Ticket Reseller License

Top

About

State, Department of State
Businesses or people that resell tickets need a license. This license comes from the New York State Department of State (NYSDOS).

Websites that resell tickets need licenses. However, auction websites do not need licenses. Non-profit organizations do not need a license. A license is not needed for selling tickets originally bought for personal use.

State law prohibits anyone, licensed or not, from reselling tickets in certain areas. No one can sell tickets within 1,500 feet of a large venue (5,000 or more people), or 500 feet of a smaller venue.

Distributors of original tickets must register with the New York State Attorney General.



For more information, contact:

NYS Department of State
123 William Street, 19th Floor
New York, NY 10038-3804
Phone: (518) 473-2492
licensing@dos.ny.gov
Website: http://www.dos.ny.gov/

Learn which permits, licenses and regulations matter to you

Use the Step by Step tool to get an exhaustive list of requirements that matter to you.