

# Did the Police Take Your Car?

A Guide to Your Trial at the OATH Trials Division

Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings 100 Church Street, 12<sup>th</sup> Floor, New York, NY 10007

# **Table of Contents**

Vehicle Cases Heard at OATH	4
Should I Get a Lawyer?	5
Where Do I Go?	6
Be On Time	7
Will You Need an Interpreter?	7
What is a Conference?	8
What Is a Trial?	9
How Can I Prepare For My Trial?	9
What Happens During My Trial?	10
Should I testify?	11
Situations that may result in the return of the vehicle	12
What Happens After the Trial?	13
Legal Services	14
More Information	15

### **Important Disclaimer**

The information published here is intended to assist the interested public, and is not intended as legal advice. This information has no legal or precedential significance, and may not be offered at OATH or elsewhere as legal authority or precedent. No representation or warranty is made or may be inferred that the information published here is typographically or substantively accurate or complete, and OATH will not be liable for any inaccuracy or incompleteness. In particular, no representation or warranty is made or may be inferred that the rules, laws, orders, decisions or other legal sources on this Website are accurately or completely described here, and OATH will not be liable for any inaccuracy or incompleteness. Users must refer to official legal sources to determine applicable substantive and procedural law, including the content of any rules, laws, orders, decisions or other legal sources referred to here.

# Vehicle Cases Heard at OATH

# Information for owners and drivers of cars taken by the police after an arrest

#### 1. If Your Car Is "Seized" or Taken

Under the law, if a car was used in connection with a crime, the police department may "seize" it and then seek title to it in a New York court in what is called a forfeiture proceeding. Owners and drivers have the right to a prompt trial to challenge the Police Department's hold on the car, while waiting for the forfeiture proceeding to take place. You do not have to wait until the forfeiture proceeding starts to try to get your car back temporarily. Police may take a car when the driver is arrested for crimes including drunk driving or when drugs or guns are found in the car.

#### 2. Right to a Trial

As the driver or owner of a car taken by the Police Department you have a right to request a trial at OATH by an Administrative Law Judge who will decide if you can get your car back before a forfeiture lawsuit is decided.

- The Police Department must give the driver a trial request form at the time of arrest. The form is called "Notice of Right to a Retention Hearing." The Police Department must also mail a copy of the form to the car's owner within 5 business days of the arrest. Failure by the Police Department to provide these two notices, at the time of arrest and in the mail, may be a basis for the car to be returned to the driver or owner.
- To request a trial, the owner or driver must mail the hearing/trial request form, or deliver it between 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., to the Police Department at the address listed on the form. The form cannot be faxed.
- Both the driver and the owner of the car have a right to request a trial, but only one trial will be conducted.

#### 3. If You Request a Trial

The Police Department will notify you of the time and date of the trial by mail within 2 business days from the date your request was received. The trial must be scheduled within 10 business days from the date your request was received.

# Should I Get a Lawyer?

You have the right to appear with a lawyer or representative at OATH. You are allowed to represent yourself at OATH, but obtaining a lawyer or a knowledgeable representative to help you with your case at OATH is encouraged.

- You must make your own arrangements with a lawyer or representative. This means you are responsible for asking whether they will charge you money. You must also be sure to give them any notices about your OATH trial.
- If you have a criminal case pending, advise your criminal lawyer about this trial. What you say at an OATH trial could be used against you later in your criminal case.

# Where Do I Go?

Your case may be heard virtually by videoconference. You will receive instructions from OATH about how to participate online. You may request a hearing in person. If the judge grants that request, the OATH office is located at:

#### **Office of Administrative Trials & Hearings**

100 Church Street, 12<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10007



Tel#: (212) 933-3097 E-mail: OATHCalUnit@OATH.nyc.gov

# **Be On Time**



#### What Happens If I Am Late?

Be on time for your trial. If you are late, a trial could take place without you. This means that the judge could issue a decision based solely upon the evidence presented by the Police Department. If you are running late because of traffic or public transportation delays, email or call the OATH Calendar Unit to let them know.

#### How Can I Reschedule?

If you cannot get to a scheduled conference or trial, you must call or email the Police Department representative named on the hearing/trial notice and OATH as soon as possible. Both you and the Police Department attorney must be on any phone call with the OATH judge. You can ask the judge if you can come to OATH on another date if there is a good reason. This is called an adjournment. You can ask for more time if you want to get an attorney or representative or have another good reason to delay the trial. The judge will decide whether or not you can come back another day.



# Will You Need an Interpreter?

If you need an **interpreter**, OATH will provide one for free. OATH uses interpreters by phone. They talk on a speaker phone in your online hearing or conference or in the courtroom.

# What is a Conference?



Before the trial begins, a judge will meet with you and someone from the Police Department either online or in the courtroom to see if the case can be settled. This is called a **conference**.

- You may appear with or without a lawyer or representative of your choice.
- The conference judge will explain what happens at OATH and discuss ways you and the NYPD can settle your case.
- You can ask questions.
- You may settle your case with the Police Department if you want to, but you do not have to settle. It is up to you. Settlement is voluntary. It takes both sides, you and the Police Department, to make a settlement. The judge will work with both sides to see whether there are terms that are acceptable to you and the Police Department.
- Examples of possible settlement terms are: fines; storage fees; enrollment in a substance abuse program; surrender of the vehicle; or return of the vehicle. There is no guarantee that you will get any particular settlement terms. These are only examples.
- If you don't settle, you can have your trial. You have the right to a trial.

# What Is a Trial?



#### How Can I Prepare for my Trial?

- If your case is not settled in the conference, a different judge will hold a trial. The trial is like a court trial.
- The judge will ask you to email to the judge and the Police Department attorney before the date of your trial any documents or other evidence that you think can help your case. The judge will also ask you to email a list of your witnesses. If your trial is in person, email and bring your documents and other evidence to the courtroom and bring your witnesses.
- Before your trial date, you and the Police Department can ask each other for documents about your case – i.e., the documents each side will show the judge. These requests should be in writing.
- You may appear at the trial with or without a lawyer or other representative of your choice.

#### What Happens During my Trial?

- Both you and the Police Department may make opening statements. An opening statement is a summary of what you plan to prove.
- Then the Police Department will present evidence, usually documents relating to the arrest of the driver. The Department is not required to bring the arresting officer or other witnesses.
- The Police Department must prove three points to keep the car. The Department must show that each point is "more likely than not."
  - First, that there was "probable cause" for the arrest. This means that the police had a legal basis for the arrest.
  - Second, that the Police Department is likely to win the upcoming civil forfeiture lawsuit.
  - Third, that it is necessary that the Department keep the car. The police can keep the car if releasing it would create a threat to public safety.

After the Police Department presents its evidence, it is your turn to offer evidence, call witnesses, and present any legal arguments.

- You have the right to ask questions of witnesses the Department calls to the witness stand. This is called **cross-examination**.
- These can be **leading** questions that ask the witness to answer yes or no to something you state. These questions can begin, for example, with "Isn't it true that.....?" Or leading questions can end with words like, "...isn't that correct?" or "....., right?"
- Your witnesses will be under oath. You can ask direct questions of your witnesses about what happened.
  - These are open-ended questions like "Who, What, When, Where, How? What did you see? What did you hear? What do you know?
- When you are done with your questions, the Police Department may then cross-examine your witnesses.

#### Should I testify?

- It's up to you. You may have a hard decision to make about whether to testify.
- It is best to consult a lawyer about the decision whether or not to testify at your OATH trial.
- You have the right under the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution not to testify if your testimony would tend to show that you are guilty of a crime.
- But if you choose not to testify at OATH, the OATH judge may find that your silence means that your testimony would not be favorable to you -- that you agree with what the Police Department has said.
- Any testimony you give at OATH can be used against you in your criminal case.
- Although your refusal to testify cannot be held against you in your criminal case, the trial at OATH is different. These are civil, administrative proceedings at OATH.

### If you do testify

- Your statements will be under oath. If you appear without an attorney, and you testify, the judge will ask you to give your statement under oath. The Department's lawyer can ask you questions.
- The judge may ask questions of you or any witness.
- Finally, both sides may make closing statements. A closing statement is a summary of what you think you have proved. You can ask the judge for the result you want.

# Situations that May Result in the Return of the Vehicle

- "Innocent Owner": An owner may seek the return of the vehicle if the owner was not driving the vehicle at the time of the arrest and seizure, and if the owner did not allow or permit the use of the vehicle to commit a crime. (Note: The NYPD may try to show that the arrested driver, not the registered/titled owner, is the real owner of the vehicle.)
- Notice: An owner or driver may seek the return of the vehicle if there is evidence that NYPD did not serve the two required notices of the right to request a hearing.
- These are only two potential situations; there may be others that result in the return of the vehicle. You have the right to appear at your hearing with an attorney. If you have these or other issues to raise and show with evidence, i.e., failure of NYPD to follow any of the above legal requirements, you may discuss those issues with your attorney and raise your concerns with the OATH Judge at your OATH "Krimstock" hearing.

#### What Happens After the Trial?

After the trial ends, the OATH judge will issue a decision within three business days. It will look like this:



- You will receive a copy of the decision by mail.
- The judge's decision is also posted on the internet and on OATH's website: <u>Search Decisions OATH (nyc.gov)</u>.
- If the judge orders the release of the car, the owner must arrange with the Police Department's Property Clerk to get the car from the pound.
- The losing party may appeal the OATH decision to the State Supreme Court.

# **Legal Services**

You may wish to contact your local legal services provider to see if you can find a lawyer who will take your case at no charge or for a negotiated fee. You may try the phone numbers below:

#### Legal Aid Society

Phone: 212-577-3300 or 212-577-3398

- The Legal Aid Society provides free legal services to low-income clients who qualify.
- If you have an attorney in your criminal case, you may ask that attorney to help you find an attorney who will represent you in your civil OATH case concerning your car.
- This partial listing of legal service organizations is provided as a public service.

# **Bar Association Referral Services**

You may wish to contact your local bar association and ask about possible referrals to legal resources. For example, you may call or email:

#### New York City Bar Association

Website: <u>https://www.nycbar.org/get-legal-help/</u> Phone: (917)-634-3609 / (212)-626-7374 (en español) Email: <u>lrs@nycbar.org</u>

#### Online request form:

<u>https://nycbar.intouchondemand.com/lrisrequest/nycrequestform.aspx</u> En español: Formulario de Referido – Solicite a un Abogado (<u>https://www.nycbar.org/get-legal-help/es/</u>)

OATH does not give legal advice and does not recommend any particular attorney or organization.

# **More Information**

# If You Do Not Have a Lawyer or a Paid, Professional, Registered Representative:

OATH will provide you with the opportunity to speak with an OATH Procedural Justice Coordinator who can provide you with legal information and resources to help you prepare for your case. These individuals can provide you with information about the hearing process, the options available to you, and answer questions that you may have. These individuals **cannot** provide you with legal advice. All appointments must be conducted prior to the day of your hearing. Free foreign language services are available upon request.

To schedule an appointment with someone from the OATH Help Center, please email us using this link:

# **Email the Help Center** or call us at (212) 436-0845 prior to your scheduled OATH appearance.

- You can read more about OATH and look at case law and rules by visiting: <u>https://www.nyc.gov/site/oath/trials/overview.page</u>
- OATH's decisions can also be found for free at <u>CityAdmin Online</u> <u>Library</u>. Then click on "OATH Trials," and scroll down to enter the words you want to search to find cases.