Health

Animal Abuse Registration Act Frequently Asked Questions

What is the New York City Animal Abuse Registration Act?

It is a law that

e Requires people convicted of an animal abuse crime to register with the New York City Animal
Abuse Registry.

e Prohibits those required to register from owning, possessing, residing with, having custody of, or
intentionally engaging in any physical contact with any animal.

e Requires employees of certain animal-related businesses or organizations to check the registry and
refuse to sell or transfer ownership of an animal to anyone listed.

Who must be listed on the registry?

A person must register if he or she was convicted of an animal abuse crime after October 2, 2014, and

e Resides in New York City

e Was at least 18 years old at the time of conviction

e Was released from incarceration less than five years ago or, if there was no incarceration, was
sentenced less than five years ago

What is an animal abuse crime?

The act defines an animal abuse crime as a conviction for

e Animal fighting, as defined in New York State (NYS) Agriculture and Markets Law Section 351;

e Overdriving, torturing or injuring animals; failure to provide proper sustenance, as defined in NYS
Agriculture and Markets Law Section 353;

e Aggravated cruelty to animals, as defined in NYS Agriculture and Markets Law Section 353;

e Electrocution of fur-bearing animals, as defined in NYS Agriculture and Markets Law Section 353(c);

e Abandonment of animals, as defined in NYS Agriculture and Markets Law Section 355;

e Failure to provide proper food and drink to an impounded animal, as defined in NYS Agriculture and
Markets Law Section 356;

e Poisoning or attempting to poison animals, as defined in NYS Agriculture and Markets Law Section
360;

e Interference with or injury to certain domestic animals, as defined in NYS Agriculture and Markets
Law Section 361;

e Harming a service animal in the first degree, as defined in NYS Penal Code Section 242.15; or

e An offense in any other jurisdiction which includes all of the essential elements of any crime listed
above.

How does registration work?

People who need to register should call 311 and ask for the Animal Abuse Registry or email
animalabuseregistry@health.nyc.gov within five days of being released from incarceration or within five
days of sentencing, if there was no incarceration. The Health Department will schedule an in-person
appointment.

People who are appealing a conviction do not need to register.

Updated 9/7/2016


mailto:animalabuseregistry@health.nyc.gov
mailto:animalabuseregistry@health.nyc.gov

What information is required for registration?
The Health Department will take a photograph of the registrant and will collect this information:

e Name and all aliases e Eye color

e Date of birth e Home address and/or expected place of residence
o Sex e Driver’s license or non-driver photo ID card number
e Complexion e Description of the animal abuse crime

e Race or ethnicity e Conviction date

e Height and weight e Sentence imposed

The registrant must contact the Health Department to update information
e Each year, within 20 days of the first registration date
e Within five days of any change in information

How long does a person stay on the registry?
e Five years following release from incarceration or sentencing date, whichever is later, or
e Ten years following the date of any subsequent animal abuse crime

Which groups must check the registry before transferring an animal?
e Animal rescue groups working in New York City
e Animal shelters operating in New York City
e Dog and cat protective associations incorporated in New York State
e Humane societies incorporated in New York State
e Societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals incorporated in New York State
e Petshopsin New York City
e Veterinarians working in New York City

How can these groups check the registry?
To get access to the registry, visit nyc.gov/health/animalabuseregistry and select the button “Access the
Registry”. Registration is required.

All groups required by law to check the registry must do so before they transfer any animal to an individual
either by sale or adoption.

Who else has access to registry information?
Law enforcement agencies and the district attorney offices in New York City also have access to registry
information.

What are the limitations on registry use?
Registry information may only be used to comply with the New York City Animal Abuse Registration Act,
not for any other purpose.

What is the punishment for violating the act?

People who fail to register as required or who interact with an animal when prohibited may be punished with
up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Updated 9/7/2016



	What is the New York City Animal Abuse Registration Act?
	Who must be listed on the registry?
	What is an animal abuse crime?
	How does registration work?
	What information is required for registration?
	How long does a person stay on the registry?
	Which groups must check the registry before transferring an animal?
	How can these groups check the registry?
	Who else has access to registry information?
	What are the limitations on registry use?
	What is the punishment for violating the act?

