Events Relating to Coronavirus (COVID-19) and Human Rights

Commission staff works with organizations to provide free workshops to educate community members about their rights and obligations under the law.

In light of the current pandemic, the Commission has added new events in communities facing heightened levels of discrimination and harassment as a result of COVID-19 stigma.

Events related to COVID-19 and human rights are listed below. For a schedule of recurring workshops and events we host, visit our events/workshops page. To request a workshop for your organization, please complete our request form.

Upcoming Events

We will update this section with upcoming events.

Inwood Community Forum: A Discussion about COVID-19 Related Resources for Residents in Upper Manhattan and Adjacent Areas
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
6:00-7:30pm
Registration Link: bit.ly/3gymYu8
Dial-in: 646-992-2010; Access Code: 129 128 3309

North Bronx Forum: COVID-19 Related Resources
Thursday, August 20, 2020
1:00-3:00pm
Registration Links to follow

NYC Town Hall for Nepali Speaking Communities: A Discussion on Immigrant and Worker Rights, Anti Discrimination, and More with Nepali Interpretation
Friday, August 21, 2020
6:30-8:00pm
Watch Live on the Commission's Facebook page

Past Events

Mandarin Language Bystander Intervention Training
Thursday, July 23, 2020
1:00pm

Korean Language Bystander Intervention Training
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
1:00 PM

COVID-19 Queens Regional Forum
Thursday, July 9, 2020
6:00 PM

COVID-19 Central Bronx Forum
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
3:30 PM

Community Forum (Foro Comunitario)
Thursday, June 18, 2020 (Jueves, 18 de Junio, 2020)
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Use this link to attend Foro Comunitario

Japanese Language Bias Incidents & Hate Crimes Reporting Town Hall
Thursday, June 18, 2020
3:00 PM - 4:30 PM
Use this link to attend the Japanese town hall

Tagalog Language Bias Incidents & Hate Crimes Reporting Town Hall
Thursday, May 28, 2020 - 3:00pm
Use this link to attend the Tagalog town hall

Bystander Intervention Training for the African Diaspora
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
3:00pm

Mandarin Language Bystander Intervention Training
Wednesday, May 27, 2020 - 3:00pm
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 - 7:00pm
To register for any of the above three events, please email gyang@cchr.nyc.gov.

Korean Language Bias Incidents & Hate Crimes Reporting Town Hall
Thursday, May 21, 2020 - 3:00pm
Use this link to attend the Korean town hall

Foro Virtual Con Oficiales De La Ciudad De Nueva York
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
View Foro Virtual Con Oficiales De La Ciudad De Nueva York

Mandarin Language Bystander Intervention Training
Saturday, May 16, 2020 - 10:00am

Staten Island COVID-19 Know Your Rights Interagency Virtual Town Hall
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 - 5:00pm

Mandarin Language Bias Incidents & Hate Crimes Reporting Town Hall
Thursday, May 14, 2020 - 3:00pm

Bias Incidents & Hate Crimes Reporting Town Hall
Tuesday, April 30, 2020 - 3:00pm
View full recording of Bias Incidents & Hate Crimes Town Hall

Mandarin Language Bystander Intervention Training
Friday, April 24, 2020 - 3:00pm

African Diaspora Responding to Discrimination During COVID-19 Outbreak Town Hall
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Univision Digital Town Hall
Friday, April 17, 2020
Click here to view Univision Digial Town Hall

COVID-19 Response Virtual Townhall, With State Senator Ramos
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Click here to view a full recording of the Townhall

Know Your Rights: Virtual Townhall for Workers
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 - 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Click here to view a full recording of the Townhall

Chinatown Community Forum
March 9, 2020
49 Madison Street, NY, NY 10038

Sunset Park Community Forum
March 11,2020
4101 8th Avenue, 5th floor, Brooklyn, NY 11232

Bystander Intervention Training: Responding to COVID-19 Scapegoating and Hate
March 30, 2020
Online: 12 noon and 4 PM
Eventbrite Link: https://covid19nycbystandertraining.eventbrite.com

Bystander Intervention Training: Responding to COVID-19 Scapegoating and Hate
March 31, 2020
Online: 12 noon and 4 PM
Eventbrite Link: https://covid19nycbystandertraining.eventbrite.com