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What are the requirements for tobacco retailers?
Tobacco laws, including Local Law 97 or “Sensible Tobacco Enforcement,”  
established definitions and requirements for tobacco retailers.”

Requirements
Signage Requirements
What signs are required?  
The law requires retailers who sell cigarettes, other tobacco products, electronic  
cigarettes, shisha, pipes, rolling papers or smoking paraphernalia to post two signs 
in highly visible places:
1. �Age Restriction Sign: A current age restriction sign, stating the additional products that 

cannot be sold to people younger than 21 years old.
2. �Tax Stamp Sign: A sign stating that all cigarettes sold in New York City must be in 

packages bearing a valid New York City and State tax stamp. 
What is the penalty for failing to post these signs?  
Retailers who fail to post the required signs will be subject to a fine of up to $500  
for each violation. 
When did the sign requirements take effect?
1. The current age restriction sign went into effect on April 14, 2018.  
2. The tax stamp sign requirement went into effect on March 19, 2014.

Retail Dealer Definition
What is the definition?  
The definition of tobacco retail dealer is any person who sells cigarettes or tobacco products. 
A tobacco retail dealer must have a valid New York City tobacco retail dealer license, have a 
valid New York State Certificate of Registration to sell cigarettes or tobacco products, and pay 
required taxes on cigarettes and other tobacco products they have. 
Who is not covered by the retail dealer definition?  
The retail dealer definition does not apply to any person delivering cigarettes or other 
tobacco products in the regular course of business for a manufacturer, agent or licensed 
wholesale or retail dealer. 
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What are the penalties for acting as a retail dealer without a license?  
The penalties for operating as an unlicensed retail dealer are: up to $2,000 for a first violation, 
and $2,000 for subsequent violations with possibility of having the business sealed upon two 
unlicensed violations in three years. Engaging in the sale of cigarettes or other tobacco products 
without a license is a misdemeanor. It is also a misdemeanor if you purchase cigarettes or other 
tobacco products from any person other than a manufacturer or licensed wholesale dealer.
When did this definition of retail dealer take effect?  
Feb. 24, 2018.

Cigarette Tax Evasion
How does this law apply to tax evasion?
Tobacco retail dealers may not:
•	� Sell cigarettes or other tobacco products to an unlicensed dealer or a dealer whose license has 

been suspended or revoked
•	� Purchase cigarettes or other tobacco products from any person other than a manufacturer or 

licensed wholesale dealer
•	� Sell, offer, possess or transport altered or counterfeit cigarette tax stamps,  

imprints or impressions
•	� Hide or conceal unstamped or unlawfully stamped cigarette packages; loose cigarettes not 

contained in a pack; or unattached, altered or counterfeit tax stamps
What are the penalties for violations?
•	 Up to $2,000 for a first violation
•	� Up to $5,000 for a second (different day) violation and each subsequent violation within three years
•	 Revocation of license for second or subsequent (different day) violation within three years
•	 Sealing of premises for three violations within three years.
•	� Retail dealers who violate this law will also be subject to preexisting civil cigarette tax penalties 

of up to:  
–	� $100 for each 200 cigarettes (in excess of 1,000 cigarettes) in unstamped or  

unlawfully stamped packages in the possession of or under the control of that retailer.
	 –	� $200 for each 200 cigarettes (in excess of 1,000 cigarettes) in unstamped or unlawfully stamped 

packages knowingly in the possession of or knowingly under  the control of that retailer.
	 –	� $200 for each 10 affixed or unaffixed false, counterfeit tax stamps, imprints or impressions,  

in excess of 100.
When did the law regarding tax evasion take effect?  
Jan. 18, 2014.
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Enforcement Authority
Sealing Persistent Violators
What does it mean to “seal” a store?  
Sealing is the forced closure of an establishment by padlocking or otherwise preventing 
access to the premises.
When can a retail store be sealed?  
This law permits sealing a store that has repeatedly violated certain tobacco laws: 
•	� A retailer or wholesaler that operates without a license more than two times within   

a three-year period. 
•	 A retailer or wholesaler that violates the following laws three times within a  
	 three-year period: 
	 –	 Sale of cigarettes or other tobacco products to patrons under the age of 21
	 –	 Evasion of New York City cigarette or other tobacco product taxes
	 –	� Sale of loose cigarettes or little cigars  

(Cigarettes and little cigars must be sold in packs of at least 20.)
	 –	� Allowing an employee younger than 18 years old to sell, dispense or handle tobacco 

products without supervision by a store owner or employee who is at least 18 years old
	 –	 Sale of flavored tobacco products
	 –	 Sale of tobacco and non-tobacco smoking products to a minor
Will I be notified before my business is sealed?
Yes. After an administrative tribunal finds that a store should be sealed, an order to seal the 
store will be posted on the establishment at least 10 days before it is sealed. 
How can my establishment be unsealed?
An establishment may be unsealed after the sealing period ordered by the commissioner (a 
maximum of 60 days) has ended, and all outstanding fines and costs have been paid. 
When did this law take effect?  
Jan. 18, 2014.

Seizure of Illegal Tobacco Products
When can cigarettes or other tobacco products be seized?  
Law enforcement personnel from the New York City Department of Finance, including sheriff’s 
officers, can seize any flavored tobacco products offered for sale (except in tobacco bars) or 
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any cigarettes possessed or offered for sale by unlicensed retailers or wholesalers. Finance 
law enforcement personnel had already been authorized to seize tobacco products for which 
the required taxes were not paid.
Can inspectors seize flavored tobacco products?  
Yes. The sale of flavored tobacco products, other than menthol, mint or wintergreen is 
prohibited in New York City, except in tobacco bars.  
When did the rules regarding seizure of tobacco products take effect?  
Nov. 19, 2013.

License Revocation and Suspension
When can a license be revoked or suspended?
A tobacco retail dealer’s license must be revoked when a store does any of the following  
two times or more — on different days — within a three-year period:
•	 Selling cigarettes, other tobacco products or electronic cigarettes to individuals under 21 
years old.
•	 Selling non-tobacco shisha, pipes, rolling papers or smoking paraphernalia to individuals 
under 21 years old. 
•	 Selling loose cigarettes.
•	 Selling tobacco products (such as cigars, cigarillos, snus or loose tobacco) for less than the 
minimum required price.
•	 Selling little cigars in packages of fewer than 20.
•	 Permitting an individual under 18 years old to handle or sell tobacco without being 
supervised by an individual who is at least 18 years old and on the premises.
•	 Selling, possessing or hiding counterfeit tax stamps or cigarette packs without a valid  
New York City and State tax stamp.
A tobacco retail dealer’s license must be suspended when a store sells or offers flavored 
tobacco products three times or more within three years. 
A tobacco retail dealer’s license may also be suspended for the failure to pay any civil penalty 
related to the violation of cigarette or tobacco laws. 
When did the rules regarding revocation and suspension take effect?
Jan. 18, 2014. 

Laws and Penalties for Cigarette and Other 
Tobacco Product Violations in New York City

What You Need to Know



5

Laws and Penalties for Cigarette and Other 
Tobacco Product Violations in New York City

What You Need to Know
Increased Fines 

What are the fines for violations of these laws?  
The table below explains the fines and penalties for various violations.

Fine Structure for New York City Tobacco Retailers
Violation Fines and Penalties

Acting as a tobacco retail 
dealer without a license

• 	$2,000 for first violation
• 	$2,000 for second (different day) violation and each  

subsequent violation
• 	Sealing of premises for two violations within three years

Sale, possession or 
concealment of untaxed 
cigarettes or other tobacco 
products, or counterfeit 
stamps	

•	 Up to $2,000 for first violation 
•	 Up to $5,000 for second (different day) violation  

and each subsequent violation within three years
•	 Mandatory revocation of license for second or 

subsequent (different day) violation within three years
•	 Sealing of premises for three violations within  

three years
Plus the following civil tobacco product tax penalties 
with respect to the possession:
•	� Up to $100 for each 200 cigarettes in excess of 1,000 

cigarettes in unstamped or unlawfully stamped 
packages in the possession or under the control of a 
retail dealer

•	 Up to $200 for each 200 cigarettes in excess of 1,000 
cigarettes in unstamped or unlawfully stamped 
packages in the knowing possession or under the 
knowing control of a retail dealer

•	 Up to $200 for each 10 affixed or unaffixed false, 
altered or counterfeit tax stamps, imprints or 
impressions in excess of 100 in the possession or 
under the control of a retail dealer
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Violation Fines and Penalties

Sale of non-tobacco 
smoking products to minors

• $1,000 for first violation
• $2,000 for second violation within three years
• �Mandatory revocation of license for second or

subsequent (different day) violation within three years

Sale of, or possession with 
intent to sell, flavored 
tobacco products

• Up to $1,000 for first violation
• Up to $2,000 for second violation within three years
• Up to $5,000 for third and subsequent violations within

three years
• Mandatory suspension of license for up to one year

for third violation on different day and all subsequent
violations on different days within three years

• Sealing of premises for three violations within
three years

How can I read this fact sheet in other languages or see the actual law? 
Visit nyc.gov/health and search “tobacco laws,” or call 311.

What if I have questions or need more information?  
Call 311 and ask for information about Sensible Tobacco Enforcement.

Fine Structure for New York City Tobacco Retailers

http://nyc.gov/health



