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tenant moves in; Keep all records of SDD 
installation and maintenance and provide 
to HPD if requested; File a Certificate of 
Satisfactory of SDD installation with HPD.

What are an occupant’s obligations 
regarding smoke detecting devices? 
To maintain the SDD in good condition; 
and to replace a SDD which has been 
stolen, removed, is missing or is rendered 
inoperable during occupancy. The occupant 
must reimburse the owner a maximum of 
$10. for the cost of providing/installing each 
SDD and shall have one year from the date 
of installation to make such payment

Tenants are responsible for maintaining 
Section 8 Housing Quality standards. 
HPD holds tenants responsible for damage 
or violations that cause a unit to fail 
inspection. HPD generally holds tenants 
responsible for nonfunctioning SDDs 
(battery-operated, battery dead;  electric, 
tenant pays own electric bill) and missing 
SDDs (SDD was present on initial or last 
annual inspection) and nonfunctioning CO 
detectors (battery-operated, battery dead.)
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Bronx:
	 1932 Arthur Avenue (3rd Floor)
	 Bronx, New York 10457 
	 (718) 579-6790

Brooklyn:
	 701 Euclid Avenue
	 Brooklyn, New York 11208 
	 (718) 827-1942
	 210 Joralemon Street (Room # 806)
	 Brooklyn, New York 11201
	 (718) 802-3662

Manhattan:
	 94 Old Broadway (7th Floor)
	 New York, New York 10027 
	 (212) 234-2541

Queens:
	 120-55 Queens Boulevard (1st Fl.)
	 Kew Gardens, New York 11424 
	 (718) 286-0800, (718) 286-0808, 
	 (718) 286-0809

Staten Island:
	 Borough Hall (2nd Floor)
	 St. George, New York 10301
	 (718) 816-2340

The New York City
Carbon Monoxide 

and Smoke Detecting 
Device Requirements

Even when owner and tenant agree that 
the tenant will install the CO or smoke 
alarm, the owner must still file a “Certificate 
of Satisfactory Installation” with HPD. 
Owners must be provided access to the 
unit to confirm that approved CO and 
smoke alarms are properly installed and 
operational.

Are owners required to install CO 
alarms in vacant apartments and 
are combination CO/smoke alarms 
permitted?  Yes.

If an owner installs a combination CO/
smoke alarm, is the owner entitled to a 
$35 ($25 CO alarm + $10 smoke alarm) 
reimbursement? 
Owners who install a combined alarm are 
entitled to be reimbursed up to $35 only 
when the smoke alarm needs to be replaced, 
e.g., it is missing or inoperable.   If the smoke 
alarm is operable and the building owner still 
wants to replace it with a combined alarm, 
he or she can only be reimbursed $25.

What is the owner’s responsibility 
concerning smoke detectors:
in Class A multiple dwellings?
Provide and install at least one approved and 
operational smoke detecting device (SDD) 
within each dwelling unit; Post a notice in 
a common area informing occupants of 
the law’s requirements; Replace any SDD 
which has been stolen, removed, missing 
or rendered inoperable before new tenant 
moves in if prior tenant has not replaced it;
Replace any SDD in 30 days if it becomes 
inoperable within one year of installation 
due to a defect and no fault of the occupant;
Keep all records relating to the installation 
and maintenance of SDD and provide 
to HPD if requested;File a Certificate of 
Satisfactory installation of SDD with HPD.

in Class B multiple dwellings?
Provide and install at least one approved 
and operational SDD within each unit or 
provide and install a hard wired zoned 
SDD throughout the multiple dwelling in 
accordance with DOB regulations; Keep 
and maintain SDD in good repair; Replace 
any SDD which have been stolen, removed, 
are missing or are inoperable before a new 

This pamphlet contains frequently asked 
questions for tenants and owners concerning 
carbon monoxide and smoke detecting 
devices and is provided for your convenience 
only. For complete  information, consult the 
law and applicable rules.
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HPD’s Division of Code Enforcement, is responsible 
for enforcing the New York City Housing 
Maintenance Code and the New York State 
Multiple Dwelling Law.  

For more information, or to learn more about the 
NYC HPD, please viisit our website nyc.gov/hpd 
or call an HPD office.



Frequently
Asked
Questions

What is carbon monoxide?
Carbon monoxide (CO) is a highly 
toxic gas. It is the product of the 
incomplete combustion of fossil fuels 
such as oil, natural gas, gasoline, wood 
and coal. The major sources of CO in 
homes and apartments are fossil fuel 
burning boilers, furnaces, water heaters, 
fireplaces and parking garages. Carbon 
monoxide is very dangerous because it 
is colorless, odorless, tasteless, and non-
irritating.   Carbon monoxide poisoning 
can be fatal. The warning signs of CO  
poisoning include headaches, dizziness, 
tiredness and nausea.

What are the associated Local Laws?
Local Law # 7 of 2004 was New York 
City’s first CO Detecting Device Law. 
This law required that certain dwelling 
units be equipped with one or more 
CO alarms.  The law created record-
keeping and notice requirements for 
owners. Then an amendment to the law 
was enacted: Local Law # 75 of 2011. 
The most important changes are that 
installed devices are required to have 
end-of-life alarms and that owners are 
required to replace the devices when the 
useful life of the device is over.  

How does HPD enforce CO and 
smoke detector regulations?
HPD housing inspectors look for proper 
installation of operational CO and smoke 
alarms in every dwelling unit inspected.  
Inspectors also check the public areas 
of Class “A” multiple dwellings for the 
required posted information.

What dwelling units must be 
equipped with CO  alarms?
Carbon monoxide alarms must be 
installed in every dwelling unit located 
within a building that contains any fossil 
fuel burning furnace, boiler or water 
heater as part of a central system; 

and in every dwelling unit located within 
a building served by a central fossil fuel 
burning furnace, boiler or water heater 
that is located in an adjoining or attached 
building.  If you believe that your building 
may be wholly or partially exempt from 
the requirement for CO alarms, you may 
go online to nyc.gov/hpd for detailed 
information.

Carbon monoxide alarms must also be 
installed in every dwelling unit on the same 
floor as, on the floor below, and on the floor 
above any enclosed parking lot or fossil fuel 
burning equipment such as a fireplace or 
fossil fuel burning apparatus, appliances 
or devices other than household cooking 
appliances and household gas clothes 
dryers located in the building. 

Where should CO alarms be installed? 
Carbon monoxide alarms must be installed 
within 15 feet of the primary entrance of 
each bedroom. 

What is the penalty for failure to 
provide and install a CO alarm?
In multiple dwelllings, failure  to  provide  
an  approved  and operational CO alarms 
or failure to post the required notice will 
each, after inspection, result in the issuance 
of a Class “B” hazardous violation. Civil 
penalties, which can be imposed by the 
Court, range from $25 to $100 plus $10 
per day from the date set for correction 
in the notice of violation until the date the 
violation is corrected.

What are an owner’s obligations?
Obligations depend on the type of dwelling. 

Owners of Class “A” multiple dwellings (a 
multiple dwelling which is occupied, as a 
rule, for permanent residence purposes) 
that are required to be equipped with smoke 
and CO alarms must:  

•	 Provide and install at least one 
approved and operational CO and smoke 
alarm with an audible alarm for the end 
of its useful life within each dwelling unit,

•	 Replace alarms that exceed the 

manufacturer’s suggested useful life,
  
•	 File a “Certificate of Satisfactory 

Installation” for each type of alarm with 
HPD, either online at nyc.gov/hpd or 
by completing a form available at the 
Borough Offices,

•	 Post a notice in a common area informing 
occupants of the law’s requirements,

•	 Provide written information regarding 
the testing and maintenance of CO 
and smoke alarms to at least one adult 
occupant of each dwelling unit at the time 
of installation, 

• 	 Keep all records relating to the installation 
and maintenance of CO and smoke 
alarms.

Owners of Class “B” multiple dwellings 
(a multiple dwelling which is occupied, 
as a rule, transiently, as the more or less 
temporary abode of individuals or families 
who are lodged with or without meals) that 
are required to be equipped with CO must: 
 
•	 Provide and install at least one approved 

and operational CO alarm with an audible 
alarm for the end of its useful life within 
each dwelling unit,  a line operated zoned 
CO detection system with central PA 
system and central office office tie in for 
all public corridors and public spaces

•	 Replace alarms that exceed the 
manufacturer’s suggested useful life,

 
•	 File a “Certificate of Satisfactory 

Installation” for CO alarms with HPD, 
either online at www.nyc.gov/hpd or 
by completing a form available at the 
Borough Offices,

•	 Keep all records relating to the installation 
and maintenance of alarms, and 

•	 Keep and maintain the alarms or systems 
in good repair. 

Owners of private dwellings (a building 
or structure designed and occupied for 

residential purposes by not more than two 
families, i.e., one- and two-family homes) 
required to be equipped CO alarms must:

• Provide and instal l  at least one 
approved 	and operational CO alarm 
with an audible alarm for the end of its 
useful life within each dwelling unit,

•	 Provide a notice informing occupants of 
the law’s requirements,

•	 Provide written information regarding 
the testing and maintenance of alarms 
to at least one adult occupant of each 
dwelling unit, and 

•	 Keep all records relating to the installation 
and maintenance of alarms. 

What are an occupant’s obligations 
regarding CO detectors?
An occupant’s obligations depend on the 
type of dwelling. Occupants of Class “B” 
multiple dwellings have no obligations.     

Occupants of Class “A” multiple dwellings 
and private dwellings must:

•	 Maintain CO alarms in good repair, 

•	 Replace any CO alarm that is stolen, 
removed, missing, or inoperable,

•	 Reimburse the owner $25 for each 
CO alarm that is installed or replaced 
upon the expiration of its useful life, 
including installations done as a result 
of the occupant’s failure to maintain the 
CO alarm, or where the CO alarm has 
been lost or damaged by the occupant.  
Occupants have one year from the 
date of installation to make the $25 
reimbursement.

Are Coop and condo owners responsible 
for installing their own CO and smoke 
alarms? Coop housing corporation/
shareholders or board of managers/owners. 
must decide. Violations go to the building.

Can owners allow occupants to install 
their own CO and smoke alarms? (over) 
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