Land Use

The Land Use Committee advocates for matters concerning planning, district development, and land use. In accordance with the New York City Charter and other public approval processes, this committee's responsibilities include input into zoning map changes, business improvement districts, variance applications, revocable consents, special permit applications, and franchises other than transportation franchises.

The committee is also responsible for landmarks and historic preservation, matters concerning public and private housing, and budget matters of the Department of Housing Preservation and Development, Department of Buildings, and Department of City Planning.

Except for holidays and other conflicts, the committee usually meets at 6:00 pm on the third Wednesday of the month. Any person wishing to attend a committee meeting is encouraged to confirm the date, time, and location on the community board’s calendar.

Agendas, minutes, and reports may be viewed or downloaded on the District's Public Drive.


Chairperson: Carlton Gordon
Vice-Chair: Irene Janner
Secretary: Karen Johnson (Public Member)
Hazra Ali
Ernest Augustus
Esther Blount
Daughtry Carstarphen
John Dew
William Flounoy
Brian Howald
Anthony Ibelli
Eric Spruiell
Alan Washington
Elizabeth Ginsburg (Public Member)
Judy Stanton (Public Member)