Local Law 196 Reminders and Updates - May 2019.
Local Law 196 of 2017: Construction Safety Training - April 2018.
Local Law 196 of 2017: Construction Safety Training - March 2018.
Local Law 196 of 2017: Construction Safety Training - February 2018.
September 1, 2020 – Workers will need 40 hours of training.
Local Law 196 of 2017 requires certain workers and supervisors to receive safety training at construction sites that are required to designate a Construction Superintendent, Site Safety Coordinator or Site Safety Manager. When fully phased-in, Local Law 196 of 2017 will require:
Workers at certain job sites receive 40 hours of safety training; and
Supervisors at certain job sites receive 62 hours of safety training.
Please visit our Department-approved Course Provider page for list of approved course providers.
To find a Course Provider located near you, please visit our Course Training Locations Map
Workers at job sites that are required to designate a Construction Superintendent, Site Safety Coordinator or Site Safety Manager.
Supervisors (Site Safety Managers, Site Safety Coordinators, Concrete Safety Managers, Construction Superintendents and competent persons) at these job sites must also be trained.
Delivery persons, flag persons, professional engineers, registered architects, Department-licensees and Department-registrants (excluding safety professionals) are not required to be trained.
If you fall into one of these categories but serve as a Site Safety Manager, Site Safety Coordinator, Concrete Safety Manager, Construction Superintendent or competent person designated by a Construction Superintendent, you must receive the appropriate training.
While licensees do not need to be trained, employees working under their direct and continuing supervision must be trained.
As a reminder, workers serving as Site Safety Managers, Site Safety Coordinators, Construction Superintendents, Concrete Safety Managers and competent persons at construction sites to which Local Law 196 is applicable must have a Supervisor SST Card.
Workers must only have a Supervisor SST Card if they are serving as the competent person required by Section 3301.13.12 of the New York City Building Code. Section 3301.13.12 of the New York City Building Code requires that a Construction Superintendent designate a competent person for each job site for which such Construction Superintendent is responsible and further requires that such competent person is present at the designated job site at all times active work occurs.
Permit applicants will be required to certify to the Department that workers who will be working under the permit will have the requisite training.
If the Department discovers that workers at a construction site are untrained, the Department will issue a violation with civil penalties that go as high as $5,000 per untrained worker to the owner of the site, the permit holder and the employer of the untrained worker. These civil penalties can be mitigated if an employer sponsors training for such untrained worker.
If the Department discovers that a permit holder has failed to maintain a log that demonstrated that all of the workers at a site are trained, the Department will issue a violation with a civil penalty of $2,500.
The Department will also conduct unannounced inspections at sites where untrained workers have been discovered.
For questions about the training requirements or to get additional information, please contact DOB at LL196Help@buildings.nyc.gov. For additional site safety training information, visit http://nyc.gov/nycsafety.
This annual report has been prepared pursuant to Local Law 196 of 2017, which was approved by the New York City Council on September 27, 2017 and signed by the Mayor on October 16, 2017.