New Application Fees: $10.00 HOW TO APPLY
Renewal Cycle: Annually OPERATING & RENEWING


Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of City
The Guard Dog Registration is required for all dogs trained as guard or attack dogs, whether used by a business or an individual. These dogs are trained for personal protection, area protection, and/or the apprehension or warding off an individual by means of barking, threatening gestures, biting, or restraining by the use of its teeth.

The Guard Dog Registration must be obtained in addition to the New York City Dog License, which is required of all dogs, detailed and linked under Prerequisites, below. All guard dogs must be registered and licensed with the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH). All losses, thefts and transfers of ownership of a guard dog must be reported to DOHMH within five days. Guard dogs must wear both a license tag and a "Guard Dog" tag issued by DOHMH on their collar at all times. Failure to comply with this requirement can lead to $1,000 penalty. 

All premises in which a trained guard or attack dog is kept must be provided with a sign or notice from DOHMH that must be conspicuously displayed, warning the public of the presence of the trained guard dog. All business establishments used in the training, selling or renting of guard or attack dogs must be provided with a notice advising their patrons and customers of all rules and regulations that apply to the presence of the dogs. 

New York State law requires that all owned dogs be licensed, and the New York City Health Code requires every dog owner to have a dog license tag attached to their dog's collar while in public. Dog owners may be fined for violation of these laws. This license is limited to the specific person and type of dog named in the application. It is not transferable to another dog.

Next: Apply