Vidl 10U NEEU 10 N0V

What is the new law regarding sales of tobacco products?

This law prohibits retailers from redeeming coupons, multi-pack deals, buy-one-get-
one deals or any other price-reduction promotions. Retailers are also prohibited from
giving away or discounting other items, such as lighters, in connection with the sale of
tobacco products or cigarettes. In addition, all cigarette and little cigar packs must be
sold for at least $10.50.

Why was this law passed?

High prices are one of the most effective methods of reducing tobacco use, particularly
among young people. Price-reduction promotions such as coupons and buy-one-get-
one deals lower the price of tobacco products, thus making them more accessible to
young smokers.

What products are covered by this law?

This law applies to cigarettes and all other types of tobacco products, including cigars
and smokeless products. This law does not apply to electronic cigarettes.

What types of discounts are restricted in the retail setting?

Retailers may not honor coupons, buy-one-get-one deals or any other type of price
reduction promotion.

What is the listed price?

The listed price is the price marked on the packages of cigarettes or other tobacco
products or on any related shelving, posting, advertising or display where the
cigarettes or tobacco products are available for sale. The listed price must specify
both the price without the sales tax and the amount of the sales tax.

Can | sell cigarettes or little cigars for less than $10.50?

No. All cigarettes and little cigars must be sold for $10.50 or more per package,
including sales tax, or $9.65 excluding sales tax.

Do the New York State laws regarding cigarette pricing still apply?

Yes. Retailers must also continue to comply with New York State's Cigarette Marketing
Standards Act (CMSA), which sets a required minimum markup on cigarettes for each
stage of the distribution process. For more information, visit the New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance website at tax.ny.gov.

What if a wholesaler delivers cigarettes or other tobacco products with price
discounts on the packaging?

New York City retailers cannot sell these EXAMPLES OF PROHIBITED DISCOUNTS
products to customers for less than the
listed price, regardless of manufacturer

packaging.

Does this law apply to retail
tobacco stores?

Yes. This law applies to all stores in New
York City that sell tobacco products.

What is the penalty for a violation?

The penalty for a first violation is $1,000,
for a second violation, it is $2,000 and
for a third violation, it is $5,000. Multiple
violations can result in the suspension
or revocation of the store’s cigarette
retail dealer license.

When did this law take effect?

This law took effect on March 19, 2014, and
enforcement begins on August 1, 2014.
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How will this rule be enforced?

It will be enforced by the New York City
Department of Consumer Affairs as part
of its regular inspections.

SURGEON GENERAL'S WARNING: Quitting Smoking

Now Greatly Reduces Senous Risks to Your Health,

How can I read this fact sheet in other languages or see the actual law?
Visit nyc.gov and search “tobacco laws,” or call 311 and ask for information about tobacco sales.

What if | have questions or need more information?
Call 311 and ask for information about tobacco sales.
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