
NOTICE OF EXAMINATION 

Requirements for Obtaining Certificate of License to 
Install, Alter, Test or Repair 

of Automotive and Marine Liquid Motor Fuel Storage and Dispensing Systems 
and Flammable Liquid and Combustible Liquids Storage System (W-16) 

 

Possession of a Certificate of License ("COL") is required by the New York City 
Fire Prevention Code (Chapter 4 of Title 27 of the New York City Administrative 
Code) in order to install, alter, test, and repair storage tanks and dispensing 
systems for flammable motor fuel (gasoline) or combustible motor fuel (diesel).  
In order to obtain a COL, you must submit proof that you meet the 
requirements listed below, and you must pass the Department's written 
examination.  You may not take the examination until after the satisfactory 
review of your submissions.  You may submit your application and the 
accompanying submissions by mail or in person to:  New York City Fire 
Department, Attention:  COL Review, Bureau of Fire Prevention, 9 MetroTech 
Center - 1st Floor, Brooklyn, New York, 11201-3857.  If you have any questions, 
please contact (718) 999-2473. 

 

PRE-EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: Applicants must meet each 
requirement listed below in order to take the examination.  You may not take 
the examination without first providing proof that verifies each requirement. 

1. Two forms of identification, at least one identification must be 
government issued photo identification, such as a State-issued 
Drivers’ License or Non Drivers License or a passport to prove your 
identity and that you are at least 18 years of age; AND 

2. Ability to read and write the English language; AND 
 3. High school diploma or its equivalent; AND 

4. Minimum of three years full-time experience in the preceding 5 
years in the installation, alteration, testing, and the repair of 
motor fuel storage and dispensing equipment (signed by a 
Certificate of License holder); AND 

5. Reside in New York City or maintain a place of business in NYC.  
(Acceptable proof is NYC Department of Finance of Unincorporated 
Business Tax Return (202), NYC General Corporation Tax Return, 
or your New York State tax filings.  You may delete confidential 
information); AND 

6. Liability insurance of not less than $500,000, naming the City of 
New York and the Fire Department as additional insured’s, AND 

7. Controlling interest in the corporation or business.  (An affidavit 
and proof of voting stock is acceptable.) 

 

The examination will consist of 100 multiple-choice questions, administered on 
a “touch screen” computer monitor, and will appraise the applicant's familiarity 
with the law, rules and regulations established for the installation, alteration, 
testing and repairing of various kinds of gasoline, diesel fuel oil (for motor 
vehicles) and other volatile flammable oil equipment including above-ground 
tanks for diesel motor fuel storage; the various methods and problems of 
installation; the principles and parts of all related equipment; and the care and 
safety that should be exercised by both the installer and the occupant when the 



latter assumes operation.  Applicant must attain a score of at least 70% in the 
test in order to qualify for the COL. 

 

You can obtain the study material at the Fire Department Bureau of Fire 
Prevention, 9 MetroTech Center, 1st Floor, Brooklyn, NY 11201 and online at 
http://www.nyc.gov/html/fdny/html/c_of_f/cof_study_materials.shtml 

  

Application Forms and Combined Fee for Examination Fee & Issuance Fee:  
$145.   

 

Application forms are available at the Public Certification Unit, 1st floor, 9 
Metro Tech Center, Brooklyn, NY 11201 and online at: 
http://www.nyc.gov/html/fdny/pdf/cof_study_material/W_16_application.pdf 

 

Cash, check or money order made payable to "New York City Fire Department" 
must accompany each application. Retain your money order receipt as proof of 
application.  The fee entitles you to take one written test.  Additionally, the fee 
entitles you to a second opportunity to take the written test if you obtain a 
failure mark between 65% and 69%.  You may avail yourself of this second 
opportunity no sooner than thirty (30) days, but no later than ninety days after 
the written test.  You must surrender the Failure Notice at the time you take 
the second test.  It is your responsibility to safeguard the Failure Notice.  No 
second opportunity test will be given without the Failure Notice.  If you fail the 
written test with a score below 65%, you may not take a second written test 
sooner than thirty (30) business days after the date of the first written test, and 
you must pay the $145 fee. 

 

Test Dates: After the satisfactory review of your application and the material 
submitted, the Department will contact you to make an appointment for the 
written test. 

 

RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 
You will receive a courtesy notice of renewal 90 days before the expiration date. 
However, it is your responsibility to renew your Certificate. It is very important 
to renew your C of F before it expires. For renewal, send the renewal notification 
or a letter stating the C of F # with a fee of $15, money order or personal check 
payable to “Fire Department City of New York“ to: 
  FDNY (Cashier’s Unit)  

9 MetroTech Center,  
Brooklyn, NY  11201  

Late renewals (90 days after the expiration date, up to 1 year) will incur a $ 25 
penalty in addition to the renewal fee. Certificates expired over one year past 
expiration date will not be renewed. New tests will be required. FDNY also 
reserves the right to require the applicants to take a re-examination upon 
submission of renewal applications. 
 
WEBSITE 
Please always check for the latest revised booklet at FDNY website before you 
take the test, the Certificate of Fitness Study Material link, below 
http://www.nyc.gov/html/fdny/html/c_of_f/cof_study_materials.shtml    

http://www.nyc.gov/html/fdny/html/c_of_f/cof_study_materials.shtml
http://www.nyc.gov/html/fdny/pdf/cof_study_material/W_16_application.pdf
http://www.nyc.gov/html/fdny/html/c_of_f/cof_study_materials.shtml

