
 
 

New Law  
Minimum price for cigarettes is now $13.00 

 

General Information 

In August 2017, New York City passed Local Law 145, which requires that retailers sell cigarettes for a minimum retail 
price of $13.00 per pack. This document explains the purpose of this law and offers guidance on how to comply with its 
requirements. 

Why is increasing the price of cigarettes important? 

Tobacco use is a leading cause of early, preventable death in New York City, and can lead to cancer, heart disease, lung 
disease, and other serious and negative health effects. Increasing the price of tobacco has been shown to decrease 
tobacco use among youth and adults by discouraging them from starting to smoke and encouraging people who smoke 
to quit or cut back. 

How to Comply 

What does this law require? 

The law requires licensed tobacco retailers to sell cigarettes for no less than $13.00 per pack, including all applicable 
taxes (for example, sales and excise tax).  

Which businesses does this law apply to? 

This law applies to all businesses in New York City.  

Effective Dates and Enforcement 

When does this law go into effect? 

This law goes into effect on June 1, 2018. 

How will the law be enforced? 

• DCA will enforce minimum prices for cigarettes as a part of their regular inspections of licensed tobacco 
retailers.  

• If a business sells or offers to sell packages of cigarettes for less than the minimum price of $13.00, it will be 
subject to a $1,000 civil penalty for the first violation on the day of inspection, $2,000 for a second violation and 
$5,000 for a third within five years. 

Visit http://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/businesses/inspection-checklists.page to ensure you are in compliance with the law.  
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