About CB2

Brooklyn Community District 2 is one of 59 geographically exclusive, independent City agencies that serve as the most local form of representative government in NYC. Each District is managed by a small City staff, and represented by a Board of 50 community volunteers appointed by their Borough President and City Council Members. Community boards have a variety of responsibilities, including local review of land use and zoning issues, assessing community needs, addressing community concerns, and preparing an annual Statement of District Needs and Budget Requests.

Brooklyn Community District 2 consists of: Downtown Brooklyn, Boerum Hill, Brooklyn Heights, Clinton Hill, DUMBO, Fort Greene, Fulton Ferry, Navy Yard, and Vinegar Hill.


Board Officers:

  • Chairperson: Lenue H. Singletary, III 
  • 1st Vice Chairperson: Leonard Jordan
  • 2nd Vice Chairperson: Barbara Zahler- Gringer
  • Secretary: Jessica Thurston

District Staff:

  • District Manager: vacant
  • Assistant District Manager: Carol-Ann Church