

VEHICLE INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

Visit the TLC website for more information at: www.nyc.gov/tlc

Please see the below chart for minimum insurance levels required for your vehicle based on the type of vehicle you own and the vehicle's seating capacity (as per TLC rules, unless otherwise noted).

Vehicle Type		Seating Capacity	Minimum Insurance Levels
F	Livery Vehicle & Black Car	1-7 passengers	\$100,000 per person \$300,000 per occurrence CSL \$200,000 PIP (Personal Injury Protection)
		8-15 passengers	\$1.5 Million per occurrence \$200,000 PIP
		16-20 passengers	\$5 million occurrence \$200,000 PIP
V	Luxury Limousine	1-7 passengers	\$500,000 per person \$1 million per occurrence CSL \$200,000 PIP
		8-15 passengers	\$1.5 million occurrence \$200,000 PIP
		16-20 passengers	\$5 million occurrence \$200,000 PIP
Commuter Van		1-7 passengers	\$100,000 per person \$300,000 per occurrence CSL \$50,000 property damage \$50,000 PIP (NYS requirement)
		8-20 passengers	\$500,000 per person CSL \$50,000 property damage \$50,000 PIP (NYS requirement)
Medallion		1-7 passengers	\$100,000 per person \$300,000 per occurrence CSL \$200,000 PIP
Paratransit Vehicle		Insurance levels for paratransit vehicles are those required by New York State. Please refer to the New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) Passenger-Insurance Requirements for more information.	

Note: * Pursuant to Section 370(1) of the Vehicle and Traffic Law.