What is a Community Board?

New York City is divided into 59 geographic Community Districts, each one having a respective Community Board. The Community Boards are municipal bodies of up to 50 representative Board Members. Board Members are appointed by their respective Borough President, half of them at the recommendation of their local City Council Member. They serve in a voluntary capacity for two year staggered terms. Board Members are your neighbors - people who live, work, own a business, or have some other significant interest in the Community District. The Community Board hires a District Manager who is responsible for running the District Office.

What does the Community Board do?

The Community Board is the official municipal body whose primary mission is to advise elected officials and government agencies on matters affecting the social welfare of the district. Brooklyn Community Board Ten ("CB10") meets on the third Monday of each month, except during January and February when, due to holidays on the third Monday, we meet on the fourth Monday of the month. The Board does not normally meet during July and August unless the need for a special Board Meeting arises. All meetings are open to the public. In an attempt to maximize accessibility, the general meetings are held at different locations within the district. We are your local non-partisan interface to the many offices and agencies of City government. Contact us if you would like to receive email notices of meetings.