Transportation and Public Safety

Transportation and Public Safety

The Transportation and Public Safety Committee is responsible for matters concerning highway maintenance and street repair, traffic control and safety matters, transportation franchises and public transportation. The committee is also responsible for fire, police patrol and related matters of public safety. The committee is responsible for the capital and expense budget matters concerning the transportation, police and fire departments.


Except for holidays and other conflicts, the committee usually meets at 6:00 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month, September-June, in the Jonas Board Room of Long Island University, at Flatbush and DeKalb avenues. However, any person planning on attending a committee meeting is encouraged to check the date, time and location on the community board's calendar.


Chairperson: Juliet Cullen Cheung
Vice Chairperson: Cheryl Gelbs
Ernest Augustus
John Dew
Doreen Gallo
Brian Howald
Sidney Meyer
Jon Quint (Secretary)
Public Members
Sandy Balboza
Patrick Killackey


Agendas, Minutes and Reports

December 21, 2017 agenda

November 16, 2017 agenda

October 19, 2017 meeting canceled

September 14, 2017 agenda and September 14, 2017 minutes

June 15, 2017 agenda and June 15, 2017  minutes

May 18, 2017 agenda and May 18, 2017 minutes

April 20, 2017 agenda and April 20, 2017 minutes

March 16, 2017 agenda and March 16, 2017 minutes

February 16, 2017 agenda and February 16, 2017 minutes

January 19, 2017 agenda and January 19, 2017 minutes