REMINDER: To comply with Local Law 78 of 2017, property owners and other responsible parties are required to report construction site incidents to the Department within three (3) business days using the Injury/Fatality Incident Information Form. Get more information.

Construction is a dangerous business and workers must take every precaution to protect themselves from the risks of the job. Employers are required by law to provide construction workers with safety harnesses, but they are often not worn or connected to the anchorage point at all times due to a variety of factors, including inconvenience on the job.

A worker falling is the most common construction-related accident in New York City and experience alone does not make you invincible. No matter how many years you have worked in construction, you can lose your life if the appropriate safety measures are not in place. Please clip in and tie off when you are on the job.

The Department of Buildings is committed to promoting safe and compliant construction and improving quality of life for all New Yorkers. Since 2008, the Department has enacted several new laws designed to increase safety at construction sites.

Chapter 33 of the New York City Construction Codes outlines safeguards required during construction and demolition work. Regulations include: a ban on smoking at construction sites; registration with the Department for Contractors performing certain types of construction; demolition and concrete work; uniform color-coding of sprinkler and standpipes; and new safety training requirements.

Site Safety Training Requirement

As a requirement of Local Law 196 of 2017, workers at most major construction sites must be able to show that they have completed OSHA 10 training within the previous five years. On December 1, 2019, workers will be required to have 30 hours of training. By 2020, workers at job sites that require a Site Safety Plan (which includes sites that must designate a Construction Superintendent, Site Safety Coordinator, or Site Safety Manager) must receive a minimum of 40 hours of training. Get more information.

Additional Site Safety Training Information

Helpful Links