systems for gas stoves and ovens

    Z � No electrical, chemical, mechanical or other  
fire hazards 

I � Programs must have a fire safety plan [47.11 (b)(9)]  
that includes: 

    Z � Fire prevention strategies

    Z � Evacuation routes

    Z � Procedures for informing, supervising, evacuating 
and accounting for children and staff

    Z � Safe places to shelter (refuge) outside the facility

    Z � Coordination with local fire officials during the 
FDNY inspection

    Z � Procedures for notifiying parents and authorities

Kitchen and Food Handling Safety [Health 
Code Section 47.61 and Article 81]

Store, prepare and serve food according to Article 81  
of the Code. You do not need an additional food  
service permit. 

A food service operations supervisor holding a Food 
Protection Certificate must supervise the kitchen. He 
or she must be on the premises to oversee storage, 
preparation, cooking, cold and hot holding and cleaning. 
He or she is also needed when the program provides or 
serves food at another location.

I � Follow time and temperature requirements when 
working with food: 

    Z � Review Article 81.09 for required temperatures 
and safe amounts of time for storing, preparing 
and cooking specific foods.

    Z � Use a thermometer to monitor temperature in hot 
and cold storage and during food preparation. 

I � Follow hygienic practices when working with  
food [81.13]:

    Z � Protect food from contamination (spoilage or 
introduction of bacteria or foreign objects like 
hair or garbage). 

    Z � Do not work if you knowingly have an infection  
or contagious illness.

    Z � Wear hairnets and clean washable clothes, 
and change as often as necessary to prevent 
contamination.

    Z � Wash hands and exposed parts of arms 
thoroughly with soap and water before starting 
work and after using the toilet, smoking, sneezing 
or coughing, eating, drinking or otherwise getting 
hands dirty.

    Z � Wash hands before putting on gloves.

    Z � Wear gloves or use other barrier methods, like 
tongs or wax paper, to protect ready-to-eat foods 
from bare-handed contact.

Have this emergency 
equipment on-hand:

t  First aid kit

t � At least two unexpired 
epinephrine auto-injectors 
with retractable needles in 
each dosage appropriate 
for children.

t � Automated external 
defibrillator (AED) for CPR

t  Medevac chair 

t  Child-size stretchers

t  Go Bag  

EMERGENCIES
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Pest Control [Health Code Section 47.51] 

(Appendix: Keep Your Child Care Center Free from Pests)

I � Prevention

    Z � Store trash, garbage and food in sealed pest-proof 
containers with tight lids.

    Z � Get rid of clutter.

    Z � Fill and seal any holes and cracks in the floors, 
baseboards and around pipes with proper materials.

    Z � Install door sweeps to keep pests from moving 
between rooms. 

    Z � Place glue traps and rodent bait only in  
tamper-resistant containers where children 
cannot reach them.

I � Extermination

    Z � Hire only licensed professionals certified by the 
New York State Department of Environmental 
Conservation to apply pesticides.

    Z � Ask exterminators to use the least toxic methods 
and substances.

    Z � Keep a record of all pesticides used. Certain 
pesticides are illegal for use in a child care setting. 

    Z � Notify parents no less than 48 hours in advance 
of pesticide application, and specify where, when 
and what products will be used. Provide the name 
and telephone number of a staff member who 
they can contact for more information. (You can 
find notification language at 47.51 (c)(4).)

Lead Paint and Lead Poisoning Prevention 
[Health Code Section 47.63] 

Child care facilities must be lead-free. Before opening, 
the program operator or building owner must conduct 
lead testing or certify the facility is free from lead-based 
paint. 

�Any repairs to prevent lead poisoning must be made 
immediately. Hire an EPA-certified contractor for repairs. 

I � Follow the U.S Environmental Protection Agency’s 
(EPA’s) “3Ts” for reducing lead in drinking water from 
faucets and fountains:

    Z  �Train program staff to raise awareness about lead 
hazards, their causes and health effects. 

    Z  �Test drinking water to identify potential problems 
and take corrective action.

    Z  �Tell parents and staff about monitoring 
programs, potential lead risks and the results of 
testing and remediation. 

I � If drinking water lead level tests at or above 15 parts 
per billion (ppb), the permit holder must submit  
a CAP to the Health Department and take  
corrective action as recommended by the EPA,  
such as removing fixtures and finding alternate 
sources of water.
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Plumbing and Bathrooms [Health Code 
Section 47.43]

I � Use only a licensed plumber for sink and  
toilet installation. 

I � Post hand-washing procedures over each sink 
(bathrooms, diaper changing area, etc.). 

I � Provide one toilet and one hand-wash sink for every 
15 children ages 24 months and older. 

I � Keep potties only in bathrooms. Wash and  
disinfect them after each use in a sink that is not 
used for handwashing.

I � Locate bathrooms with toilets and sinks near 
classrooms and play areas. 

I � Do not allow hand-wash water to be hotter than 115 
degrees Fahrenheit. 

I � Ensure that sinks are equipped with liquid soap 
dispensers and individual paper towels or  
sanitary driers. 

I � Position sinks, soap and paper towels or driers where 
children can reach them. 

I � Provide separate adult bathroom facilities.

Diaper Changing [Health Code Section 47.43 (h)] 

I � Provide a firm, nonabsorbent, easily cleanable 
surface and disposable covers for changing diapers. 
It should be counter height, in or next to a classroom, 
and beside a sink with hot and cold water.

I � Disinfect the counter using a labeled spray bottle 
of approved surface disinfectant, and put a new 
disposable cover on the surface after each  
diaper change.

I � Throw out soiled disposable diapers in an easily 
accessible container with secure lid and removable 
plastic liner. Use another container for cloth diapers. 

I � Wear disposable rubber gloves when changing diapers. 

Air and Light [Health Code Section 47.45]

I � Ventilate every room used by children to prevent 
overheating, drafts, dust, fumes, odors or  
excessive moisture. 

I � Light all these areas well, with lighting that is  
bright, evenly spread and free from glare, flickering  
or shadows. 

I � Lighting and ventilation may be natural or artificial. 

I � Minimum illumination requirements can be found in 
the Health Code at 47.45 (b)(1-6).

Furniture and Equipment [Health Code 
Section 47.55]

I � Tables, chairs and other equipment should be age 
and size appropriate, finished with nontoxic,  
lead-free surface coverings and cleaned and 
sanitized as needed. 

I � For each child who spends more than four hours a 
day there, the facility must have a cot, crib, mat or 
playpen approved by the U.S. Consumer Product 
Safety Commission (see Naps, page 19).

Outdoor Space [Health Code Section 47.47]

Programs must provide child-suitable and easily 
accessible outdoor play areas, either on-site or nearby, 
per the following requirements:

I � Outdoor areas must be free of broken glass, debris, 
poisonous plants, pests or other hazards. 
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I � Rooftop play areas are allowed on fireproof buildings 
with the approval of the Health Department, 
Department of Buildings and the Fire Department. 

I � Outdoor equipment, such as swings, slides and 
climbing apparatus, shall be:

    Z � Age and developmentally appropriate

    Z � Installed, used and maintained according to 
manufacturers’ specifications

    Z � Free from hazards, including sharp edges and 
toxic materials such as lead and arsenic

I � Fences

    Z � On-site outdoor play areas must be enclosed by 
climb-proof fencing at least 5 feet high. 

    Z � Razors or barbed wire may be used only on fences 
that are more than 6.5 feet high. 

    Z � Rooftop fences must be at least 10 feet high, with 
an added 45-degree inwardly angled panel.

I � Resilient surfaces, not containing asphalt or  
cement, shall be installed under and around elevated 
play equipment.

I � Equipment and surfaces must be approved by the 
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. 

Water Safety [Health Code Section 47.57 (i)]

Swimming is prohibited without a properly trained 
supervisor and pool safety plan. Child care programs 
must obtain written approval from the Health 
Department before offering any swimming or aquatic 
activities. Aquatic activities for group child care 
programs are limited to learn to swim or water safety 
programs that use supervision rules approved by the 
State Commissioner of Health. These rules protect 
children from injury or drowning. Aquatic activities 
must be conducted per the child care program’s written 
Safety Plan and Health Code section 47.57 (i).

30



To find this center’s full inspection history or to sign up to receive text 
and email updates, visit nyc.gov and search NYC Child Care Connect. 

If you have a concern about this child care program, call 311. 
Issued on 2/1/18 
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Every Child Care Program 
Can Perform Well

The New York City Health Department now issues and requires 
all group child care programs to publicly post a performance 
summary card. This card displays important information about 
your program and its performance. Follow the steps below to 
avoid commonly cited violations. For more detailed information, 
visit nyc.gov/health/childcare.

Hire staff with required qualifications
•	� Staff the classrooms only with teachers who  

have the required qualifications for the age  
group they supervise. 

•	� Be sure to have a qualified educational director. 
This person is responsible for training staff,  
developing the educational curriculum, monitoring 
the emotional and cognitive development of  
enrolled children, and supervising teaching staff.

Keep records showing that all staff have 
needed clearances
•	� Obtain and file written consents for fingerprinting, 

screening by the Statewide Central Register  
of Child Abuse and Maltreatment (SCR), and 
criminal background checks for anyone who 
might have unsupervised contact with children. 
File all clearances and contact the Health  
Department if any findings require notification.

•	� Obtain and file completed Mandated Reporter 
training certificates.

•	� Obtain and file certificates of medical clearance 
from licensed health care providers stating that 
staff can perform their duties.

•	� Make sure that SCR screenings, medical clearances 
and Mandated Reporter training certificates are 
updated every two years. 

Supervise children at all times
•	� Maintain the minimum staff-to-child ratios. The 

number of staff depends on the age of the children. 

•	� Make sure a qualified staff person has a clear line 
of sight of all children at all times.

Keep records showing that all enrolled  
children have needed medical clearances
•	� Prior to admission, provide parents with the child 

health examination form to be completed by the 
child’s health care provider.

•	� Review each child’s medical record before their 
first day, making sure that each child had a  
complete check-up, including a physical exam, 
required immunizations, nutritional evaluation, 
lead screening and developmental assessment.

Maintain a clean facility
•	� Keep all indoor and outdoor rooms, play areas, 

furniture and equipment clean and in good  
condition. 

•	� Clean floors either at the start or end of each day. 

•	� Provide sinks with hot (not exceeding 115oF) and 
cold running water near all toilets. Make sure that 
staff and children wash hands before and after 
using the toilet or changing diapers.

Be prepared in case of fire
•	� Maintain working, approved and inspected fire 

extinguishers.

•	� Properly install and maintain an interior fire  
alarm system.

•	� Conduct at least one fire drill per month and 
keep drill records, noting the date, time, number 
of participants and outcome. 

•	� Post clear and visible exit signs, and make sure 
exits are unobstructed, or clear of obstacles,  
at all times.
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This checklist will help make sure your child care program is in compliance with Article 47 of the New York City 
Health Code. Routinely review the questions on this checklist to make sure that you can answer yes (Y) to all 
of them. This checklist covers many, but not all, requirements for group child care programs. For a complete 
description of all requirements described in Article 47, visit nyc.gov/health and search for Health Code.

Y/N
Does your program have a qualified Education 
Director on-site during child care hours? §47.13

Are the number of children present NOT more than 
the capacity number on your permit? §47.05  

Do staff on-site have the required qualifications? 
§47.13, §47.15, §47.17

Do staff on-site have the required, up-to-date 
criminal justice and child abuse clearances? §47.19

Does your program have the required staff-to-child 
ratios? §47.23

Does a qualified staff person have a clear line of 
sight of all the children at all times? §47.23

Does your program have at least one staff person 
present who is certified in CPR and first aid, and 
at least one staff person present who is trained 
in administering emergency medications? §47.23, 
§47.29

Do you have an up-to-date, comprehensive written 
safety plan on-site? §47.11

Do you have on-site, required medical records, 
including immunization records and documentation 
of medical exams, of all the children in your care? 
§47.25

Do you keep a daily attendance record of all the 
children in your care? §47.27

Do you check daily on the health of all the children 
in your care? §47.27

Do you have an adequate area for keeping 
separate children who are sick? §47.27

Do you keep a written emergency plan, with  
emergency and general contact information,  
on-site? §47.29
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DAILY SELF-INSPECTION CHECKLIST  
FOR GROUP CHILD CARE PROGRAMS

Y/N
Do you have at least two epinephrine auto- 
injectors with retractable needles on-site that 
are stored away from the children and have not 
expired? §47.29

Do you have a complete first aid kit that is  
accessible but out of the children's reach? §47.29

Do you maintain a medication administration log? 
§47.31 

If your program is approved to administer  
medication, do you have a medication storage 
area that is clean and not accessible to the  
children, with refrigerated medications kept  
separate from foods? §47.31

Do your staff and the children in your care wash 
their hands thoroughly after visiting the toilet, 
after diaper changing, after contact with any  
child who is sick, after playing outdoors and 
before handling food? §47.35

Do handwashing sinks have liquid soap dispensers 
and paper towels or sanitary dryers that are 
accessible to the children? §47.43g

Are there clearly posted handwashing signs at 
each toilet and at each sink in the child care  
service area? §47.35

Are disposable covers used in the diaper  
changing areas, and are they changed after each 
use? §47.43

Is there a diaper disposal container next to  
the diaper changing area; does it have a tight- 
fitting lid and plastic liners; and is disinfectant  
provided? §47.43

Do staff who are changing diapers wear  
disposable gloves? §47.43
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Y/N
If you have potties in the toilet areas, are they 
properly washed and disinfected after each use? 
§47.43

Is there a change of clothes available so that any 
child who soils clothing may be changed? §47.35

Do you have a clean sheet and Health  
Department-approved cot or other sleeping  
arrangement for each child who spends more  
than four hours in your care? §47.55

Do you prohibit smoking of tobacco or other 
substances in all child care service areas, both 
indoors and outdoors? §47.35

Are all indoor and outdoor areas clean and in 
good repair? §47.47, §47.49

Are all furnishings clean and in good repair? 
§47.55

Are trash and garbage stored in rodent-proof 
containers with tight-fitting lids? §47.49

Is the facility free of rodents, insects and other 
pests, and free of conditions that may attract 
pests? §47.51

Are hallways, stairs and exits clear of obstacles 
at all times? §47.41

Are approved window guards present in all  
windows except the fire-escape windows? §47.41

Are entrances and exits monitored and secured? 
§47.41

Is the outdoor play equipment well-maintained  
and free of hazards? §47.47

Are cleaning products, such as detergent and 
bleach, stored in a place that is not accessible to 
the children? §47.49

Do all exits have clear and visible exit signs  
posted? §47.59

Do you have working, unexpired and inspected  
fire extinguishers? §47.59

Are the facility and its property free of electrical, 
chemical, mechanical and other hazards? §47.59

Do you have working carbon monoxide and smoke 
detectors with clear and loud alarms? §47.59
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Is drinking water always available and accessible 
to the children, and if used, is the bubbler fountain 
well-maintained? §47.61

Is all served food prepared and stored safely  
(according to Article 81 of the Health Code)? §47.61

Is milk stored below 41 degrees Fahrenheit and 
used by the expiration date? §47.61

Are dry foods stored in insect-proof and  
rodent-proof containers? §47.61

Are utensils, dishes and other materials used in 
food preparation cleaned and sanitized after use 
or discarded? §47.61

Do your program’s activities promote the physical, 
intellectual and emotional well-being of the  
children in your care? §47.67

Do you have a behavior-management policy posted? 
Are hitting, threatening and humiliating the children 
prohibited? Are the children comforted when in 
distress? §47.67

Do you maintain a written, daily schedule that 
includes indoor and outdoor activities, meals, rest 
periods and opportunities for learning? §47.67

If your program cares for infants, do you provide a 
safe sleep environment, and place infants on their 
backs to sleep? §47.67

Does your program provide at least 60 minutes of 
daily physical activity for children 12 months and 
older, of which at least 30 minutes is structured 
and guided for children 3 years and older? §47.71 

Is the play equipment age-appropriate and  
designed to support physical and motor  
development? §47.71

Do you have daily, scheduled outdoor play (except 
when the weather is bad)? Are the children dressed 
appropriately when playing outdoors? §47.71

Do you prohibit television and video viewing for 
children under 2 years, and do you limit viewing to 
30 minutes of educational programming per week 
for children 2 years and older? §47.71

Do you make sure that the children do not sit  
without physical activity for more than 30 minutes 
at a time, except during scheduled rest or  
naptime? §47.71
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Getting Started
I � Health Code Article 47

I � Performance Summary Card

Following the Law
Inspections and Violations

I � Business Owner’s Bill of Rights

I  Office of Administrative Tribunals and Hearings (OATH)

I � Site Inspection Request

I � Corrective Action Plan 

Parental Access and Right to Know

I � NYC Child Care Connect

Qualified Staff
Staffing Qualifications and Training

I � The Aspire Registry for New York’s Early Childhood Workforce  

Criminal Justice and Child Abuse Screening

I � Criminal Justice Clearance (Fingerprinting)

I � SCR Guidelines: Responding to a State Central Registry for 
Abuse and Maltreatment Inquiry

Safe and Healthy Kids
Medical Care

I � Medical Requirements for Child Care and New School Entrants

I � Immunization Information

I � Communicable Disease Chart for Child Care Providers

I � Epinephrine Auto-injector
   
Daily Attendance

I � Daily Attendance Record Form
 
Authorized Escorts

I � Authorized Escorts List Form

Trips

I � Guidelines for the Trip Coordinator

I � Lost Child Plan Guideline for Programs
 
Transportation

I � Daily Transportation Log Form
 
Nutrition

I � Nutrition Guidelines for Parents
 
Physical Activity

I � Nutrition and Physical Activity Best Practices for Programs

A Safe and Healthy Place
Indoor Facility

I � Site Viability Checklist
 
Alarms

I � Application for Certificate of Fitness for Supervision of  
Fire Alarm Systems and Other Related Systems (S-95)

I � An individual holding a Certificate of Fitness for conducting  
a fire drill must be on site during service operating hours.  
(F-07 or W-07)

 
Kitchen Safety and Food Handling

I � Health Code Article 81: Food Preparation and  
Food Establishments

I � What to Expect When You’re Inspected: A Guide for  
Food Service Operators

 
Pest Control

I � Fact Sheet: Keep Your Child Care Center Free From Pests
 
Lead Paint and Lead Poisoning Prevention 

I � Annual Survey of Paint

Written Safety Plan
I � Safety Plan Guideline

Appendix: Forms, Guides and  
Other Helpful Documents

This Appendix lists the forms and other helpful documents referenced in this guide. To access or print out these 
documents, visit nyc.gov/health/childcare and click on “Information for Child Care Operators.” These tools will 
help you achieve Code compliance. For any questions about Article 47 of the Health Code please contact 311 or 
send an email to childcareinfo@health.nyc.gov.

https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/about/healthcode/health-code-article47.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/example-performance-summary-card.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/site/operations/services/business-owner-bill.page
https://www1.nyc.gov/site/oath/index.page
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/GDC-Site-Inspection-Request.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/dc-cap-guidelines-child-care-programs.pdf
https://a816-healthpsi.nyc.gov/ChildCare/ChildCareList.do
https://nyworksforchildren.org/the-aspire-registry/learn-more/
https://www1.nyc.gov/site/doi/offices/fingerprint-unit.page
https://ocfs.ny.gov/main/cps/Online%20Statewide%20Central%20Register%20Clearance%20System.asp
https://ocfs.ny.gov/main/cps/Online%20Statewide%20Central%20Register%20Clearance%20System.asp
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/school/medical-requirements.pdf
https://www.schools.nyc.gov/docs/default-source/default-document-library/immunization-chart-for-families
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/child-care-reporting-disease-requirements.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/epi-pen-faqs.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/childcare-attendance-form.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/childcare-auth-escort.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/childcare-trip-guidelines.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/cc-lost-child.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/childcare-transportation-form.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/childcare-nutrition-guidelines.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/childcare-phys.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/dc-applicant-site-viability-checklist.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/cof-s95
https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/cof-s95
https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/cof-f07
https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/cof-f07
https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/cof-f07
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/about/healthcode/health-code-article81.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/about/healthcode/health-code-article81.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/rii/blue-book.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/rii/blue-book.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/pest-factsheet-childcare.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/lead/gdc-annual-survey-faqs.pdf
https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/dc/dc-safety-plan-template.pdf
http://nyc.gov/health/childcare
mailto:childcareinfo@health.nyc.gov
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