Driving School Instructor Certificate

Top

About

Motor Vehicles, Department of State
People who wish to teach at a driving school must get a Driving School Instructor Certificate. This certificate comes from the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Certified instructors must:
  • be at least 21 years of age;
  • have possessed a driver license that is valid in New York State with a good record for two years;
  • have a high school diploma or GED;
  • pass vision, road sign, written, and practical tests;
  • have never been convicted of a felony or certain other crimes;
  • have completed a DMV-certified Methods and Content Course for In-Car Instruction.

Applicants who wish to teach Pre-licensing Courses must also complete a 30-hour Teaching Techniques and Methodology course.



For more information, contact:

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
Bureau of Driver Training Programs
Certification and Oversight Unit
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
Phone: (518) 473-7174
Website: http://www.dmv.ny.gov

Learn which permits, licenses and regulations matter to you

Use the Step by Step tool to get an exhaustive list of requirements that matter to you.