Board Staff

The Board has three offices – two downtown offices (1 Centre Street, Room 2213 and 2 Lafayette) and a Rikers Island Office in the Mercado Trailer behind the Anna M. Kross Center (AMKC).

Executive Director

Margaret Egan, Executive Director (Contact the Executive Director)
Bennett Stein, Director of Policy and Communications
Tonya Glover, Executive Assistant

General Counsel

Michele Ovesey, General Counsel 
Kate McMahon, Deputy General Counsel
Adil Tahir, Director of Human Resources and Administration
Navdeep Bains, Legal Associate
Joshua Acquaye, Appeals Coordinator
Regina Gumerova, Office Manager


S. Tripp, Director of Correctional Standards Review and Monitoring
D. Acosta, Standards Specialist
S. Augustin, Standards Specialist
B. Baily, Standards Specialist
K. Blackman, Standards Specialist
V. Ezeji, Standards Specialist
R. Gray, Standards Specialist
C. Harris, Standards Specialist
J. McFarlane. Standards Specialist
B. Melendez, Standards Specialist
S. Pearson, Standards Specialist

The Board's Standards Specialists serve as BOC's "eyes and ears" in the City's jails. They conduct site visits at the nine jails on Rikers Island, three borough jails, as well as court pens and hospital wards. The Standards Specialists have unfettered access to the jails in order to promote compliance with the Board's Minimum Standards.


Emily Turner, Deputy Executive Director of Research
Ken Wong, Director of Information Technology
Nashla Rivas Salas, Senior Director of Research
Kate Horton, Director of Research for Health and Mental Health
Heather Burgess, Research Associate
Mackenzie Deary, Research Associate
Ana Jimena Gonzalez, Research Associate