Orrice oF ADMINISTRATIVE TRIALS AND HEARINGS
Help Center

NYC Department of Buildings (“DOB”) “Failure to Maintain” Violation(s)

What Does The Law Say? A building, and all of its parts - including the land that it sits on, and all its systems,
including elevators and boilers - MUST be kept in safe and in “good working” condition. This includes keeping
everything clean and obeying all of New York City’s laws, rules, and regulations.
o There are many different kinds of “Failure to Maintain” violations under NYC law. An OATH Help Center
representative can help you to understand the different types of violations.

Who Is Responsible For This Violation? Anyone who is in charge of the building, or the part of the building in
qguestion, can be held responsible. Usually, this means the Owner of the building or a Professional hired by the
Owner of the building.

What If | Did Not Cause The Problem Or Damage To The Building Or Part? Anyone who is in charge of the
building, whether the whole building or a part of it is responsible for any problem within it. IT DOES NOT
MATTER IF THE PERSON IN CONTROL OF THE WHOLE OR PART OF THE BUILDING DID NOT CAUSE THE
PROBLEM.

What Is The Penalty If | Am Found In Violation? Penalties for these violations are usually between $500 and
$2,500. In rare cases the penalty can be as high as $5,000 or $10,000.

Is There A Way That | Can Avoid Having To Pay Any Money? Yes, if it is successfully proven at an OATH
hearing that the person/corporation named in the summons is “not guilty” of the charged violation or if it is
shown that the summons does not contain information needed to allege a valid violation.
o If you successfully prove that you have properly maintained the building and its parts, this might
establish that you are “not guilty” of the alleged violation.

Is There Any Other Way | Can Avoid a Penalty or Get A Reduced Penalty? Yes.

e |f the summons lists a “CURE” date, you will NOT have to pay any money IF you fix the problem that led
to the violation AND have the DOB agree that you fixed the problem on or before the “CURE” DATE.

e If the summons does not list a “Cure” date, you MAY be eligible for a 50% reduction in the penalty for
certain violations (a.k.a. “MITIGATION"), if you fix the problem that led to the violation on or before
your FIRST HEARING DATE and the OATH Hearing Officer who hears your case agrees that you have
fixed the problem.

e You also MIGHT be eligible for a “stipulation” (i.e., an agreement between you and the DOB) - please
speak to an OATH Help Center representative who can provide you with information about this.

For Further Assistance, Please Contact The Oath Help Center In Person At Any OATH Location, Monday To
Friday, From 8am-5pm, Via Telephone At (212) 436-0845, Or Via Email At Manhelpcenter@oath.nyc.gov

Bronx Brooklyn Manhattan Queens Staten Island
260 E.161st Street 9 Bond Street, 6t Floor 66 John Street, 11t Floor 31-00 47t Avenue 350 St. Marks Place
Bronx, NY 10451 Brooklyn, NY 11201 New York, NY 10038 Long Island City, NY 11101 Staten Island, NY 10301


mailto:Manhelpcenter@oath.nyc.gov

