
Home-Based Day Care
Operator’s Guide to 

License Renewals and Hiring



Renewal Application Deadline
You must submit your renewal application 
at least 60 days before your registration/license
will expire. 

Training
Every two years, you and your staff must each
complete 30 hours of training. The training period
begins at the start date of your current registration/
license and lasts until the date it expires. If this is
your first renewal, the 15 hours of training that
you took for your initial registration/license count
as part of the 30-hour renewal training requirement
– as long as you completed them after you 
submitted your initial application.

The training must cover nine required topics.

The Nine Required Training Topics
1. Principles of childhood development (including

the appropriate supervision of children, meeting
the needs of children with physical or emotional
challenges and behavior management and 
discipline)

2. Nutrition and health needs of children

3. Child day care program development

4. Safety and security procedures, including 
communication between parents and 
caregivers

5. Business record maintenance and management

6. Child abuse and maltreatment identification
and prevention

7. Statutes and regulations pertaining to child 
day care

8. Statutes and regulations pertaining to child
abuse and maltreatment

9. Prevention and identification of shaken 
baby syndrome

You must provide proof that you and your staff
have completed this training when you submit
your renewal application. Proof may consist 

of a certificate, a letter from an instructor on 
letterhead or an attendance roster from the training
organization. These documents must state the
names of those trained, the training taken, the
topics covered, the number of hours you were
trained and the instructor’s name and signature.

CPR and First Aid Certificate 
Whenever the center is operating, there must be
at least one caregiver on site with a valid CPR
and first aid certificate. 

Who Gets Trained?
New assistants or alternate assistants who 
start after you have received initial licensing must
complete at least 15 hours of training in one or
more of the nine required topics during their first
six months at work.

This training counts toward their 30-hour 
requirement. The assistant’s total training 
hours can be prorated to match the percentage 
of time the assistant was employed during the 
licensing period.

Substitutes do not have to take the 30 hours 
of training, as long as

• They only fill in for the provider for 15 days
or fewer during each year of the two-year 
licensing period (no more than 30 days total). 

• They never fill in for the provider for more
than three days in a row. 
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Completing Your Renewal Application



If you operate more than one licensed or
registered family-based day care program, 
you must complete training in the management
and administration of multiple day care sites.

Where to Get Training
Call the New York City Child Care Resource 
and Referral Consortium for information about
training programs. You can also obtain information
about training programs, including the 15-hour
Health and Safety training and free e-learning
and videoconference training, by contacting the
SUNY Early Childhood Education and Training
Program or the New York State Office of Children
& Family Services (OCFS). Please make sure any
online training you complete has been approved
by OCFS and can count toward your 30-hour
training requirement.

How to Get Funds for Training
You may be eligible for training scholarship funds
from the Educational Incentive Program (EIP),
sponsored by OCFS. To request an EIP application,
contact the SUNY Early Childhood Education
and Training Program.

Inspections
The New York City Health Department is 
required to conduct a renewal inspection for 
all family and group family day care homes. 
In addition, 50% of all family and group 
family homes will be inspected annually. 
Inspections are also conducted in 
response to complaints received. 
After inspection, providers will 
receive a letter that includes 
inspection results and a 
deadline for correcting 
violations, if applicable. 

Background Checks and Fingerprinting
Any new staff, volunteers or substitutes hired
since you received your last registration/license
must be fingerprinted. Any new household 
members or household members who have
turned 18 must also be fingerprinted.

Fingerprinting is provided by MorphoTrust USA.
Be sure to take appropriate forms of identification
and the completed Request for NYS Fingerprinting
Services Information Form (OCFS-4930), available
on the OCFS website.

Statewide Central Register of Abuse
and Maltreatment
Any new staff, volunteers or substitutes hired
since you received your last registration/license
must complete and submit a Statewide Central
Register (SCR) form. There is a $25 fee per 
employee when this form is submitted to the
borough office.

Acceptable forms of payment include:

• Certified check

• Postal or bank money order

• Teller’s check

• Cashier’s check

 

3

Hiring New Caregivers



EH
S3

30
50

21
 –

4.
14

Please make the check or money order payable 
to New York State Office of Children and Family
Services and include the applicant’s name. A fee
is not required for child care program volunteers
or consultants or for household members.

You must also complete and submit a new 
SCR form for any new household members or
household members who have turned 18 and
who were not cleared by the SCR since the 
last registration. Please submit this form as 
soon as possible.

Staff Exclusion List (SEL)
You must request the New York State Justice
Center for the Protection of People with Special
Needs to conduct a check of the SEL for all 
caregivers and volunteers hired after June 30, 2013.

Provider or Staff Name Change
If your name or any of your employees’ names 
has changed, you must

• Submit a copy of the person’s government-
issued photo ID with the renewal
application materials.

• Alert your registrar by phone.

Staff References 
Any new staff and substitutes must submit three
references (one from a past employer and two
personal). If the new employee has no past 
professional experience, he or she must provide
three personal references.

Medical Statements
Any new assistants, substitutes and household
members must submit medical statements signed
by a physician within 12 months before the 
expiration date of the registration/license.
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Resources:
New York City Health Department 
Bureau of Child Care

nyc.gov/health/childcare
311

New York State Office of Children 
& Family Services (OCFS)

http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/childcare
(518) 474-9454

New York City Child Care Resource 
and Referral Consortium

http://www.nycchildcareconsortium.org/ 
(888) 469-5999

SUNY Early Childhood Education 
and Training Program

albany.edu/earlychildhood
(800) 295-9616

LiveScan Fingerprinting MorphoTrust USA
IdentoGO.com
(877) 472-6915

www.nyc.gov/health/childcare
http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/childcare
http://www.nycchildcareconsortium.org/
www.albany.edu/earlychildhood
www.IdentoGO.com

