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Proof of Age
•  �Make sure that customers who ask for tobacco products, 

electronic cigarettes or vaping products, or non-tobacco 
smoking products, such as herbal cigarettes, non-tobacco 
shisha, pipes or rolling papers, are at least 21 years old. 
If a customer looks like they are younger than 30 years 
old, you must ask for acceptable proof of age. 

Registration and Licensing 
•  �To sell any tobacco products or herbal cigarettes,  

you will need valid registration from the New York 
State (NYS) Department of Taxation and Finance (DTF). 

•  �To sell cigarettes or other tobacco products, you  
also need a tobacco retail dealer license from the  
New York City (NYC) Department of Consumer and 
Worker Protection (DCWP).

•  �To sell electronic cigarettes, you must have applied to 
NYC DCWP for an electronic cigarette retail dealer license. 
Effective December 1, 2019, electronic cigarette retail 
dealers will also need to obtain valid registration from NYS 
DFT. Visit tax.ny.gov/bus/vpt for more information.

•  �For both tobacco and electronic cigarette retail dealers, 
in 2018 a system went into effect restricting the  
availability of new licenses, with some exceptions,  
until license reduction goals are met. More information 
is available at nyc.gov/dca.

Restrictions on Public Access to  
Tobacco Products 
•  �Keep all tobacco products, shisha, herbal cigarettes, 

electronic cigarettes and vaping products behind a 
counter (in an area available only to employees) or  
in a locked cabinet. 

•  �Do not have a vending machine in any location other 
than at a tavern or other legally permitted location. 
Vending machines must be located in places not  
accessible to the general public. 

Signage
•  �Post the proof of age sign and tax stamp sign provided 

in this kit where your customers can easily see them. 

•  �Effective September 12, 2019, any business that offers 
electronic cigarettes or electronic cigarette liquids for 
sale, must post the NYS Department of Health vaping 
sign in a conspicuous place. Visit ny.gov and search  
for vaping poster.

•  �Businesses that sell “bidis” and/or “gutka” must post an 
additional sign. 

Overview of Major New York City and State Tobacco Laws

For more information, call 311 or visit 
nyc.gov and search “tobacco laws.” 

Products, Packaging and Pricing 
•  �Only sell tobacco products in the manufacturer’s 

packaging consistent with minimum required pack 
sizes. Do not sell single cigarettes or single little 
cigars (“loosies”).

•  �Effective December 1, 2019, a new 20% supplemental 
sales tax will apply to retail sales of vapor products in 
New York. Visit tax.ny.gov/bus/vpt for more information.

•  �Do not sell, offer to sell or transport any pack of  
cigarettes that does not have a valid NYC/NYS  
tax stamp.

•  �Retailers can purchase cigarettes and other tobacco 
products only from a manufacturer or licensed  
wholesale dealer.

•  �“Bidis,” “beedies” or “gutka” can be sold only  
at tobacco bars. 

Additional Regulation
•  �Employees younger than 18 years old cannot sell, 

dispense or handle a tobacco product without direct 
supervision of someone who is at least 18 years old 
and present on the premises. 

Product  
(minimum  
pack size)

Price floor
Other  

tobacco product 
(OTP) tax

Total  
minimum 

price

Cigarette  
(20-pack) $13 n/a  $13*

Single cigar  
(no minimum  
pack size)

$8 $0.25† $8 + $0.25  
= $8.25**

Four-pack of cigars  
(no minimum  
pack size)

$8 for the first cigar 
+ [$1.75 x 3 cigars 
($5.25)] = $13.25

$0.25 x 4 cigars  
= $1† 

$13.25 + $1  
= 14.25** 

Shisha (3.5 oz.) $17.00 per 3.5  oz. $1.70 per 3.5 oz.
$17.00 + 
$1.70 = 

$18.70**

Little cigars  
(20-pack) $10.95 $1.09 $12.04** 

*Includes sales tax. 
**Excludes sales tax. Sales tax (8.875%) should be calculated based on the total minimum price.  
†OTP tax for cigars can also be calculated via an alternative method, based on the original size 
of the box from which the cigars were sold.
Visit nyc.gov and search “tobacco laws” for more detailed information on new price, package 
and tax laws in NYC, including minimum prices for other products and package sizes.

Price Minimum Examples

DCWP inspectors visit businesses that sell tobacco to make sure they are following NYC and NYS tobacco laws. The 
NYC Department of Finance regularly inspects businesses to ensure that tobacco taxes have been paid. Undercover 
officers and inspectors will visit you to make sure that you and your employees are following the law.



السعر الأدنىالمنتج 
ضريبة منتجات 
التبغ الأخرى 
)OTP ضريبة(

السعر الأدنى 
الإجمالي

 سجائر 
)علبة من 20 

سيجارة( 
 13 دولارًا *لا تنطبق13 دولارًا 

 سيجار واحد 
)لا يوجد حد أدنى 

لحجم العبوة(
0.25 دولار † 8 دولارات 

8 دولارات + 
0.25 دولار = 

8.25 دولارات**

عبوة من أربعة 
سيجارات )لا 
يوجد حد أدنى 

لحجم العبوة(

8 دولارات للسيجار 
الأول + ]1.75 دولار 

x 3 سيجارات 
)5.25 دولارات([ = 

13.25 دولارًا

 4 x 0.25 دولار
 سيجارات 

= دولارًا واحدًا† 

13.25 دولار + 
 دولار واحد = 

 14.25 دولارًا ** 

الشيشة )3.5 
أونصات(

17.00 دولارًا لكل 
3.5 أونصات.

1.70 دولارًا لكل 
3.5 أونصات.

17.00 دولارًا + 
1.70 دولار= 

18.70 دولارًا**

 السيجار الصغيرة 
)عبوة بحجم 20 

سيجارة(
12.04 دولارًا** 1.09 دولار 10.95 دولارات

 *يشمل ضريبة المبيعات.
 **لا يشمل ضريبة المبيعات. تُحسب ضريبة المبيعات )8.875 %( بناءً على السعر الأدنى الإجمالي. 

†يمكن حساب ضريبة منتجات التبغ الأخرى )ضريبة OTP( للسيجارات التي تُباع بطريقة أخرى بديلة، وذلك على 
أساس الحجم الأصلي للعبوة التي تباع منها السيجارات.

يرجى زيارة موقع nyc.gov والبحث عن "tobacco laws" )قوانين التبغ( للاطلاع على مزيد من المعلومات 
المفصلة حول الأسعار الجديدة وقوانين الضرائب والتعبئة في مدينة نيويورك، بما يشمل الحد الأدنى من الأسعار 

للمنتجات الأخرى وأحجام العبوات الأخرى.

Arabic

إثبات السن
•  �تأكد من أن جميع الزبائن الذين يطلبون منتجات التبغ، أو السجائر الإلكترونية أو 

منتجات التدخين الالكتروني أو منتجات التدخين الخالية من التبغ، كالسجائر 
المصنعة من الأعشاب، أو الشيشة الخالية من التبغ، أو الغليون، أو أوراق لف 

السجائر، لا تقل أعمارهم عن 21 عامًا. كما يتعين عليك طلب إثبات مقبول للسن 
من أي زبون يبدو عمره أقل من 30 عامًا. 

التسجيل والترخيص 
•  �لتتمكن من بيع أي من منتجات التبغ أو السجائر المصنعة من الأعشاب سوف 
 تحتاج إلى تسجيل صالح من إدارة الشؤون الضريبية والمالية بولاية نيويورك 

 (New York State (NYS) Department of Taxation and
.Finance, DTF)

•  �لبيع السجائر أو غيرها من منتجات التبغ، تحتاج أيضًا إلى ترخيص تاجر بيع 
 (Department of بالتجزئة من إدارة حماية المستهلك والعامل

(Consumer and Worker Protection, DCWP في مدينة 
نيويورك.

•  �ولبيع السجائر الإلكترونية، يتعين عليك تقديم طلب إلى إدارة حماية المستهلك والعامل 
)DCWP( في مدينة نيويورك للحصول على ترخيص لتجارة السجائر الإلكترونية 

بالتجزئة. اعتبارًا من 1 ديسمبر 2019، سيحتاج تجار بيع السجائر الإلكترونية 
بالتجزئة أيضًا إلى الحصول على تسجيل سارٍ من إدارة الشؤون الضريبية والمالية 
بولاية نيويورك )DFT(. قم بزيارة tax.ny.gov/bus/vpt للحصول على 

المزيد من المعلومات.
•  �بالنسبة لكل من تجار بيع التبغ والسجائر الإلكترونية بالتجزئة، في عام 2018، 

دخل نظام حيز التنفيذ يقيد توافر التراخيص الجديدة، مع وجود بعض الاستثناءات، 
حتى يتم تحقيق أهداف تخفيض الترخيص. ويتوافر المزيد من المعلومات على 

.nyc.gov/dca الموقع

القيود المفروضة على حصول الجمهور على منتجات التبغ 
•  �يجب إبقاء جميع منتجات التبغ والشيشة والسجائر المصنوعة من الأعشاب 

والسجائر الإلكترونية ومنتجات التدخين الالكتروني بعيدًا عن متناول الجمهور 
)وفي مكان لا يصل إليه سوى الموظفين( أو في خزانة مقفلة. 

•  �لا توضع آلات البيع في أي موقع إلا في حانة أو في غيرها من الأماكن المسموح 
بها. يجب أن توضع آلات البيع في أماكن بعيدة عن متناول الجمهور. 

اللافتات
•  �توضع لافتة إثبات العمر وختم الضريبة الموضحين في هذه المجموعة الإرشادية 

في موضع يتمكن زبائنك من رؤيتهما فيه بسهولة. 
•  �اعتبارًا من 12 سبتمبر 2019، يجب على أي شركة تعرض سجائر إلكترونية أو 
سوائل سجائر إلكترونية للبيع، أن تنشر علامة تدخين السجائر الإلكترونية الخاصة 

بإدارة الصحة في ولاية نيويورك في مكان بارز. قم بزيارة ny.gov وابحث 
عن vaping poster )ملصق التدخين الالكتروني(.

•  �يتعين على الشركات التي تبيع سجائر "البيدي" و/أو خليط "الغوتكا" أن تضع 
لافتة إضافية خاصة بهما. 

نبذة عن قوانين مدينة نيويورك وولاية نيويورك الرئيسية الخاصة بالتبغ

 للمزيد من المعلومات، يُرجى الاتصال بالرقم 311 أو زيارة الموقع nyc.gov والبحث عن 
"tobacco laws" )منتجات التبغ(. 

أمثلة الحد الأدنى للأسعار

تم التحديث في شتاء 2019

هل لديك
بطاقة 
هوية

المنتجات وتغليفها وتسعيرها 
•  �اعتبارًا من 1 ديسمبر 2019، سيتم تطبيق ضريبة مبيعات تكميلية جديدة قدرها 

20% على مبيعات التجزئة لمنتجات التدخين الإلكترونية في نيويورك. قم بزيارة 
tax.ny.gov/bus/vpt للحصول على المزيد من المعلومات. 

•  �لا تباع منتجات التبغ إلا في العبوات التي تقدمها الشركة المصنعة والتي تتوافق مع 
الحد الأدنى المفروض لأحجام العبوات. لا يجوز بيع سجائر مفردة أو السيجار 

الصغير بوحدة واحدة )"سائبة"(.
•  �لا يجوز بيع أي عبوة سجائر لا تحمل ختم ضرائب مدينة نيويورك/ولاية نيويورك 

بشكل واضح ولا عرضها للبيع ولا نقلها.
•  �لا يجوز لباعة التجزئة شراء السجائر وغيرها من منتجات التبغ إلا من الشركة 

المصنعة أو من بائع الجملة المرخص له.
•  �لا يجوز بيع سجائر "البيدي" أو "البييدي" أو خليط "الغوتكا" إلا في أماكن بيع 

منتجات التبغ.

لوائح إضافية
•  �لا يجوز للموظفين الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 18 عامًا بيع أي من منتجات التبغ 

أو توزيعها أو تداولها إلا بإشراف مباشر من شخص لا يقل عمره عن 18 
عامًا يتواجد بالمنشآت. 

يزور مفتشو إدارة حماية المستهلك والعمال )DCWP( أماكن بيع التبغ للتأكد من اتباعها قوانين مدينة نيويورك وولاية نيويورك الخاصة بالتبغ. تفتش إدارة المالية 
بمدينة نيويورك )NYC Department of Finance( بانتظام على تلك الأماكن للتأكد من دفعها ضرائب التبغ. سيزورك موظفون ومفتشون مستترون للتأكد من 

التزامك أنت وموظفيك بالقانون. 


