Resolving Violations: DOB


To remove a DOB violation from a property record, the condition must be corrected and proof of that correction must be provided to the issuing unit. Visit the Contact Us page for the location of each unit. Applicable DOB civil penalty payments must also be made.

To view violations on your property, access the Buildings Information System (BIS). Refer to the BIS Property Profile Overview for the number of open DOB violations. DOB violations are shown without an asterisk next to the violation number; dismissed DOB violations are shown with an asterisk, e.g., V*7052-18P.

Detailed information on certain DOB violations is available in BIS. If detailed information is not available, you may request copies of DOB violations from the issuing unit. The processing fee is $8.00 per copy for each violation; each additional duplicate copy of a violation is $5.00. You may also file a Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) request through NYC OpenRecords.

See instructions for boiler, elevator, façade and fire safety DOB violations below. For all other DOB violations, contact the issuing unit directly.


DOB Boiler Violation

Local Law 62 of 1991, LBLVIO & HBLVIO

To remedy a notice of violation for failure to file a periodic boiler inspection report:

  • Provide proof of compliance, such as a copy of the filed inspection report for the applicable cycle year; or

  • Submit to the Department payment of the appropriate civil penalties and filing of a current inspection report in DOB NOW: Safety. See the Boiler Violation Civil Penalty Reference Chart for information on paying the full civil penalties.

Civil penalty payments can be made by money order; certified check; or credit card (2% surcharge applied; in-person payment only) either in-person or by mail to:

NYC Department of Buildings
Boiler Unit
280 Broadway, 1st Floor
New York, NY  10007

When a boiler in a multi-dwelling, SRO, commercial, or mixed-use building is removed and not replaced by another boiler, or if it is determined not to require filing annual inspection reports due to a major change such as a building renovation or demolition, submit a Boiler Removal Notification (OP49) in DOB NOW: Build within 30 days. A licensed professional must complete this notification. Failure to submit a Boiler Notification will result in late penalties of $50.00 per month. In addition, any DOB violations issued as a result of failure to submit a Boiler Notification within 30 days of boiler removal or jurisdictional status change are the owner’s responsibility.


DOB Elevator Violation

Local Law 10 of 1981

To remedy a notice of violation for failure to file an elevator inspection and test report:

  • Provide a letter and proof of compliance, such as a copy of the filed inspection and test report(s) for the applicable cycle year; or,

  • Submit to the Department payment of the appropriate civil penalties per device and filing of a current inspection and test report(s) in DOB NOW: Safety.

ELV3 Chart

Civil penalty payments can be made by money order; certified check; or credit card (2% surcharge applied; in-person payment only) either in-person or by mail to:

NYC Department of Buildings
Elevator Unit
280 Broadway, 1st Floor
New York, NY  10007


Elevator PVT Violation

If the violation is hazardous or was issued for no access to the device or machine room, a Certified Elevator Inspection Company must submit a letter, by mail or in-person to the Elevator Unit indicating the corrections made and requesting a re-inspection of the device.

If the violation is non-hazardous, the certified company may itself perform the re-inspection and submit an Affirmation of Correction (ELV29 Form) along with a copy of the violation to the Elevator Unit.

Only PVT companies may submit paper ELV29 Forms. All other Affirmations of Correction are required to be submitted in DOB NOW: Safety.


DOB Façade Violation

Façade Inspection Safety Program (FISP)

To remedy a Failure to File a Façade Technical Report (NRF) violation

  • A Professional Engineer (PE) or Registered Architect (RA) needs to submit the outstanding acceptable initial Technical Report Periodic Inspection of Exterior Walls and Appurtenances in DOB NOW: Safety.

  • Pay the late filing penalties owed - $250 for every month that an acceptable report is not filed and $1,000 for each year after the end of the sub-cycle filing window period that an acceptable report is not filed.

To remedy a Failure to File an Amended Façade Technical Report Violation –

  • The unsafe façade condition resulting in an unsafe technical report status has to be corrected and a Professional Engineer or Registered Architect needs to submit an acceptable FISP amended technical report in DOB NOW: Safety.

  • Pay any outstanding penalties for failure to correct an unsafe condition - $1000 a month for every month there is no active extension of time request(s) submitted prior to the submission of the acceptable amended FISP Technical Report.

Civil penalty payments can be made by money order; certified check; or credit card (2% surcharge applied; in-person payment only). Payment must be made at:

NYC Department of Buildings
Facades Unit
280 Broadway, 4th Floor
New York, NY 10007


DOB Fire Safety Violation

Local Law 16 of 1984 (Fire Safety Requirements)

The law requires building owners to notify the Department of Buildings regarding the compliance status of their building by completing a Report of Compliance with Local Law 16/84 form. The requirements to comply vary depending on the occupancy. The owner must specifically indicate on this form what work has been completed or partially completed to comply with the law. Submit an original and a copy of the notarized form to the Local Law Enforcement Unit at 280 Broadway, 4th Floor, New York, NY 10007.


Local Law 5 of 1973 (fire safety for high rise office buildings only)

These violations were issued by the New York City Fire Department and may require administrative dismissal by the Department of Buildings.  Requirements vary according to the height and type (central or non-central air conditioning) of the building. The owner is responsible for full compliance with Local Law 5 of 1973; see the PEO4 checklist for more information. Submit a PER11 form to request an appointment with a Project Advocate to discuss the dismissal process.


Helpful Links